We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manta Ray for seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray

Manta Ray
Almah Beach, Tel Aviv 63305, Israel
03-5174773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,057 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Manta Ray for seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On the beach front, unpretentious restaurant, very good service & excellent sea food dishes.
Outdoor dining is available in this relaxed restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    64
    24
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good seafood on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've eaten here twice on my current trip, and once before several years ago. Consistently good seafood: once I had the "catch," a plate of tiny grey mullet fried crispy, and once a dish of shrimp with gnocchi and a rather heavy sauce. The star of the show, though, is the mezze as appetizers. Lots of yummy things -- the more people you have to share them the better, but even when I went there alone I was able to get a nice selection. The last time I was there, I had (on the server's recommendation) a really spectacular dessert that I would never have picked on the basis of the menu description "crème brulée leaves" or something like that. It turned out to be an elegant plate of 5 disks of a complicated semifreddo, interdigitated with crispy things. Very good indeed. Service when I was alone was surprisingly nice, and on other occasions with groups, perfectly OK.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The View, The Service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

not the food. It's gorgeous but I think that by Saturday night, when we were there, the food is a bit less than fresh. I'd try it again on a Sunday at sunset. Still, the view is absolutely beautiful and the service is very professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A place with a view which doesn't compromise quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing! If you are lucky to get a beach front table, it's brilliant!
Unlike most other place which enjoy prime location, this place is really good and has been ever since it was opened.
On our last visit there we came for brunch, food was good and fairly priced and well presented, service was friendly & attentive and with seaview, who can ask for more?
I am pretty much a regular (whenever visiting Israel) and would definitely come back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The setting and the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent place on the beach. A porch overlooking the sea (in addition to indoor seats), excellent food and nice waiters. Many little dishes that can be ordered commonly to the table to try out as first dish. Great place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Ray also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
 

Been to Manta Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.