We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it....everything ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dove Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Riad Al mefleh Street | Jabbal Amman 5th circle, Amman 11195, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 113 hotels in Amman
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We loved it....everything ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place was an unexpected pleasure. There's so much I could say from the fresh cut roses we got every morning to the 'Irish Pub' downstairs. The locals were a treat and were genuinely interested in what we had to say about life in general. We had a very comfortable double bed each, running hot water and cold beer....enough said!

Room Tip: No views to see, so it doesn't really matter if you are at the front or the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I came to Jordan to check out the holy places like Jordan river, mount nebo, etc.. Because I'm writing a book about them. I checked in at the dove hotel and found a home there. It's a cheap, family-run hotel that is located in the heart of the Jordanian capital. Ideal location, great people and atmosphere, as well as prices. It's the place to be, people there are so friendly and willing to help. They planned all my trips and visits to the places I wanted to see. I recommend staying there. In general, What I've seen exceeded my own expectations.
My name is Valentina Shirokova.

Room Tip: The double bedroom although I was alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

the furniture is about to fall apart the remote control didnt work and its expensive for what it is!
and you need to get a cab from there which will cost you more to travel and even so you have to cross a main street to do it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I recently spent a week at the Dove Hotel and was blown away by the wonderful generosity of the staff -- everyone from the always-smiling guy at the front desk (who helped me translate a few long Arabic documents into English for free!) to the hotel owner (who invited me to his home for an incredible Friday meal with his entire family). I feel so lucky to have stumbled upon this gem of a place (on the Internet, no less), and I definitely plan to return. It's great for solo female travelers in particular, since it's located on a safe, quiet street not far from more bustling districts. I really can't rave enough about the family who runs this hotel, since their kindness went far beyond the usual niceties. For instance, the owner's son took me on a half-day trip to Madaba, to see a few famous historical sites, hunt for fossils, and drink some chai near Mount Nebo. I kept trying to offer him some compensation for the awesome trip, but he sweetly refused and instead welcomed me to meet the rest of his family, etc.

If you're looking for a posh and reliable corporate hotel, this is not the place for you -- it's far from glamorous, the water isn't always hot, and the free breakfast consists of a humble omelet. But whatever the Dove Hotel lacks in outer sheen, it MORE than makes up for in hospitality, and it has all the basics to boot: a fast and functional Internet connection, a spacious bedroom, a restaurant/bar with a good vibe and late-night service, etc.

I travel a huge amount, but I can honestly say that this is the most "at home" I've ever felt in a hotel, and the most rewarding encounter I've ever had with hotel staff. If you're looking to learn more about local culture, see the city, and be regaled with great stories over breakfast, then you should definitely stay here. You won't regret it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Owned by a family from Madaba in an up-market part of town (between 4th and 5th Circles), the Dove Hotel is a lovably eccentric establishment, frequented every evening by local card-players and therefore has much more life than most hotels in Amman. There is an "Irish Pub" in the basement which features a lively disco at weekends and there is a bar on the ground floor (decorated with colourful neckties and gramophone discs) which also serves simple food. Some of the rooms, which include inexpensive spacious suites, have recently undergone partial renovation. Having originally read about it on the internet, I always stay there and appreciate the conviviality and friendliness of the staff and owners. Don't expect 5-star service - it has no pretensions to that, but, if you want to stay somewhere that's lively, different, meet the locals and have some fun, the Dove Hotel has much to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hotel is independent of Best Western chain so don't expect Best Western standards!

The hotel is in a good area of Amman and is near to downtown Amman although you will need a taxi to ferry you around in general and in getting there in the first place

The rooms, although basic, dirty, dark and of poor quality, were actually quite spacious which was something I was not expecting.

Breakfast was a poor affair with only Japatis and jam/cheese spread offered along with coffee and an omlette.

There is a shop just down to the right of the hotel where you can buy drinks and food at reasonable prices.

Although basic, I found this hotel a real jordanian experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Amman
Amman Best Western
Address: 16 Riad Al mefleh Street | Jabbal Amman 5th circle, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 113 hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dove Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.