We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude front desk staff. Hotel pretty ordinary.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Amman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Amman to your Saves list
Grand Palace Amman
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Alya Street and Sport, Amman 11192, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Amman
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Rude front desk staff. Hotel pretty ordinary.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's hard to recommend this place. Your first impression is the surly security man who just points to the X-ray machine and doesn't say a word, then things don't improve much at the front desk, 3 grumpy looking men who just stared at my wife and I, no 'hello' or welcome. Then to my amazement they advised that they don't provide a local map, the first time I've come across this at any hotel in the world.
The rooms and in fact the entire hotel is very dated. The beds are uncomfortable and there was so much noise from the hallway and surrounding rooms that sleep was almost impossible.
On the positive side a friend who was in another room was sick with food poisoning and stuck in her room for the day, when the hotel were advised of this one of the staff whose name was Mohammed (I think) visited here throughout the day bringing water and new tissue paper.
Now that sort of service you wouldn't find anywhere else, others cold learn from him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    71
    95
    22
    9
See reviews for
27
71
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a package deal trip to Jordan. It was perfectly adequate for our needs. Being in the travel business and having stayed at lots of upscale hotels, I've become a bit of a self confessed "hotel snob". That being said, it met our needs for the two nights we were there. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly. The bathroom had a bad odor when we checked in but it soon cleared. It's right next door to a fancier hotel (can't remember the name) and it was noticable that the Grand Palace was attempting to look more upscale than it really was. We ate at Trader Vics on both nights we were there. Food was good, but rather expensive. Having gotten free wi-fi in hotels in Israel, I was surprised that they wanted to charged us $ 17 for access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Grand Palace Hotel is located in the heart of the business, commercial district of Amman. Great location.

I only stayed here two nights but would have liked to have stay here longer.

Staff where extremely helpful, polite and welcoming. A great job by all.

On request for wifi I was offered a free service.

Rooms where very spacious, comfortable and kept clean.

Nice and relaxing lobby. A good place to chill and enjoy a drink

Breakfast was extremely good, plenty of options and variety on offer.

This hotel I would recommend, good location, great staff, good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Golden Tulip gets a bit of bad press, but its main function is an airport hotel. Our rooms were good and the airconditioning worked wonderfully after a few days driving around Jordan. Nice bathrooms, TV and internet worked well, good pool area. Dinner was ok, breakfast was better.
My main problem was booking and checking in and check-out. I had to phone them to make sure we had booked 2 adjoining rooms ( the email conversation was not good ). Then on arrival the staff said I had only boked one room. After 5 min it was confirmed I had booked 2 rooms with a connecting door. All was fine but I should not have to wait 35 min from arrival to completion of check-in. Check-out was only marginally better. If anyone from Golden Tulip is reading this, please note. It is rude and inneffecient to multi-task when dealing with a customer.
Would I stay here again or recommend the hotel? Yes, because it is an airport hotel and makes life much easier for early morning flights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not recommended at all, except few varieties of breakfast

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Visited Amman, but did not count on the Sofex show. All serious hotels were fully booked and the only option our travel agent came up with was Grand Palace. Surprisingly cheap, especially during the trade show. Rooms are clean as far as they can be due to age and a tremendous need for an upgrade. Lobby and bar area is extremely boring, but Champions in Marriott is just 5 minutes away. $90/night including breakfast. You'll survive, just for one night.

Room Tip: Busy road at the front and a construction site on the back.. I had the back side and woke up at 0600...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

An interesting stay to say the least. The highlights included one bath towel for two guests. Four hours later, 5 requests for another towel and, after finally resorting to half a towel each, two very damp towels were delivered to our room at 7pm. The response was a shrug of the shoulders and " the Lybians use all the towels". During our stay the hotel was filled to capacity with Syrians and other Arab nationals fleeing the current political turmoil in adjacent countries. This has put strain on hotel resources and combined with a total lack of service, apart from the restaurant, the hotel has a Faulty Towers feel to it. We had a two night stay followed by a one night stay on our return to Amman. On the second night we marvelled at the brand new mattresses on the beds after the ancient foam ones on our first visit. However, there was no matress protectors and the 100 percent polyester non-fitted sheets were too small for the new matresses. We spent all night "chasing" the sheets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Amman

Address: Queen Alya Street and Sport, Amman 11192, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Amman 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palace Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Grand Palace Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Amman
Amman Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Amman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.