We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barakat Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Barakat Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Barakat Hotel Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barakat Hotel Apartments
86 Yousef Bin Tashfin Street | Shmeisani, Amman 11110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 115 hotels in Amman
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“pleasant home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

this place in Shmesany, has the quality of a well established "big" hotel, with the informal and friendly attitude that one can find in smaller places. the staff downstairs is friendly, helpful, some having even sense of humor....the othrer staff is friendly, bit far from using any English (mainly Egyptians) but it doesn't affect you comfort at all.
the location is excellent, close to shmesany center, not far from down town or any other place u like to visit.
the units are well equipped, kitchenette, wide space in sitting area. bathroom, in some units is rather small.
This is my third time in this hotel in the past year

Room Tip: this is a quiet area mostly, so even front rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Barakat Hotel Apartments during the summer of 2011, for a couple of nights. It's a budget establishment so good for the price (60JD through Booking.com / 55JD locally = per night per 2 bedroom apartment).

We flew to Amman and before arrival I had arranged with Barakat for an airport pick-up, so they were most helpful and punctual with this arrangement.

There's a Safeway supermarket within walking distance, quite handy.

Overall, if traveling on a budget, I would recommend.

Room Tip: We only stayed a couple of nights but if you are staying for longer then you might want to check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I am, shall we say, a larger gentleman.

I made sure I booked a deluxe studio with a double and a single bed.

When we arrived we were given an apartment with 2 single beds.

When I asked, I was told the studio was not available! SO WHY LET ME BOOK IT?

Very friendly staff (most of them) but very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We find it a studio only in this hotel. The room is clean but too small . The central heating is very noisy. The furniture is old and there is no carpet in the ground and with this cold weather is not good. The water from bath room and kitchen is coming slow. They have all kitchen item available and small stove to cook . No restaurant available her but they have many restaurant and Safeway Market nearby . Its good for 2 or 3 days only.
The cabinet is too small and no hanger to put our cloth. The fridge is quite good size to bring some food item and keep it their. The towel look clean but old .

Room Tip: Budget and good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My colleagues and I stayed at the Barakat for a week and were very happy to be there. The management and staff were all very helpful and when service was requested, we got it promptly and always with a smile which is so important to make us feel welcome.

The hotel is simple and unpretentious but it provided us with everything we needed to make our stay in Amman comfortable.

For the price we were paying, we got two bedrooms, a sitting room and a kitchen - that way we get our privacy, a place to rest and a place to interact when we need to. Having a kitchen helps as we were able to rustle up a simple meal when we feel like it. We got a unit with a huge balcony which gives us space to spread out even more which was great.

With free internet and self service laundry thrown in, we really could not ask for more.

Room Tip: ask for the unit with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barakat Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barakat Hotel Apartments

Address: 86 Yousef Bin Tashfin Street | Shmeisani, Amman 11110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 115 hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barakat offers self-contained accommodations in Amman’s financial Shmeisani District. It features daily-serviced apartments near shops and grocery stores. Wi-Fi access is free and private parking is available on site. Well-equipped kitchenettes are standard in all of the air conditioned Barakat Apartments. There are living and dining areas, equipped with terracotta floors and flat-screen TV. Barakat Hotel Apartments also offers a 24-hour front desk and 24-hour laundry facilities. Guests can relax on the outdoor terraces or on the grounds. The 24-hour Safeway mall can be found only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and there are a lot of local fast food restaurants nearby. The Queen Alia International Airport is 20 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Barakat Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barakat Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.