We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid part of the Marriott Group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amman Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Amman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shmeissani Issam Ajluni Street, Amman 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Solid part of the Marriott Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

One advantage of the Marriott group is that all their hotels are to a decent standard, if at times a little bland.

The Marriott in Amman is a decent hotel, in the middle of town, and certainly met my needs.

As a note, the local currency is the Jordanian Dinar, most commonly referred to by locals as the "JD"

Some Pros, Cons and Tips:

Pros:
- centrally located

- areas around the hotel felt safer than most European cities !

- staff friendly enough, although not as attentive as other Marriotts in the region


Cons:
- the immediate area outside of the hotel is fairly nondescript (housing, banks etc): the nearest small supermarket and alternate restaurants are ~10 minutes walk away, so taking taxis is required

- the main business park (KHBP) and City Mall are to the West of town - something like a 15-20 min 5JD drive

- the Restaurants at the Hotel are limited - an American style bar with a European restaurant. Sadly no local options !

- broadband was pricey (16JD/day) [although free for Gold Card users). although reasonable (even some Skype was possible)

- pool is small (on the ground floor)

- no outside balcony for rooms or even exec lounge (a pity)

Tips:
- buy JD before getting to Amman (you'll need 20JD in local currency for the Visa - it easy to buy at the airport prior to immigration)

- fixed fare taxi from main airport to Marriott is currently 22JD

- if you have time to explore, head over to the Citadel (be sure to ask for "Jabal al-Qal'a") - awesome views of the city and interesting ruins. Only a 10-15 minutes drive across town

- if you have more time, take the time to at least visit Jeresh (45 minute drive North)

- Hotel Taxis are available, but a 6JD compared to 2JD or so for yellow cabs. The Yellow cabs are available on the road just opposite the entrance - but make sure they either use the meter of you have agreed a fare !

- Ensure that your agree the fare verbally with the Hotel taxi before starting. As an example, fare to main airport is 40JD (if charged to your room) and I was told 25JD is paid in cash - but their driver demanded 30JD at the airport saying the fare had gone up over night !

Room Tip: A higher room has a nice view of the city, especially at sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear happyemailer: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on our performance during your recent stay with us. Your comment regarding the taxi fare is acknowledged and we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We appreciate your input and will take corrective action to ensure any future guests do not share this experience. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    248
    86
    21
    11
See reviews for
76
168
45
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall, good. Good location, and nice comfortable clean rooms. Downsides: the restaurant is definitely mediocre, had several disappointing and expensive meals there (although pizza was surprisingly good). The Champions bar is much better - steaks and hamburgers. The very big downside is the wifi - not free, expensive (62 JD for one week) and poor connection - surprising for a hotel that caters for business clients. The service over one week's time was sometimes a bit patchy - but flaws are offset by extremely friendly and attentive staff, ready to find helpful solutions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear apaulina: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on our performance during your recent stay with us. We will surely forward your compliments to the related departments. Your comment about our internet service is acknowledged and we apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. Thank you so much for providing your feedback and assisting us with improving our products and services. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had to stay at this hotel for one night because of the recent riots in Amman since we could'nt travel to Sweimah Marriott dead sea resort where we were originally booked to stay.
Hotel is centrally located In the city.
we had delay for the check in maybe because of our unexpected arrival but front staff were cheerful and helpful.
Room was comfy and neat.
We had dinner at the Villa restaurant served by zombie waiters.
Breakfast buffet was basic by Marriott standards.
Hotel is OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear MANOJT: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We will surely forward your compliments to the related departments; rooms and front desk staff. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Marriott Amman meets the chain's high standards. The location is good. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is little that is middle eastern about the hotel and it's showing its age: it needs a face-lift.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear BallyfinAbu: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to hear that our products and services were up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel, with stunning rooms and views over Amman. Food was lovely - buffet style, but staff seemed a little lax, and wandering round aimlessly instead of laying up tables. Air conditioning in hotel was excellent - thank goodness!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear cabbagecaff: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to hear that our products and services were up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a tour of Jordan. The hotel was good, room was a decent size and overlooked the pool. The restaurants were expensive and alcohol was very expensive. Breakfasts were fine, decent selection. The service was terrible; it took 3 requests and 45 minutes to get a drink at the pool. Wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear bernadetteandjohn:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on our performance during your recent stay with us. We apologize for inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. With regard to your experience with slow service at the outside pool, we noticed that your stay with us was in November. Although the outside pool area is still open and accessable to our guests whom wish to sit outside, the pool and the pool bar are actually closed for the winter season at this time. Upon checking on your room, we found that letter notifying our guests of this seasonal closure was missing and have corrected this immediately. In addition, we will add this notice to the signage around the pool deck area. We appreciate your input and will take crrective action to ensure any future guests do not share this experience. Thank you so much for providing your feedback and assisting us with improving our products and services. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.

Regards,

Ed M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and the staff was the best. Very considerate and helpful. The breakfast is great. You could not ask for more. This Marriott allows smoking so be sure to request nonsmoking in restaurants and rooms. The laundry service was excellent, too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Marriott Amman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
WeLov2Travel45: Thanks so much for posting your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are happy that you found our products and services enjoyable. We will surely forward your compliments to the related departments. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amman Hotel

Address: Shmeissani Issam Ajluni Street, Amman 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#4 Family Hotel in Amman
#7 Spa Hotel in Amman
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#11 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ancient city that was once part of the Decapolis league. Amman, Jordan's capital is at least 5000 years old. Amman is an incredibly pleasant city that offers a wide variety of historical sites and cultural attractions and is complemented by wonderfully welcoming people. At the Amman Marriott Hotel you will be steps away from the allure of this modern yet ancient city. The Amman Marriott Hotel has very easy access to all business and tourist areas of Amman and Jordan. Accommodation in Amman could not be any better with our newly renovated rooms that guarantee a good night's sleep. The Amman Marriott Hotel is Amman's preferred choice for business & social gatherings through legendary service. The qualified staff and hotel facilities combined, translates into more comfort for each guest. Stay at the Amman Marriott Hotel and take pleasure in the true Jordanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Amman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amman
Amman Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.