We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and location but needs a few updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Amman

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Amman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Amman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdul Hamid Shouman St / Shmeisani | P.O. Box 941045, Amman, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 115 hotels in Amman
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good service and location but needs a few updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff are helpful and efficient. Location is convenient and relatively quiet. The room is a good size, very nice linens on the bed and in bath. However the updates/grades needed to truly be a 5 star hotel: the TV is from the 90's small box, and no wireless in rooms. Internet is very expensive. The drapes and carpet are ugly (jewel toned colour block). Hotel is popular for both conference and upscale tour groups.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    137
    91
    29
    16
See reviews for
45
113
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

After a previous stay with my wife a few months ago, I came this time to Kempinski Amman alone on a business trip. Even though the hotel was really busy, the staff was amazing: welcoming, helpful and efficient. However busy, they all made a superb effort, and that made all the difference. I especially want to thank the F&B staff, notably at breakfast and dinner, for their hard work and continuous support, and for making my stay most pleasant, yet again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is situated in a good location to explore Amman and located near a number of small restaurants as well as a couple of fast food chains. We stayed two nights in total, once at the beginning and again at the end of our holiday and the standard of the hotel was only ok both times.

The Kempinski Amman does not give that welcome feeling you would expect from a 5 star hotel when you walked in and the staff didn’t seemed to be invigorated in their jobs.
We stayed in a standard room which had a king sized bed, a rather old TV with a number of channels for news, comedy and films, built in cupboards with a safe, a small bathroom with an integrated bath/shower and a welcome note with some chocolates with another guests name. The shower was only ok, and the screen allowed a lot of water to escape to the bathroom floor, which left the floor towel soaked through.

Breakfast is held on the mezzanine floor and starts from 0630 until 1000 and the first time we stayed we got there for approximately 0800 and was put on a table not prepared from its last customer. There was not a great selection of food and the area for breakfast was quite small considering the size of the hotel. The 2nd visit for breakfast we were there for just before 0700 and there was a better selection of food, but the floor was sticky at the buffet area and one of the waiters had a bit of a hygiene problem.

The sports bar we really enjoyed and the staff there were very friendly, they gave a very good service and the bar meal was good quality. It was empty both times we visited and the drinks prices compared to the Aqaba Kempinskl were a lot cheaper.

Overall the Amman Kempinski was no where near the standard of the Kempinski’s at the Dead Sea or Aqaba.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are wondering which hotel to book into in Amman then The Kempinski is the place to go. The hotel is ultra modern, clean and fresh. The staff just can't do enough to help you and the food is supurb, the waiting staff are attentive and the front of house staff very professional yet friendly. the Jordanian's are very friendly people who are extremley hospitable, The Kempinski appear to have employed them all in the hotel. Lovely pool area, and it's own bowling ally! The kids loved the bowling and the pool, but in an ideal position for business people as well as it appears to be in the main financial/Diplomatic area. The rooms, well...immaculate and luxourious. We could not fault this hotel, perfect!

Room Tip: The staff really make this hotel a fabulous one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazarith
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

its a nice quiet clean hotel the service was excelant i woold like to thank mr ahmad hamdan in the front disk all for his help and kindness during our stay in the hotel .the food was good
the location was perfect.

Room Tip: corner suits 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A decent property but with indifferent service and maintenance. Upon checking in, four of the eight lignt bulbs in the room were burned out. On a five day stay, the carpet in the hall and in the room was only swept once. At the breakfast buffet, items are not replenished, nor are adaquate plates or serving spoons provided. Cigarette buts on the floor in the elevator lobby stay on the floor for days-no astrays are provided. Nothing huge, but many small things neglected.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Went spent part of our Winter vacation in Amman, Jordan (6 nights).

Positives: We liked the location, very safe. The food was good each morning. We loved the cleanliness and big HUGE pillows for the bed. Nice spa and Sports Bar.

Negatives:CONCEIRGE IS HORRIBLE DO NOT USE! Must do your own research...which is what we ended up doing on the fly.

Part of the intrigue is going to The Dead Sea. We knew there would be spas were we could hang out all day. The first day, we asked the conceirge to set up some itinaries for us. We told him that we just needed a ride to the spas and we would be there all day. The conceirge told us that he would set it up, we agreed upon price and pick-up time....he also said that the next day was his day off so just be ready to go.

The next day, we were ready at the agreed time, but our driver was 1 hour late. Then he made us wait in the lobby for another half hour as he called someone on the phone. He then told us that he was going to take us on a two hour tour (mind you Dead Sea is about 1 hour one way). We told him that we needed more time. We thought we had him ALL DAY because we wanted to stay all day. He made more calls, upset. He said that we would need to pay him even more money. We told him to just get us to the Movenpick Dead Sea (which we researched on our own) and we would pay him the agreed price. He told us that if we paid more, he would come and pick us up and that we would not find a ride back. We told him that we would take our chances. The whole way to Dead Sea, the man told us the story of a wonderful family he met from the US, they were loving, happy, and he drove them everywhere. Not us...he kept calling us DIFFICULT AMERICANS and byrated us the whole trip. He then dropped us off at Movenpick and then gave us his card, told us good luck finding a ride back, etc.

Movenpick Dead Sea was SUPER nice. The staff was nice, they set up our transport back on a shuttle they run daily. Later they just sent us home in the hotel limo for the same price. It was lovely. WE STAYED ALL DAY, well into the evening.

We paid (45 JD) for drop off one way...turns out that Movenpick Dead Sea has a shuttle to and from Amman to the Dead Sea for (10 JD) one way. Was made us even more mad was that Kepinski Amman was one of the stops on the shuttle. Now it is at the Sheraton (up the street).

BTW - When we complained to them about our driver, they said the man was their BEST driver. During our trip we saw him several times.

Room Tip: Use the Movenpick Dead Sea Shuttle to go to the Dead Sea. It runs daily from Sheraton Hotel in Amman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Amman

Address: Abdul Hamid Shouman St / Shmeisani | P.O. Box 941045, Amman, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amman
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#16 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Amman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Amman embraces luxurious 278 rooms and suites; delicately refined to liberate your senses. The breathtaking view from all rooms, the contemporary design and features add a magical touch to your visit and a sense of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amman Kempinski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Amman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.