We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL IN ISRAEL!!! Should be shut down.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach

Save Saved
You added Golden Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 86 hotels in Tel Aviv
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL IN ISRAEL!!! Should be shut down.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I arrived after midnight, a single female from USA. I confirmed with the hotel and specifically advised them that I was arriving very late and I must be guaranteed a room. I took a cab from the airport to the hotel, physically and mentally exhausted after a long flight, only to be told by the hotel's front desk that even though I PAID IN FULL, they had NO available rooms for me and they called a hotel a few blocks inland to give me a room!!! I was expected to walk the streets at 1am with my luggage by myself (my first time in the middle east) to an unknown hotel that I wasn't able to check out ahead of time. Upon entering the hotel (unlike the atmosphere the website pix), it has the feel of a youth hostel or YMCA; dingy is putting it mildly. A kid (don't think he was 21) with a bandage on his hand was the only worker available in the small hotel (so much for security). The only thing that saved me from walking out into the middle eastern darkness without a clue was that the hotel lobby had free wi-fi and I opened up my laptop and booked another room with an American hotel instead. A cab was sent to pick me up and bring me safely to the other hotel. An expensive lesson. Even thinking about my experience with Golden Beach MOTEL fills me with tears of rage and disbelief at the helplessness and horror that almost gave me the worst impression of Israel before I even got to see it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    27
    17
    28
See reviews for
18
28
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

got there late on friday night asked to look at room,told them i wasent happy ,so they changed it,then from 12 oclock midnight till 630 in the morning there was a disco under my room,never got any sleep,told the person on reception,she said she never knew it was so noisey,i said how long have you been working there she said 6 years,i said i been here here 10 hours and i know its noisey,utter contempt for guests,also have stayed in some bad places before but this is the worse,DONT STAY

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Golden Beach is right on the beach, where actually one has to cross a noisy street to get to the beach but it is right there. Our window was facing the beach, which was nice but also super noisy because of the busy street. the location is very central, steps away fro the main street and all the activities. Hotel itself is very, very basic. Rooms and bathrooms are small and not fabulous. Furniture is basic and old and there is no really any decor. You cannot really open the windows because it is extremely noisy, not just with the noise from the street but also crazy wind.

Staff was not very helpful and not particularly nice or welcoming, it looked like they didn't particularly like their job.

One good thing was that there was free wifi, other than that this wasn't the best choice, especially since it wasn't cheap either so really not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here fore 1 night, and that was enough! Location was great with beach right across the road, but that was the only plus. Furniture and carpet in the room were stained with what, I don't know, and the shower tray in the bathroom had chunks out of it. But the worse thing was the sliding doors onto the balcony. They had been bust open at one time and never repaired, therefore we couldn't lock them. I reported this to Reception and was met with the reply "Yes,so? Is it causing you a problem?" So steer well away from this place...the photos on the website are VERY misleading!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Imagine two rooms with broken chairs, dirty showers and shower curtains. Imagine a plastic toilet seat cracked down the middle. Imagine a broken elevator. Imagine a bathroom in the dark of night with a broken ceiling fixture and, thus, NO LIGHT for which the "solution" is to be handed - get this - A FLASHLIGHT!!!! and being informed that "this is not a 5 star hotel".

You would be better off sleeping on the beach which is right across the street. Stay away from this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Affordable hotel right on the beach. Perfect! Who would have though it is possible to combine city + beach vacation like this! When in Tel Aviv staying near the beach is a must to get the best of the city. Just think sea view room in a major city! Very nice hotel too even thou not one of the fancy ones.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Except of the nice location directly at Tel Aviv beach, this hotel has left a pretty bad impression with me: A tiny room with worn off furniture, a big fridge with mold inside, a bathroom that would need serious repairs, towels with holes and spots, and a cup with a plastic bag saying "Sterilised for you" for cleaning your teeth ... but filled with half a centimeter of milky liquid with hair swimming inside. The staff is neither very friendly nor competent, and the WiFi quality is very bad.

Next time in TLV, I will avoid this location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach

Address: 56 Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.