We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4/5 Pardon ?!???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mel and Michelle

Mel and Michelle
155 Ben Yahuda Street, Tel Aviv 63471, Israel
+972 3-529-3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 1,055 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mel & Michelle is a small and intimate restaurant run by chef Nir Wayman.The chef infuse personal and artisanal touches on classical Italian cuisine.Hand made gnocchi, fresh pasta and local produce from the various markets are the basis of the seasonal menu, which also incorporates truffle oils, Roman artichokes and spices from around the globe.White table cloths, soft- incandescent lighting and an attentive staff create the calm and welcoming ambiance, characteristic of Mel & Michelle.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4/5 Pardon ?!???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I even wonder how people can recommand it... Ok, the place is clean, the service is ok... But the food has no taste, like at all. The dishes are really simple, but usuaĺy it's something I appreciate...
I felt sorry for the chief that looked working hard... an pissed off cause I didn't enjoy one minute, my boyfriend had veal tortellini and i had mullet with wine sauce (which is the most expensive dishe)... none of our dish had any taste... I'm an italian born in france and I didn't find myself anywhere there... plus, Seriously, for the same prices, I will next time go to popina, pastel or gootcha...
Sorry for being so hard but we picked up this place because of all the nice advices we read about it, I regret.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Romantic spot with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I loved my meal here. The servers were very sweet and helpful, food was good, music set the right ambience and totally romantic. Recommend it as a nice date place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile


M&M is like the best neighborhood restaurant ever. A pretty place with very good Italian style food It is not cheap but everything that I had was excellent. Starting with the tomato salad and the amazing bread through the pasta and tiramisu, I enjoyed it thoroughly. The wine, a Flam Cabernet, was another great Israeli choice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was one of the Mondial nights, but all the restaurants were full... Mel and Michelle was recommended by a friend. Its one of those restaurants that I've always wanted to try, but didn't... Its a rather small place, it was full, so we sat at the bar (a very good idea).
Its just great!
We had all(!) the first courses on the menu. Everyone of them was superb!
We were only 2, but had 4 of their main courses (small portions) - once again, everything was delicious!
The 2 different desserts were ---- great!!
So... Of course if you are in the neighborhood - that the place you should choose for your next dinner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ambient and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We liked the restaurant therefore we visited it twice in one week. Food is delicious although portions can be small and prices aren't that small (but this is Israel in general, so nothing special here). Nevertheless this is good Italian no pizza restaurant, with great ambient and atmosphere, friendly staff, small, always crowded in the evening, so I recommend you to make reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel and Michelle also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Mel and Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel and Michelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.