We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Hotel & Lounge

Alma Hotel & Lounge
23 Yavne Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
3 6308777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #434 of 1,106 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I eat at Roshfeld's restaurants ever since he owned that tiny Cafe... First time I'm disappointed from him. We went two couples and we each ordered different dishes. Except for the complementary shot of soup at the start nothing was really mind blowing. Everything was "OK" but no more than that. For the price we paid, it was certainly a rip off. The place is crowded and tiny, not so nice to sit. The service was v-e-r-y slow, and the none of the courses were served to all of us together - for the main course I got mine 10 minutes before my wife...
You can do much better for this price!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food, great atmosphere. one of the best chefs in Israel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent bar service, fine food and great atmosphere, all part of a great evening at this Chef's restaurant. Jonathan Roshfeld is definitely one of the best and most appreciated Chefs in Israel and this restaurant elevates the food quality with great Alcohol choice and great hotel bar atmosphere.
My wife and I really enjoyed it and we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like it, I'll be back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I went to Alma restaurant for a dinner and enjoyed it very much! From a nice selection we had a good salad and a unique style beef carpaccio, then two scallops gently seared and full of flavors. Main dish for her was a tasteful fish (Drum fish) fillet and mine was an 8 ounces sirloin steak, medium rear - we both loved it. There was some desserts too with coffee and tea to make an enjoyable closure for the whole dinner.
Service was very attentive, responsive and quick to our requests.
It isn't cheap in Alma but not terribly expensive and we felt we got our money right.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“no doubt, one of the best in tel aviv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

the small but expresive lounge of the Alma botique hotel offers great and creative dinners. we had a full menu, prepared for a couple, and enjoyed every plate. service is professional and friendly. really great experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raanana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Insulted and ashamed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

If you think to go to Alma for the brunch don't make this mistake.We ate there three weeks ago and felt a big shame .The service was of the low level you can imagine and specially for a place that charge 90 shekels (26 Usd) for an "Basque Omelette" - very neutral,with a small salad -quite good,not drained orange juice-insulting and coffee that was returned as the waitress didn't listen to our demands .As an Israeli that eat a lot in restaurants all over the world and the country I know that the breakfasts of Israel are among the best of the world and because of that I felt offended and ashamed .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma Hotel & Lounge also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Alma Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Hotel & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.