We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Misk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Misk to your Saves list
Hotel Misk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shmeissani, 118 Abdulhameed Sharaf St | P.O. Box 950333, Amman 11195, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel room was clean and pleasant, though a tad small. Most of the facilities experienced were pleasant, presumably due to the fact that the property is new-ish. Decent location in Amman, Jordan. As Amman was the last stop after 12 days of non-stop travel, the cushion with the smiley applique found on the bed brought on a smile.

The dinner and breakfast buffet offerings are not too many, but sufficient. Some dishes tended to be a little salty though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    109
    36
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
72
36
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I'm very impressed with overall service & condition. An excellent choice for buisness travelers. I reccomend booking airport pick up from the hotel. If you have time book a trip to the dead sea with the hotel - Abu Rashad speaks excellent English & Spanish , has overt 25 years experience. Well done to the hotel management, everyone has a good level of services. I would come back again if I have another business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Warning: If you book this hotel with booking.com or any holding site, the price will be increased by 10% and then compounded by another 8% at the desk. We paid 70JD per night for a double room. This came to a shock to us. We did argue this with the reception but it got us nowhere.

About the room: Rooms were very cleans with a comfortable bed. We are such neat freaks and can easily find flaws in hotels. Being a new hotel, there were no flaws in sight. The bathroom with not small like other reviews say. I mean all you need is a a shower, sink and toilet. We aren't looking for a powder room in the bathroom:) Being a hotel country, I think most hotels probably have bugs..etc but this was a spotless hotel. I felt so comfortable and happy in my room.

Service: The English of the front reception area is poor. The main manager is the only one that actually speaks English but he is not around very often. The front desk gentlemen with a moustache is definitely not made for customer service. He was rude at times and I think they I ever saw him smile once. Oh well. I'm not really looking for smiles anyways.

Price: It comes out to $100 USD/per night. This is steep for us but we were only in Amman for about 3-4 days. However, it was worth every penny.

Surrounding Area: There is a Safeway and KFC around the corner but that is all! I think is is best to take a taxi to Abdoun Circle for food! I wish we knew about this on our first day! We ate too much KFC for the first 2 days!

Tours: Bovardia Tour is 3 buildings down and they have the most amazing driver name Ishaq. He was more than a driver. He became a good friend and guide for us. He was very trustworthy and we felt so safe with him. Please ask for him. I would highly recommend him and that company to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was ok'ish, but didn't like the fact that I was charged 10% extra over my booking.com charge and that I had to pay the full rate in advance. Otherwise, clean rooms, decent location, overall ambience is all right. But a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Warning: If you book this hotel with booking.com or any holding site, the price will be increased by 10% and then compounded by another 8% at the desk. We paid 70JD per night for a double room. They will not budge, no matter how much you argue. They say it is clearly stated on the booking website, but its not abundantly clear, and compounding the taxes is not stated at all.

The good: New hotel with carpeted clean rooms. Excellent AC and nice room. Location is not in Abdoun circle, so it pay cost you 4JD to get there via tax. We paid 2-4 depending on the taxi driver you get. Bell boy and room service people are very nice.

The Reception:
1) Front desk english skills are very very basic and they use that to their advantage. The reception worker Amdoud (incorrect spelling) did not help us find any laundry service in the near by area. We went out twice with our heavy laundry based on his crappy incorrect directions. He showed no empathy and just insisted we use the hotel laundry service (which would of costed 50JD ). We eventually found laundry much closer then he suggested just less than 25 meters away (how does he not know this).

2) Their AMEX machine was not working and they blamed my card based on their excellent deduction skills (sarcasm). After calling AMEX and explaining to them it is not my card, it magically worked. They first claimed that Canadian cards may not work in Jordan, but I also educated them on this.

Overall Hotel Misk is a nice clean building only because it is new. I have no doubt that the administration will ride out its novelty and it will eventually be downgraded hotel. For now, book the Misk and be careful with the advice of the reception. Bell boys are friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Clean, modern, an ok (ish) breakfast - everything is good about the hotel except... the location
No real restaurants around and if you were hoping to hang out in central amman, you will have to take a cab (count 4 to 5 JOD each way).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Clean, modern, well-kept hotel. Great value for money. Comfortable bed, had a great night's sleep. The staff was very caring and helpful. The breakfast was good, and the restaurant food was delicious and well-priced. There is a grocery store (Safeway) nearby where we were able to buy everything from food to toiletries to Dead Sea bath salts. The hotel is not located close to tourist attractions, but a taxi ride in Amman is very cheap. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Misk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misk

Address: Shmeissani, 118 Abdulhameed Sharaf St | P.O. Box 950333, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Misk 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Misk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Misk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.