We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel in middle of Amman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Hotel
Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
JOD55 (JOD)
Ranked #36 of 115 Hotels in Amman
amman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in middle of Amman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nevertheless the hotel is small but their rooms & their service up to 5 stars hotel. It's located in the souq of Um Uthaina ,near by Jordan gate towers.
Transportation easily available,close to every where in Amman.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
12
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a group tour of the Holyland , arriving after a tiring drive from Nazareth and border crossing. A warm meal awaited us upon arrival.

I have nothing but praise for this hotel -- great location near restaurants and shops, efficient and friendly service, good food and well equipped, comfortable rooms.

The thing that struck me most was the genuineness and warmth of the staff.

Pity it was only for one night -- would have loved to stay longer. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just made our trip to Amman. The hotel was well located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and took care of all our needs. The rooms were clean and had all the necessary amenities. The food was good. Even though we are vegetarians, there was enough variety of food for us. There was a flat screen TV and a minibar in the room. There was temperature control which kept us warm at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We made two separate visits to the Ocean Hotel in May. The hotel staff were warm, friendly ,and cared about the hotel.

There were few tourists. Mostly business people from other Middle East countries.

The location was in a leafy suburb. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood.

The attached restaurant was excellent value.

You can check-in, have an excellent meal, and be treated like family.

Excellent on-site Manager and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The best thing about this hotel are its front of house / reception staff who were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves are simple and rather dark as one cannot open the curtains (closed in order to keep the daytime heat out, I guess). There was a flat screen TV, though. Minibar was only partly stocked but further drinks were brought to the room on request.

Breakfast was rather disappointing: bread for toast felt as if it had been on display for quite a while; the supply of croissants disappeared very quickly and did not seem to arrive daily; the coffee had an odd flavour.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but taxi rides into town cost only a couple of JD. Apart from a nice coffee/juice bar opposite, the only other facilities within walking distance are a collection of jewellery shops.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have travelled extensively to Amman, Jordan. When its on business and a client is paying, I typically stay in the Meridien Hotel. However, I like to spend a few days in Amman on my own getting out of the Middle East heat, I go for a 3 star hotel and save myself some money. I've stayed in a bunch of them around jd50 per night ($70) and my favorite (by far) is the Ocean Hotel.

Its in the heart of the Um-utanyah gold souk, which is a very pleasant quiet neighborhood off the main roads but close to everything. Its got about 30 rooms, very clean and it sits on one of Amman's most famous Lebanese restaurants. The rooms are big and clean, the reception desk very helpful. Breakfast is included, however there is a very nice coffee shop across the street.

They don't really have a proper reservation system on the internet, so I've usually booked by sending them an email off their site.

The rooms now have flat screen tvs with satellite reception (although you have to hunt through the hundreds of stations to find the few English ones) and there is wi-fi in all the rooms, for jd10 per day which I consider absurd. Its a slow connection unfortunately. Cilantro, the coffee shop across the street, has free wi-fi as does the sandwhich shop around the corner.

If you want a nice clean room, great neighborhood in Amman for a reasonable price, this is the best I've found in Amman so far.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Address: Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 115 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.