We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and luxurious, but lacking finesse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Hotel Amman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Hotel Amman to your Saves list
Le Royal Hotel Amman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zahran St | 3rd Circle, Jabal Amman, Amman 11118, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Amman
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice and luxurious, but lacking finesse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

First the good things: nice building, an aquarium with real sharks in the lobby, lots of faux marble. Great beds and pillows. Great collection of bathroom amenities. Excelllent spa, with dead sea pool, jacuzzis, normal pool, steambath, sauna, gym, etc, etc. Beautiful view over the city of Amman. Wide selection of food at breakfast.I ate in the Buddha Lounge and the food was great. Kudos to the Indonesian cook.
Now for the bad. While this is technically a 5 star hotel, the devil is, as always, in the details. At check-in, instead of being welcomed with a "We were expecting you, sir", my reservation was lost. At checkout they tried to overcharge me. Not all the staff does speak English. My lamp was broken and after two failed repairs I gave up on it. The hotel claims to have 13 restaurants, but not all of them are open every day. They were unable to serve me an after dinner coffee after my meal in the Buddha Lounge. If you book a taxi through the hotel they charge you 30% over street price.
On the other hand, for the price they charge for the rooms you will get a rathole in either London, Rome or Paris, so all and all, a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
14
35
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Terrible experience from the first moment. We (6double rooms) booked at this hotel to attend our cousin's wedding which was to take place at Le Royal. The 6 rooms were supposed to be in one floor and with a city view. We ended up every room in a different floor and they tried to put us in rooms overlooking the restaurant!!! When we checked into our first room the toilet was not flushed; I called to change the room the receptionist said they had none available but when I mentioned the unflushed toilet, a room was available in 5 minutes! At check in we paid the 3 nights cash in advance but they insisted we pay almost 200$ extra for each room as a guarantee for the mini bar and telephone calls!!!!!!!!!On our third day we could not get int our rooms because they changed the magnetic code and when the housekeeping boy called the reception to ask for permission to let us in he was ordered not to because we had paid only for 2 nights!!!!!!! When I called the Manager on duty he did not answer and when I finally found him he said he was sorry but did nothing. I had to call the reception and ask them to send new keys. This is other than the bathroom floats every time someone takes a shower and when I complained I was told that this is a problem they can not overcome!!!!!!These are just a few of the reasons that will make us never ever think of going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoyalAmman, Manager at Le Royal Hotel Amman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear our valued guest

Warm greetings from Le Royal Hotel Amman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience and the experience you had.

Your feedback will help us towards the betterment of how we communicate such work, our priority and passion is to ensure that your needs and expectations are always met and exceeded

We hope this experience will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best Regards,

Yazan Rihani
Assistant Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This hotel is one of the most OTT places I have ever stayed. It's so faux grand, marble and so shiney. Designed by and paid for by people with obviously way more money than style. I stayed here twice on route to and from Petra. The first time myself and my friend ate in the Japanese resturant, we were the only guests but the food was lovely. The room was nice and it was relaxing. On the way back we made the fatal error of not specifically requesting a non-smoking room, so our room stank of cigarette smoke filtering into the room from next door. This made of a very bad nights sleep.
Breakfast was good but over all this place is more like something out of Vegas rather than the middle east.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoyalAmman, Manager at Le Royal Hotel Amman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear our valued guest

Warm greetings from Le Royal Hotel Amman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience and the experience you had.

Your feedback will help us towards the betterment of how we communicate such work, our priority and passion is to ensure that your needs and expectations are always met and exceeded

We hope this experience will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best Regards,

Yazan Rihani
Assistant Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotel Amman

Address: Zahran St | 3rd Circle, Jabal Amman, Amman 11118, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amman
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#13 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotel Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Amman
Royal Hotel Jordan
Amman Le Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Hotel Amman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.