We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurants & shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Street

Rainbow Street
Abu Baker Al Seddeek Street, Amman, Jordan
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 25 Attractions in Amman
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good restaurants & shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a fun street to explore with good views, good shops, good restaurants, etc. If you have an evening to spare, recommend visiting

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    116
    62
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“full of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

it was really great experience a long street full of shops and cafes and crowded people who love life. it is for all ages and you will certainly love it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was not impressed, just a street with many bars and restaurants, quite expensive. You can just drive by.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very touristy but a pleasant walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went down Rainbow street to get to the town centre. It is very touristy but is is what we expected. The paths and traffic can be a bit precarious but the local people are very friendly and welcoming. The only down side we found, as this applies to Jordan generally, is the amount of rubbish left lying around. We witnessed people just dropping all sorts of litter on the floor and taking some of the steps through the housing areas we found there was an incredible amount of rubbish and waste just thrown on the floor and left to rot. If the rubbish could be sorted out it would be a much more pleasant place to visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unimpressive!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Last night, we walked up and down Rainbow St. and failed to see what all of the fuss was about. It was NOT pedestrian friendly; it was littered with trash; and it was congested with horn-blowing cars and lots of youngish men hanging out. Aside from having a very tasty scoop of double chocolate gelato and a freshly prepared chicken gyro, Rainbow St. wasn't worth the time or taxi fare. However, IF you go, be sure to used a metered taxi!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Street also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Rainbow Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.