We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere (though a bit expensive)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Bar

Nana Bar
1 Ahad Ha'am St, Tel Aviv 6514201, Israel
+972 3-516-1915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 1,024 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For more than a decade Nana excites the people of TLV every single day. The restaurant serves local and international cuisine made of the freshest local produce in the most romantic atmosphere. The Smoking-friendly wine Bar combines a retro design with up to date music, live DJ parties on Friday afternoon and serves summer cocktails in an upbeat atmosphere. The private room is beautifully designed with romantic and antique pieces with artisan designed lighting.All combined together create Nana's "golden kingdom" - a glorious & magical place
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere (though a bit expensive)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you're wallet is loaded and you're looking for a casual dinner - this could be the place.
We came there to celebrate an anniversary. Romantic? It is. VERY. Fine sittings, very inviting atmosphere and great staff. The starters were tasty, which led us to believe the following dishes will be as good... A great tomato salad with cheese and an excellent pesto! Good chopped liver! We were NOT wrong. The pasta and the pork chop were REALLY good! Done perfectly! and the deserts were great as well. We accompanied the celebration dinner with a good FLAM bottle (red wine) and from time to time the staff put two shots of a good homemade Lemoncelo liqueur, and we "had to drink it"... To conclude - WE LOVED IT!
There's a parking lot right next to the place. Don't bother to look for a parking spot on the streets around the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We enjoyed but could have been a tad bit better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Most of the tables were occupied when we dropped in for lunch - always a good sign. Service very friendly. We ordered from the "Business Lunch" menu and I enjoyed the chopped liver (although the bread on which it was served could have been crispier). My husband's starter, a very plain salad - most iceberg, served in a too small bowl, was a bit disappointing.

Our mains - I had a large salad and he the grilled salmon - were both very nice.

The restaurant has various sections - a long bar, an outside area, a private room, and I have a feeling that nighttime is the real time to go to this place.

Overall, a nice experience, but for lunch would probably go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“our last meal in tel aviv was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I were sitting at your restaurant before our flight back, we had reservations without knowing too much and we fell in love, the atmosphere was amazing, we sat on the patio to enjoy our last meal in Tel Aviv .For Appetisers we ordered the Shrimp's and the Salmon Carpaccio .our Dishes were excellent, arrived quickly and the best dish was the shrimp's.for our Main dishes, my partner ordered vegetarian mushroom pappardelle which was great, and i ordered the pork rib. the sauce was amazing, the bbq was alittel spicy..
The service was wonderful! the waitress was very nice to us..
Even the manager came to our table with a limoncello and that was the end of our night.
great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, So So Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The restaurant decoration is great, difficult car parking, very small starters (besides the pickles), so so food.
We were a party of six. The first courses were small and no more than regular; the main courses were reasonable in size but no more than regular in taste.
Our dinner came to about US $ 30.00 per person.
I am not returning to here in the future.
By the way, there was an electrical failure and I could not charge my card. They wanted our card number for later charging, to which I did not give in. I paid cash and left the very minimum tip acceptablr.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at Nana Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi sir,

Thank you for sharing with us your visit lately.
Nana, Bar and Restaurant in under new ownership and management since april 2013.
there is a parking lot across the restaurant which was probably full.
we are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the electric issue and we can assure you that we consider "service" as high value. we have a new menu.
our price range per person is 30$.
we would like to invite you for a better experience on the house.
please contact us.

Nana, Bar and Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Located in great area of tel aviv
We were there few years a go which was good memory
This time :

Service was slow
Took forever to get drinks and dish are not serve together

First course are great , carpaccio , shrimps we very good

Main course were not as good , steaks and fish as well

We didn't stay for deserts

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at Nana Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi sir,

Thank you for sharing with us your visit lately.
Nana, Bar and Restaurant in under new ownership and management since april 2013.
we are sorry that this time was not as good as the ones before. i can assure you we consider "service" as high value. we changed the menu since. and we are always looking to improve ourselves. we would like to invite you for a better experience next time you visit Tel Aviv.
we appreciate it your comment.
thank you

Nana, Bar and Restaurant manager
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Nana Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.