We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to Jordan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Amman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Amman to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al-Kindi Street, 5th Circle | Jabal Amman, Amman 11181, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gateway to Jordan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We started and ended our family trip at the Four Seasons in Amman. From here, we went north to Jerash and South to Petra and Wadi Rum.

The hotel is about 45 minutes north of the airport through Amman, well past the citadel and roman ruins at the center of the city. We arrived late in the evening on a flight from Istanbul. The airport taxis all knew the four seasons, and the drive there was uneventful.

The hotel is a literally a shining palace on a hill (across from the equally dazzlingly lighted Sheraton). Security was tight, but not unusual for this part of the world and the hotel staff were warm, welcoming and efficient. The hotel is tastefully elegant in the classic Four Seasons style, without being garish or excessively opulent.

My wife and I travelled with our 14-year old son, and we all fit comfortably in a large room with two queen (or very large twin) beds. The corner room overlooked the large pool and had a great view of the large intersection outside the hotel and of the khaki hues of the hills of Amman. The room is what you would expect from a Four Seasons anywhere, a cut above the big chains and in the class of the Mandarin or Peninsula chains.

The breakfast room was well lighted and airy, and the buffet selection was generous but nowhere near the obscenity of choices of buffets in many hotels in Asia or Las Vegas. The Italian restaurant was pedestrian. Delicious, but not outstanding.

However, the hotel concierge made the stay and the premium price worthwhile. My son had misplaced his iphone (music, photos, etc.--teenage disaster!) in our hotel in Petra, but later that evening when we had returned to the Four Seasons, our guide called and said that the hotel had found his phone. My very American 14 year old then spent the next hour with the concierge, who patiently and cheerfully figured out how to get the phone onto a tour bus returning to Amman, and how to get the phone into a taxi from the bus depot to the hotel. My son and my wife then went to cool off in the pool and the phone was waiting for us just before dinner! Dinner was at a wonderful Arabic restaurant a short walk from the hotel in an upscale neighborhood of Amman, and was naturally organized by the same concierge.

There are upscale shops in the hotel, and the prices were comparable with the tourist traps outside but the quality of the selections was much higher. I wanted to buy a beautiful Yemeni Jambiya with a silver-inlaid scabbard and a bone handle, but couldn't agree on the price.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel as a place to decompress after the mad rush through Petra, the Dead Sea, Wadi Rum, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your visit to our hotel. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees, we will surely pass on your comments to our Concierge team (very glad to hear that your teenage boy was reunited with his iPhone too!).
We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Patrick Beaury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    116
    30
    7
    10
See reviews for
90
142
48
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is a class by itself and it can be termed as a modern palace rather than a hotel. The day we landed in Amman, the hotel failed to send the concierge and said they have not received the mail. However, to compensate, they upgraded my room from standard to a delux one on a higher floor with a great view of the city.

The hotel is a beautiful property and very neatly maintained with awesome meticulousness.
The staff are courteous and front desk efficient. The F&B and the housekeeping are the best.
Inshort the stay was memorable. The spa , business centre and pool guys were very friendly and the pools were neatly maintained.

The only dampner was the asian restaurant, the food was unpalatable, as we ordered some thai food.
The thai soup was returned with thanks as the smell of the sea food was spoiling the ambience itself. Being a vegetarian I struggled to find a proper menu and it was dampner for me.

The italian restaurant was good and the pasta was tasty. However, it spoiled the entire stay in Amman with upset stomach etc and etc., We explored the city to find out the restaurants for food.

But this hotel is the best in Amman and easily beats the rival by a mile or more...!

Room Tip: Chose a higher floor and ask for city view which is really good facing the highway and roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Amman. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time and that your stay was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams. We are sorry to hear that Asia was not up to its usual standards; we will certainly pass on your comment to the restaurant’s manager and our Food and Beverage Director to ensure that it is corrected for the future. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Patrick Beaury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice hotel, reasonably priced for a four seasons, nice staff. Reason I am giving it three stars: the entire hotel was full of cigarette smoke. Most of it was coming from the bar upstairs but it permeated throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Amman. We do apologize for the smoke smell and we will certainly pass on your comment to our team and address the issue with the relevant departments. We hope that this recent unfortunate incident with us will not deter you from staying with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Patrick Beaury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well done to all, was always recognized by my name, no matter where I went. Great hospitality.
Truly recommendable! You can really feel the Four Seasons touch here at any service point.
Location is suitable for shopping and for Business purposes. Not sure how they do it but surely their staff is very well training and attentive. Would love to go back at any time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Amman. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest- your kind words are much appreciated. We have shared your most kind comments with the rest of the team, as there is no better motivation than praise for a job well done. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Patrick Beaury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is worth it's 5 stars - from the adeptness of the concierge Hamez to the head barman in the Square, the breakfast in your room, the quality of massages available and the skills of those technicians, the care and consideration of the pool staff, round the clock cleaning and tidying of rooms and the excellent in room dining. The Square is worth going to just to sit on the terrace and listen to the beeping of car horns while supping a quality gin and tonic or vodka with homemade lemonade. The Balinese masseurs were so good we went back the next day for more unknotting and stretching, the concierge capable at short notice of getting us excellent seats in the best restaurants. On top of that the hotel arranged for us a trip to Jerash with one of the most personable and informed guides in Jordan - Murad Ali mooali@yahoo.com - whose company we thoroughly enjoyed and who took us for a splendid tour of Amman after - not just the historical parts but the new and not so old too. On our last day in Jordan we returned to the Four Seasons and were upgraded to the 15th floor and a suite of quite epic proportions which was quite simply beautiful - saying that our standard room was pretty good too. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Amman. We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that your stay was pleasant. Very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Spa and the Square Bar too! Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Patrick Beaury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel for only one night, but it was great!!! We're definitely coming back. Beautiful hotel, amazing swimming pool, bar and restaurants. Great service and friendly staff. Nice spa too! Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The bad:-
No tea and coffee making facilities in my room. ALL
other five star hotels have these facilities in Amman.
Front desk staff not versed on offers currently available
in their own hotel here in Amman on the Four Seasons
website.
Manager appears to have no problem solving skills
and when presented with a problem that required
swift attention he proved to be as much useful as a chocolate teapot.
Schmoozing elderly guests from Florida isn't really the hallmark of an
efficient hotel manager.
Standard rooms on a par with the Sheraton.
Very small bath half the length of a standard bath.
The cost of a standard room here was twice the price of a premier
room at the Intercontinental which is very plush and is the size
of a suite. No difference at all between the service and politeness
of the staff in both of these hotels.

The Good:-
Very nice staff but no different from the wonderful staff at both
the Sheraton Amman opposite the Four Seasons Amman and the Intercon Amman.
Comparable pool area with both an indoor and outdoor pool and bar service around
the pool.
Only 'service' difference I could see were the countless plastic
bottles of water brought to me whilst sitting around the pool. I do hope that the
hotel manager RECYCLES these many hundreds of plastic water used by his hotel daily?
Surely I am not being asked to conserve my towel use whilst this hotel pumping thousands
of these bottles into landfill sites? Conserving my towel use a money saving exercise to increase revenue?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Amman, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Nancy
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Amman. We are sorry to read that, in spite of our best efforts, we were not able to fully resolve your concerns during the stay for which we apologize. Please don't hesitate to contact me on 009626 550 5555 at any time should there be anything that we could do for you.

Kind regards
Patrick Beaury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Amman

Address: Al-Kindi Street, 5th Circle | Jabal Amman, Amman 11181, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#1 Spa Hotel in Amman
#1 Family Hotel in Amman
#1 Business Hotel in Amman
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Amman
Four Seasons Amman
Amman Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Amman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.