We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larsa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Larsa Hotel to your Saves list
Larsa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Um Mutaweh Street, Al-Jandaweel, Amman 11814, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While in Amman in September, I stayed at the Larsa for three nights. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly , and the rooms were large. The breakfast spread was the best I enjoyed in three weeks in the Middle East. The exercise room has all the basics except a fan. The drawbacks? Located Out of the way from downtown Amman and the hotel has been recently renamed, leading to some interesting neighborhoods being toured as cabbies tried to "find our hotel".

Good value.... Recommend this hotel as you explore Amman and Jerash!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    87
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
56
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in mid-September. The room was great and the service was fine.

Upon leaving I informed the clerk at reception that I would stay again on the Friday of the following week and possibly also the Thursday. To be fair,this might have been misunderstood. In any case I was issued with a piece of paper that said "tentative reservation". On the Thusday of the following week I emailed the hotel to confirm that I would stay for one night only -- the Friday. However, when I turned up on the Friday I was told that my booking had been cancelled. The reasons given were varied and contradictory. First I was told that my email had not been received because Thursday was a holiday, then that the booking had been cancelled because I didn't show up on the Thursday, and finally that hotel had been fully booked for "the last two weeks" - ie since before I made my tentative booking. I got the impression that my booking had simply been cancelled to accommodate the huge busload of tourists that had just arrived.

I guess the moral of the story is don't mess with "tentative" bookings and confirm everything by phone, not email.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of Jordan. Hotel was under renovation in and out while we were there, so a bit noisy in daytime. Staff were extremely friendly and pleasant. Alcoholic drinks can be obtained in the restaurant and the cafe, though of course locals do not consume it. Rooms pleasant and spacious. A/C roared like a jet engine in our room but little cool air was coming out of it. might be tricky in summer! Swimming pool is a bit basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good value hotel, room large and clean, staff very friendly and helpul. Not central, but that was fine as we'd hired a car, and thus avoided driving in the city centre. Parking very haphazard at the hotel. Restaurant was ok, good choice for breakfast, but buffet dinner was rather uninspiring. All in all, we felt we'd made a good choice with the hotel but there was nothing that gave it the 'wow' factor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I travel frequently to Amman and have found Larsa Hotel to be the best place to stay. The location is convenient for my business away from the very congested areas of Amman. The manager, Ayman Abu Zahra, is always helpful and accommodating to all my needs. I have stayed for business as well as with family. New renovations to bathrooms are quite nice. I recommend the Larsa, especially for value and service.
M. Naji

Room Tip: If you need extra social space ask for the larger corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Far away from the madding crowd, literally outside the city, with nothing to see in the vicinity, excepting visiting a Carrefour 2 kms away. Rooms are spacious, beds are OK, not very comfortable, not wide either. AC literally doesn't work, so never visit this hotel during March-Oct.
Extremly inadequate lighting, no wifi in the rooms(you'll have to go to the lounge to get the connection).
The hotel staff is not at all motivated to provide service to the guests, having a laid-back attitude all the time and conversation with them is literally impossible as nobody speaks proper english (it took me 10 mins to make them understand what a poached egg is).
The breakfast was very bad, coffee horrible, food inedible, no cold cuts, no sausages, no fruits, no nuts and so on. We prepaid for the dinner at the hotel (as there was no food stall nearby and no bus service to get the food - every time you have to hire a cab and argue with the driver to negotiate the fares as the taxis doesn't have a meter) and that was the biggest mistake we made. Even horrible is too poor a word to mention the quality of dinner we had - just a plate of pasta on day 1, dry roasted chicken with dry bread on day 2 and a similarly horrible desert. Yes, that's it. Take it or leave it - that's their attitude.
I would be the last person to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Take the backside rooms, they are comparatively bigger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was there in 05.08.2012 till 07.08.2012 . the hotel location is very good, but you need to have a taxi driver cellphone number because it's not easy to find a taxi nearby the hotel. the rooms are clean A/C is great, Staff are nice and helpful, breakfast is good, Shops and Pharmacy are besid the hotel , malls are only 2 Minutes by car. WiFi great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsa Hotel

Address: 48 Um Mutaweh Street, Al-Jandaweel, Amman 11814, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Larsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.