We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Misk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Misk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Misk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shmeissani, 118 Abdulhameed Sharaf St | P.O. Box 950333, Amman 11195, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Amman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New, clean and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Warning: If you book this hotel with booking.com or any holding site, the price will be increased by 10% and then compounded by another 8% at the desk. We paid 70JD per night for a double room. This came to a shock to us. We did argue this with the reception but it got us nowhere.

About the room: Rooms were very cleans with a comfortable bed. We are such neat freaks and can easily find flaws in hotels. Being a new hotel, there were no flaws in sight. The bathroom with not small like other reviews say. I mean all you need is a a shower, sink and toilet. We aren't looking for a powder room in the bathroom:) Being a hotel country, I think most hotels probably have bugs..etc but this was a spotless hotel. I felt so comfortable and happy in my room.

Service: The English of the front reception area is poor. The main manager is the only one that actually speaks English but he is not around very often. The front desk gentlemen with a moustache is definitely not made for customer service. He was rude at times and I think they I ever saw him smile once. Oh well. I'm not really looking for smiles anyways.

Price: It comes out to $100 USD/per night. This is steep for us but we were only in Amman for about 3-4 days. However, it was worth every penny.

Surrounding Area: There is a Safeway and KFC around the corner but that is all! I think is is best to take a taxi to Abdoun Circle for food! I wish we knew about this on our first day! We ate too much KFC for the first 2 days!

Tours: Bovardia Tour is 3 buildings down and they have the most amazing driver name Ishaq. He was more than a driver. He became a good friend and guide for us. He was very trustworthy and we felt so safe with him. Please ask for him. I would highly recommend him and that company to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    105
    36
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
70
34
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was ok'ish, but didn't like the fact that I was charged 10% extra over my booking.com charge and that I had to pay the full rate in advance. Otherwise, clean rooms, decent location, overall ambience is all right. But a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Warning: If you book this hotel with booking.com or any holding site, the price will be increased by 10% and then compounded by another 8% at the desk. We paid 70JD per night for a double room. They will not budge, no matter how much you argue. They say it is clearly stated on the booking website, but its not abundantly clear, and compounding the taxes is not stated at all.

The good: New hotel with carpeted clean rooms. Excellent AC and nice room. Location is not in Abdoun circle, so it pay cost you 4JD to get there via tax. We paid 2-4 depending on the taxi driver you get. Bell boy and room service people are very nice.

The Reception:
1) Front desk english skills are very very basic and they use that to their advantage. The reception worker Amdoud (incorrect spelling) did not help us find any laundry service in the near by area. We went out twice with our heavy laundry based on his crappy incorrect directions. He showed no empathy and just insisted we use the hotel laundry service (which would of costed 50JD ). We eventually found laundry much closer then he suggested just less than 25 meters away (how does he not know this).

2) Their AMEX machine was not working and they blamed my card based on their excellent deduction skills (sarcasm). After calling AMEX and explaining to them it is not my card, it magically worked. They first claimed that Canadian cards may not work in Jordan, but I also educated them on this.

Overall Hotel Misk is a nice clean building only because it is new. I have no doubt that the administration will ride out its novelty and it will eventually be downgraded hotel. For now, book the Misk and be careful with the advice of the reception. Bell boys are friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Clean, modern, an ok (ish) breakfast - everything is good about the hotel except... the location
No real restaurants around and if you were hoping to hang out in central amman, you will have to take a cab (count 4 to 5 JOD each way).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Clean, modern, well-kept hotel. Great value for money. Comfortable bed, had a great night's sleep. The staff was very caring and helpful. The breakfast was good, and the restaurant food was delicious and well-priced. There is a grocery store (Safeway) nearby where we were able to buy everything from food to toiletries to Dead Sea bath salts. The hotel is not located close to tourist attractions, but a taxi ride in Amman is very cheap. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akranes, Borgarfjardarsysla, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed group of six one night in Hotel Misk in Jordan in our nice trip in Jordan in July 2012. This hotel is new and clean and the staff are smiling and friendly. The rooms are not very big and there is nothing extra in them, but this was very good for us just to stay one night.So nice new hotel but no extras ore luxury. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What does that mean ? is Misk hotel better than many 5 stars hotels ! Defenitely NO , it means travellers who stayed in this hotel were satisfied since this samll hotel is clean with small rooms but comfortable beds with 32 flat screen , free WI-Fi , safe inside the room , Mini Bar , though it was empty. For the breakfast , i think it was very good for 3 stars hotel .In simple words u get what you paid for . SO if you are planning to stay few days in amman to see the city or in a business trip and you dont whant to exhaust your pocket Misk hotel will be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Misk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misk

Address: Shmeissani, 118 Abdulhameed Sharaf St | P.O. Box 950333, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Misk 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Misk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Misk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.