We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Amman
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
505 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a group tour of the Holyland , arriving after a tiring drive from Nazareth and border crossing. A warm meal awaited us upon arrival.

I have nothing but praise for this hotel -- great location near restaurants and shops, efficient and friendly service, good food and well equipped, comfortable rooms.

The thing that struck me most was the genuineness and warmth of the staff.

Pity it was only for one night -- would have loved to stay longer. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just made our trip to Amman. The hotel was well located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and took care of all our needs. The rooms were clean and had all the necessary amenities. The food was good. Even though we are vegetarians, there was enough variety of food for us. There was a flat screen TV and a minibar in the room. There was temperature control which kept us warm at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chahit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We made two separate visits to the Ocean Hotel in May. The hotel staff were warm, friendly ,and cared about the hotel.

There were few tourists. Mostly business people from other Middle East countries.

The location was in a leafy suburb. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood.

The attached restaurant was excellent value.

You can check-in, have an excellent meal, and be treated like family.

Excellent on-site Manager and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
264 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The best thing about this hotel are its front of house / reception staff who were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves are simple and rather dark as one cannot open the curtains (closed in order to keep the daytime heat out, I guess). There was a flat screen TV, though. Minibar was only partly stocked but further drinks were brought to the room on request.

Breakfast was rather disappointing: bread for toast felt as if it had been on display for quite a while; the supply of croissants disappeared very quickly and did not seem to arrive daily; the coffee had an odd flavour.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but taxi rides into town cost only a couple of JD. Apart from a nice coffee/juice bar opposite, the only other facilities within walking distance are a collection of jewellery shops.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have travelled extensively to Amman, Jordan. When its on business and a client is paying, I typically stay in the Meridien Hotel. However, I like to spend a few days in Amman on my own getting out of the Middle East heat, I go for a 3 star hotel and save myself some money. I've stayed in a bunch of them around jd50 per night ($70) and my favorite (by far) is the Ocean Hotel.

Its in the heart of the Um-utanyah gold souk, which is a very pleasant quiet neighborhood off the main roads but close to everything. Its got about 30 rooms, very clean and it sits on one of Amman's most famous Lebanese restaurants. The rooms are big and clean, the reception desk very helpful. Breakfast is included, however there is a very nice coffee shop across the street.

They don't really have a proper reservation system on the internet, so I've usually booked by sending them an email off their site.

The rooms now have flat screen tvs with satellite reception (although you have to hunt through the hundreds of stations to find the few English ones) and there is wi-fi in all the rooms, for jd10 per day which I consider absurd. Its a slow connection unfortunately. Cilantro, the coffee shop across the street, has free wi-fi as does the sandwhich shop around the corner.

If you want a nice clean room, great neighborhood in Amman for a reasonable price, this is the best I've found in Amman so far.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.6 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#27 of 128 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#28 of 128 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#2 of 128 in Amman
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#10 of 128 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#24 of 128 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel  (Burj al Arab)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Address: Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing