We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel very welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Place

Mike's Place
Herbert Samuel 86, Tel Aviv, Israel
03-5106392
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 1,056 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: American, European, Mexican, Pizza, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Located on beachfront beside US Consulate. Good food and variety of drinks , entertainment every night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    73
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Average.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Was the nearest place to our hotel, prices are fair and the staff are friendly. The food wasn't very nice and was very greasy, would recommend for a drink, nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, Owner at Mike's Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi there. I'm sorry you had a non-pleasant experience regarding our food. What was it that you ate didn't enjoy? Was there anything else wrong with your experience? Thanks for taking the time to write as no business improves without the feedback of its customers, good or bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“It started just great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went there to celebrate the family reunion expecting a marvellous ending of a marvellous day. And it went just great right from the start! Well thought-out amusing interior, friendly and cheerful service, awesome beer - what more is needed to enjoy an evening in a company of not just family but true friends?! However this flawless impression was spoiled abruptly. When my daughter handed her bank card to the waitress, the latter asked: "Do you want me to add the tip to your card payment, or do you want to leave it in cash?" There were representatives of three countries / cultures in our company. Neither one of us could believe his/her ears. Hope this particular waitress is the only one among the stuff to request tips from guests in such a shameful way!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, Owner at Mike's Place, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hey there. I wanted to respond to your review because I noticed that you had a great time until the end. In Israel there's no option to add a tip on a credit card after it's ran like in the US. We have to put it on before running the card. Was the server rude when asking or we're you just taken aback by the question? I'm very interested to know. Thanks for your time.

Jason Jungreis
Co-owner
Mike's Place Bars, Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just a hang out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mikes Place is a tourist destination within itself. Expect basic meals, Fish & Chips, Burgers etc cooked & served in a simple manner. Service is good and it's generally a hang out for English speakers and tourists.
Some live bands play here, which can be fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We came here three times and loved the food and the staff. Located right on the beach, we were able to watch incredible sunsets! We highly recommend a visit and that you try out their chili cheese fries

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Place also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.