We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amman International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amman International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amman International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Habab Bin Al Munzer St | Jordan University Rd, Amman 11181, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 112 hotels in Amman
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in early October, using it as a base to tour around Amman and northern Jordan. Spacious well equipped and furnished rooms complete with nice touches such as fresh fruit. Staff were always very polite and helpful, especially the reception and the barman in the cigar bar. When we booked we knew it was not centrally located but a short walk to the main road where taxis were readily available and cheap.
The only criticism would be the breakfast which was sparse and uninspiring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter when an event is being hosted on the outside terrace around the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Im sorry about your opinion of our breakfast and thank you for bringing it to our attention, we will try to reassess the contents and our presentation and hopefully come up with something better for our guests.

have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
40
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Amman International from 26th September 2012 - 3rd October 2012.
I was allocated room 205 which was a large suite type of room. Very well equipped with two TVs and fridges, walk in wardrobe, plenty of space, large balcony and writing table.
A lovely hotel with brilliant staff, service was excellent. Hotel layout was good and the furniture & fittings very impressive.
Good points - everything.
Bad points - none.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello.

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel, also thank you for the excellent pictures as well.

We try our best to create a good atmosphere that is comfortable and distinctive for our customers, and so when we do get a positive comment it means a lot to us.

so thank you again! and we hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely modern hotel. Rooms excellent very clean, service cannot be faulted, every day complimentary fruit. Good choice of food at breakfast . Situated up a steep hill , be prepared for a hike. Although not central, there was adequate choice of restaurants , coffe shops and fast food outlets nearby. The swimming pool lovely but freezing. The only downside was there was building work on the rooms at the top of the building , which was very noisy indeed.( we were not warned of this ) Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello

Thank you very much for your review, I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could give you the experience that we would like all our guests to have.

We apologies for the noise and the construction, we have been trying to balance the building with our guests occupancy and not getting far with either, but thankfully we should be finished very soon and the issue will be over and done with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited Jordan on an organised tour. This is a review of both hotels used, but first a few words about the country. A great choice for anyone who wants to travel rather than simply bask in the sun, though there's plenty of that. The people are pleasant and the sights, particularly Um Qais, Mount Nebo, the Dead Sea, Petra, and Wadi Rum everything you would hope for. No problems with the geographical location – as our excellent local guide smartly put it, Jordan is a quiet house in a noisy neighbourhood.

Our first hotel was the Amman International. It's not city centre but that was not a problem for us as we had a busy touring schedule. The outside appearance was not bad though it's work in progress with the top floor unused and unglazed, and the grounds pretty much a building site. This didn't bother us, though we cannot vouch for what might go on between 8am and 6pm. The interior was pleasant if not spectacular, and the servicing of our good-sized, comfortable room and attention in the restaurant left nothing to be desired. The food, buffet-style, was nothing special and some (eg very watery soup) fell short of the mark. Overall adequate but nothing to get excited about.

Our accommodation in the south was the Taybet Zaman about 15 minutes drive from Petra. Not so much a hotel as a holiday village – in fact it's a real village whose buildings have been expertly converted into the various components of a hotel. This means big rooms, in our case a very big room; it had four distinct areas and could easily have served as a permanent dwelling for one person, two if they were good friends. The restaurant, also buffet-style, was excellent – a fine display of food that was as good in the mouth as it was to the eye. Room servicing and the staff generally were well up to scratch. Navigating the site needed some practice, though it was unlikely to be compounded by alcohol given the exorbitant price of drinks (think Scandinavia). Overall excellent; a pity we only stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello Alan

Thank you very much for you opinion about our hotel and our little country. its true what your guide says about us, I usually like to tell people that we are the Switzerland of the middle east, no matter what happens around us we remain stable and usually benefit from it.

I would like to say that without reviews like yours we cannot improve or fix problems that occur, we are sorry about the the poor dinner experience that you had, I will make sure my kitchen and f&b staff see your review and learn from it.

as for the construction I'm sorry for the inconvenience, to tell you the truth it has gone way over schedule and even though we are in the final stages we we cannot wait to be over and done with, hopefully by the end of the month.

thank you again for talking the time out to review and rate our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days while in Jordan in Spet 2012. The rooms are comfortable if a little on the small size. The location is up a hill and there is not much within walking distance, we had to get taxis everywhere! The hotel was clean and has free wifi throughout. Breakfast had a good mix of differnet foods and staff were helpful. I dont have anything bad to say about the hotel itself however the location isnt ideal. If we were returning i think id stay closer to the city centre somewhere near the 2nd Circle perhaps!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are quite happy that you enjoyed your stay here, the strange thing about west Amman is that it is spread out over a number of hills and nothing is really central(with respect to accommodation and sights), even the locals take cabs or cars everywhere.

none the less of course we are aware that we a distance from the first circle, and this is why we made an effort to secure an in house transport service for our guests to use that their convenience.

thank you again and we hope you do choose us again, in spite of the distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

this is not a 4 star hotel! the airconditioning was medium cool at best, the carpet was dirty. When we went for dinner the bread was not baked (a sticky white mass), after salads we had to wait 1 1/2 hours for the main course while there where only about 10 people in the restaurant. When somebody from my group wanted to take a shower there simply was no water. Breakfast had again the not baked bread, prerapped cheese (supermarket style) and milk from cartons. The second night there was a wedding so sleeping with the window open was no option because it was so loud, with the window closed i still used earplugs (there was a party the night before to, i was fotunate not to hear it but others from my group did, they barely slept the 2 days we where there). The staff did remain friendly all the time, which was about the only +. I think it used to be a nice hotel, but it seems they are slipping

Room Tip: it seems you have to be lucky to get the good room, try for a room on the front right side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comment, I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I do want you to know that these issues are not common and it was just a series of unfortunate events that you encountered, of course I don't want to make any excuses for our performance other than to say that I apologies,and hopefully we have learned from this and it will not happen again.

I would like you to know that I have already met with my staff and shared your review with them in order to understand what mistakes have occurred and to make sure that they understand that any error means the dissatisfaction of customers.

although I do wish you could have informed the administration about your issues when they where happening(we were made aware about the food issue but not the others) as we could have solved them on the spot and made sure that you left us satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in mid- June. I was studying Arabic at the U of Jordan nearby. Despite telling reception I was a long term stay and would like a decent rate for 1.5 months, I simply got a rate of about 85 dinars, and an additional rate of tax (which shouldn't even be included because I showed them I am a visitor on a visa). But nonetheless, I did have to waste money and stay here for a few days before relocating. Do not stay here on the weekend if you must stay, they have weddings that go on outside by pool that have loud music and dancing till all hours. Very disappointed by the service I got for the price of hotel. Holiday Inn is nearby and a lot nicer, and not isolated.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, General Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello, I'm very sorry for the late reply, and I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Concerning the price for your intended long stay, our prices are fixed and rarely change, even for long durations, we are sorry for the inconvenience. and concerning your issue with tax, I feel like your mixing up VAT that is available to be discounted to tourists in many countries around the world with actual government tax that cannot be avoided unless you have a diplomatic tax exemption card.

finally I'm very sorry for all the noise that you heard, if you had mentioned it to us we could have moved you to a room in a quieter part of the hotel, we also have strict rules for the music of weddings and parties in our hotel , 11pm volume is lowed and at 12 it is turned off, and if the people want to continue we move them into our indoor events room.

thank you for your review, I hope you have a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amman International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman International Hotel

Address: Habab Bin Al Munzer St | Jordan University Rd, Amman 11181, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 112 hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amman International Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amman International way:We sell what we believe; not what we can do. We at the Amman International Hotel believe making our guests feel like they are home, and it is our dream to go beyond that by fulfilling every single need and wish that our guest might need or ask for in order to make every single moment a special one. We utilise 81 personally decorated rooms, five master suites, two resultants, a first class bar. a elegant relaxing lounge an enclosed swimming pool area, three professional conference and event arenas and over seventy specialized staff who are dedicated to make a guest’s stay memorable. Thank you for choosing us…About us: We are a small hotel located next to the University of Jordan whose sole believe that quality is better than quantity, and this has helped us accomplish 30 years of excellent service and repute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amman International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amman International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.