We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but not recommended” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Hotel
Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 115 hotels in Amman
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Average, but not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in room 503; the room had two really significant problems: First, the shower could not be controlled and sprayed on the floor; because the floor was improperly designed the water flows away from the drain and the floor remains wet. The second problem is alos a design flaw: the electric outlet was faulty and even the hotel's own hair dryer wouldn't work. Other than theses issues the room was clean, the AC worked and the breakfast was acceptable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed Khair M, Director of Sales at Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dears,
Good day from Sunny Amman.
please allow us in the name of Ocean Hotel Family to thank you for giving us a part of valuable time to write about your experience at our hotel, please put in mind, that we take your note in consideration, and our operation & marketing departments check daily with clients if they face any mistake or miss in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
11
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Hotel twice on a recent trip. The first room was acceptable but on our return a few nights later we were given a room that initially seemed reasonable if rather tired and in need of upgrading. But we realised it was dirty, stained lampshades, and a double bed made with 2 single sheets complete with someone else's hair. By any standards this accommodation failed. The limited breakfast served in a funereal room in the basement only added to our disappointment.

Room Tip: If you have to stay insist on checking the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed Khair M, Director of Sales at Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dears,
Good day from Sunny Amman.
please allow us in the name of Ocean Hotel Family to thank you for giving us a part of valuable time to write about your experience at our hotel, please put in mind, that we take your note in consideration, and our operation & marketing departments check daily with clients if they face any mistake or miss in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stay there during new year holiday, the room was clean and big enough. But as the 4 star hotel their facilities was not enough for the guest except their big restaurant there. The Lobby was small also the lift. The break fast not much choice as their main menu was the arabic breakfast. The hotel offer free wifi but you only can use it for 1 device but its works and helpfull as my mobile operator in my country have very expensive for data service using Jordan operator.
As for the room in the corner, the size much bigger than other room.
Hotel location also near some Jewellery and watch store and a nice jordan chocolate store " al fursan"

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked a tour with Jordan select tours and part of it was staying at this hotel for 2 nights.
It was an average hotel, room was basic and the hotel was undergoing renovation. Would have preferred another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were here for 2 nights and room size good and cleanliness good. Needs a bit of maintenance, blocked drain in bathroom sink and curtain tracks stuck making use of the view a bit difficult. The breakfast is very disappointing. The big plus is the hotel restaurant, Diwan Al Sultan Ibrahim restaurant is very good and I reviewed it separately.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had moved to Ocean from Toledo - it was a very good decision as this hotel is new and offers lot more. The staff is friendly but aimed for only Arabic Tourists. Check in was good. The manager himself showed around rooms and upgraded us with to a suite. Comfortable room and amenities were good too. Location very good. Easy to move around. Very chic area. Breakfast was very poor.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a room with a view and ask for new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's my second stay in this hotel. I was back coz I like it so much , love the ppl they work in this hotel, they r so friendly and helpful, breakfast is good . I went to the Lebanese restaurant in this hotel it was the best ever I had , the name of the restaurant is Diwan Al Sultan Ibrahim, it is a true experience of so delicious food. Many thanks to staff and management there, for their kindness hospitality, clean modern rooms flat screen televisions , moder bathrooms very clean. For sure this small hotel is my second home to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Address: Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 115 hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.