We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Amman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Save Saved
You added AlQasr Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shmeisani Al Aroub St, Amman 11110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Amman
Queensland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“First time in Amman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here recently on our first trip to Amman. Easy to walk to supermarket, restaurants, and banks but not near the centre of town. We were told there were no 4 star hotels in the downtown area. A request from a female traveller for help with the safe producted no result; however the same request by a male a few hours later produced a response immediately. Breakfast was good. As it was winter the heating was on permanently; but we were able to open the windows. We were in a standard room so there was no jug to boil water, but we were able to obtain cups of hot water from the bar. WiFi was only available in the hotel lobby. Not sure of the price for this hotel as it was booked as part of a package. Would recommend this hotel to those looking for 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: if you want tea/coffe making facilities choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    99
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
85
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Enjoyed immensely our 2 night stay in this very classy looking hotel a few days before Xmas, so decorated lovely as well!! We had a beautiful, quiet room on the 3rd floor, wonderful food and drinks at the bar, very good breakfast buffet even in the early hours before leaving for a day trip to Petra. The staff were very nice and helpful, the location's also perfect for tourists, nice neighbourhood and a quick cab ride to the old city. We had a really good time eating at the hotel's Oobe restaurant, great fun sitting at the bar and joking around with the really nice staff, and the food was delicious!! Can really recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I stayed for a total of 4 nights in December 2012 as part of our holidays in Jordan. The check-in was efficient but rooms were small although beds were comfortable. Security gave some level of comfort as bags were scanned. Breakfast was adequate but service left much to be desired. Although you meet the same service staff daily they make you go through the pain of identifying daily which rooms you are from, etc. It would have been nice if they remembered the faces as the hotel is fairly 'small'. Similarly a number of front desk personnel were not exactly friendly when we asked for directions to nearby restaurants, etc. There appears to be a lack of positive service culture ... maybe it is branded as a business hotel? Checking out on the last day took time - 15 minutes even though we were the only ones in line. Overall I would say that our experience was average - certainly not 4 star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Al Qasr for 2 nights in December 2012 while touring Jordan and had a reasonably comfortable stay. The hotel lobby area is nice & clean and we had a quick and painfree check in. Our hotel rooms are smallish in size but comfortable. The central heating was way too high for us, we ended up opening a window at night as we were told that the thermostat didnt work when the air con was set to heating. The free wifi offered is definitely an asset.
The breakfast buffet continental spread was average but the arabic spread was excellent and more than made up for it. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant and the food and service were good and reasonably priced.
Overall we found the service to be good but if I were to revisit Amman as a tourist then I would most likely shop around and look for a better hotel elsewhere. To us it seemed more of a business hotel but avoidable for tourists unless you have reason to be in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is an excellent four star hotel - the staff can be a little brusque but perhaps that's their manner, but all in all, it's a real find. It's not in the greatest location for downtown, but it's never far from anything and cabs are easy and cheap. The food in house is a little pricey for what it is but it's good stuff. Comfortable rooms, funky design and really good value. Worth it as the 5 stars are really pricey and not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited Jordan back in September, my sister Katie and cousin Sandra absolutely loved it here at the Al Qasr Metropole Hotel. The people in Jordan are absolutely beautiful and always willing to help. The hotel was clean, the service was excellent and I would stay here again over and over. One of the receptionist name Maha was an absolute treasure, always willing to help and greets us with a lovely customer service smile, she was very pleasant to deal with and made us feel welcomed every time we arrived back from a long day of touring. Thank you Maha. Highly recommend this hotel. Ruby Matautia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

At first I was disappointed, it is not sparkling or new, but the staff were lovely and breakfast was very good. There is an amazing cocktail bar around the corner, which was very trendy. It was in a good location, a quiet area. More of a business hotel, but pleasant anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlQasr Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Address: Shmeisani Al Aroub St, Amman 11110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlQasr Metropole Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your AlQasr Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Amman
Amman Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlQasr Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.