We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as last time but still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adora

Adora
Ben Yehuda 226, Tel Aviv 63473, Israel
+972-3-6050896
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 999 restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Not as great as last time but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved the starter of Aubergine Falafell - the best starter and so beautifully presented. The Goose liver parcel was also very good. The only thing which our party had which was not good was the Beef Shish which was tough and tasted as though it was poor quality meat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    79
    43
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Boring!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Mediocre food by a well PRed chef. We went there a couple of times and each time were disappointed. If I had to recommend a dish it's be the shrimp on creme fresh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wanted to visit this one a long time, as it was getting good reviews and recommendations, so maybe my disappointment is due to the high expectations. The place design is quiet simple, nothing fancy, it is easily can go for a neighborhood pub, of each there are many in the area.
We were seated on the bar, that is quiet modest as the whole place. The service was good and attentive - well we were the only people on the bar ...
The first courses were the best part of the meal - the eggplant phalafel is definitely a must!!! The ceviche with black peas was delicious as well.
The main courses however were less eventful - the fish filet sauce was very heavy and plain and kind of dominated the dish .
The pricing is moderate, which is a plus (heard the business lunch is a real value for money)
All in all it is a decent meal. If you are in the area you can try it , but I would not recommend it as a special destination or for any special event.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best brunch on Sat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

if you love a big brunch with lots of yummy dishes- this is the place for you. large portions and a non stop run for more great dishes. worth every shekel. dinner wise- it's ok....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Creative kitchen, great service and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had visited the restaurant last month for our anniversary, after having wanted to go there for quite a long time (we're local). We made a reservation quite late in the evening and mid-week.

Service & atmosphere:
The service was surprisingly good (by 2 waitresses), and complemented the quite and romantic atmosphere. Both waitresses who served us, successively, were very nice and quite professional (some really minor glitches, but that is to be expected). We were offered a different table than the one we reserved, as they said its much nicer (and we agreed). Throughout the meal the service was attentive and quite quick... to the point that we spent a lot of time sitting and talking in the nice ambiance just to not leave so fast.

Food:
We decided to order a selection of entrees and one main course for some "made up" tasting. The bread was freshly baked and the spreadings - good though conservative. Most entrees were a good execution of well-known "common" food, some with a touch of creativity which we gladly welcomed. One of them stood-out - the day's special - "Baklawa" filled with foie gras and spinach. It was really brilliant, quite sweet and yet complex and suprising and its a shame there was only one, rather small piece with a hefty price tag.
Our main course (also served as an entree) was Ravioli filled with Ox tail, which was very "correct", and the meaty sauce was a joy with the remaining bread.
On the dessert front we both enjoyed ourselves, I had a signature dish Zacher-Cardamon-Espresso served hot (perhaps too hot) which was quite alright.

Presentation:
The presentation was nothing to write home about, though we did not expect anything in that front, as it isn't in the "spirit" of the place.

Drinks and Wine:
We chose a good Italian red wine ourselves (the wine selection isn't too diverse but adequate). The espresso at the end of the meal was very good, which is an important measure of a restaurant in my opinion.

Value and Summary:
While some dishes are priced a bit too high, the overall pricing is on the lower side for the relatively high quality of the food. The food itself might not be familiar to tourists and its variations not even to locals - so do some research in advance - but is well-executed and tasty. With such good service and ambiance, we would definitely come back (perhaps to try the prix fixe which is of tremendous value, we now know for sure).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adora also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Adora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.