We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AlQasr Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shmeisani Al Aroub St, Amman 11110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Amman
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

It's worth its 3 stars and more. Very comfortable and quiet room, flat screen TV, bathtub. They gave me wifi for free. Buffet breakfast was very decent. Helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    116
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
101
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed in Al Qasr Metropole Hotel for 2 nights. It's hard to tell from the website, which isn't fabulous, but this is a very modern, trendy-looking hotel that compares favorably to trendy boutique hotels in the U.S. If you are in the U.S., like I was a few days ago, wondering if this is some barebones local hotel, it definitely isn't!

The interior is attractive and extremely clean. My room was clean and attractive. The bathroom was not small and very clean. Service was good. The Kempinski, Le Meriden, etc... are overkill like most 5 star hotels, especially given the price, which is far below those others. In fact, Al Qasr is in the same neighborhood as those five star hotels, which is a high-end, Western-looking part of Amman. Once you get here and find out how much everything costs, you will realize how obscene it is to pay that much to live at those hotels. On the other end of the spectrum, I met people who stayed in the Old City of Amman at those budget hotels, which were not a lot cheaper, and I felt sorry for them. Those places looked more like hostels than hotels. If there was any negative to the Al Qasr, it was that the front desk staff, while helpful, helped you with a little bit of a snooty attitude.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Only stayed here one night on our arrival in Jordan. In a nice quiet neighbourhood although I would not like to try and find it if I had picked up a hire car at the airport!!! It has a bit of a "Best Western" feel about it. Breakfasts were good in a pleasant dining room with a buffett and omellette bar.
On the downside we arrived at 11pm and were unable to get a drink as the bar was under renovation and the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel was everything we could hope for. Sadly it did not deliver. I will give you that the lobby and the various restaurants are pretty nice and location are perfect for snacking outside the hotel. For the rest forget it.
1. Doorman every answer was no / I don't know.
2. Rooms are kinda good but no light, badly isolated and super noisy.
3. Beds are on wheels. Meaning that you just move around if you are a serial night mover
4. No warning whatsoever on works in the hotel that starts at 7.30 in the morning. Seems like they are drilling in your room.
5. Overquality of the furniture is shady.

So, in a nutshell, I wonder if I stayed at the right place :( I would not get back. But well, some might say value for many is not bad.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Thank you to everyone at Trip Advisor for recommending this hotel.... which in a few months time will be even better when the pool is built. The main reason we stayed here was to spend our last night at the restaurant on the top floor, which is currently being renovated...despite this, we loved the hotel. Clean. Great views, great service, Fantastic food in the other restaurant, and we were happy to eat here two nights... Amman is a spread out town, and arriving on a Friday is not recommended, as everything is in shut down mode, and the area around had little feel, but the next day, when the streets opened up we did not feel so isolated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hotel came recommended as the best in its class in Amman and did not disappoint. That is despite maintenance work rendering the famed roof top Sushi restaurant out of bounds.

It is a modern, western-style hotel that works.

The room (210) was on the small side and could have done more sitting area but the bed and bathroom were fine. (The room safe took an age to spring into life and while we were never entirely confident that it would unlock it always opened up eventually.)

We ate out in the evening but from the evidence of breakfast we might have been well served eating at the downstairs "Tratatoria". The breakfast was fresh, of good quality and with sufficient choice.

One other point, neither our driver (from Amman) nor a local taxi driver had heard of the Al Qasr Metropole. We have subsequently found out that it was formerly known as Johnson's Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

it's in a quiet neighborhood, but about ten minutes walk from the downtown area.
3 minute walk to "food city" which is a shopping mall with a food court and a big supermarket.
15 minute walk to the safeway, which is open 24 hours.
back to the hotel. The staff are welcoming and friendly.
The rooms are adequate with wooden floor; clean.
Not as noisy as i thought.
Breakfast is good. Not a huge selection, but adequate, with an Arab touch.
Especialy liked those little plates of Jordanian tapas.
Too bad when we were visiting the rooftop restaurant is under renovation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AlQasr Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Address: Shmeisani Al Aroub St, Amman 11110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amman
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlQasr Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AlQasr Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Amman
Amman Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlQasr Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.