We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING: STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOVEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Beach to your Saves list
Golden Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6330308, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WARNING: STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOVEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Imagine two rooms with broken chairs, dirty showers and shower curtains. Imagine a plastic toilet seat cracked down the middle. Imagine a broken elevator. Imagine a bathroom in the dark of night with a broken ceiling fixture and, thus, NO LIGHT for which the "solution" is to be handed - get this - A FLASHLIGHT!!!! and being informed that "this is not a 5 star hotel".

You would be better off sleeping on the beach which is right across the street. Stay away from this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    30
    20
    30
See reviews for
23
34
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Affordable hotel right on the beach. Perfect! Who would have though it is possible to combine city + beach vacation like this! When in Tel Aviv staying near the beach is a must to get the best of the city. Just think sea view room in a major city! Very nice hotel too even thou not one of the fancy ones.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Except of the nice location directly at Tel Aviv beach, this hotel has left a pretty bad impression with me: A tiny room with worn off furniture, a big fridge with mold inside, a bathroom that would need serious repairs, towels with holes and spots, and a cup with a plastic bag saying "Sterilised for you" for cleaning your teeth ... but filled with half a centimeter of milky liquid with hair swimming inside. The staff is neither very friendly nor competent, and the WiFi quality is very bad.

Next time in TLV, I will avoid this location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My poor mother came to visit for a week and booked into this hotel as she had seen reasonable reviews about it on its website. Tel Aviv is not cheap when it comes to accomodation and we thought it was a reasonable price considering.

She stayed one night here and my husband and I packed her bags and put her on our sofa for the rest of the stay. Apart from being in a good, central location, the place was appalling. I wanted to complain (they refused to refund any of the money she had paid as she paid on booking - bad idea - ALWAYS pay on check out unless you know what you are going to get) but there was nobody to complain to.

The hotel itself is shabby and seedy and I half expected to see prostitutes coming and going with their business men but frankly, i can't imagine a business man going near this place,

The room was horrific, my mum refused to take a shower as apart from being ridden with bugs it looked dirty and needed fixing (full of holes and black marks). The bed was horrible and she slept on her own towel incase she caught something. The soft furnishings were holey and grimy and i felt so sorry for her having to hang her clothes on the back on the chair.

it's the sort of hotel they would use in a movie set to portray one of those underworld grimy budget motels that all the criminal hide in! I was in tears for the whole night she spent there, it was a total waste of her hard earned money, she was scared there, it was dirty, badly designed, grotty, in desperate need of an upgrade.. and I honestly would rather sleep on the beach. I have stayed in tons of places in tel Aviv and would choose a hostel which really IS value for money over this hovel anytime.

DON'T stay there, DON'T go NEAR the place unless you are a seasoned traveller looking for a place to lay your head and don't really mind where. I stayed in nicer places in the Grand Bazaar in Delhi!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We were there for 2 nights. It was kind of cramped, there is a flight of stairs to climb before getting to the main desk, and the elevator was pretty small and couldn't hold a lot of weight. However, it is right on the beach and the rooms were nice (for 2 people) with a balcony & view. :]

Stayed June 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

What a horrible hotel. I had problems with my originalhotelin Tel Aviv and needed somewhere to stay and fast. I used a recommendation in Lonely Planet (won't be doing that again) and checked in here. The room had a balcony overlooking the sea, which was beautiful. However, the room was small and filthy. The carpets were disgusting and had years of dirt and grease trodden in to them. The windows were covered in grime and the towels smelt mouldy. The shower curtain was black with mold and ensuite was unhygeinic. The baby cot mattress was a health hazard in itself. The location is good, but the traffic is very noisy with lots of car horns etc all night. Theair conditioning is noisy and ineffective. The worst thing of all, was THE ANT INFESTATION IN BOTH BEDS...

I can see why this hotel ranks so far down in the ratings for hotels in Tel Aviv. What a nightmare, I wish I had access to Trip Advisor before I booked.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach

Address: 56 Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6330308, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Beach Hotel is designed to provide you with a truly relaxing vacation experience. It is located on Tel Aviv Promenade, in a prime location close to the heart of Tel Aviv. The Hotel has 48 different rooms and two penthouses and offers you the highest class of service and attractive facilities at convenient, affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.