We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eng Su - CLOSED

Eng Su
Rehov Bugrashov 34, Tel Aviv, Israel
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean
Restaurant details
1 review
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The food here is delicious. Also very affordable. The owner of the restaurant is awesome, a very nice guy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome find! Unique style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I thought my friend was crazy. We're from Vancouver, and we're going to eat Chinese in Tel Aviv??? But Eng Su, the Singaporean chef, has been around the world and knows what he's doing. He's created a cool, fusion style, with friendly staff (like most of Tel Aviv) and most importantly, incredibly creative high quality food. Try the Cantonese Fish; I have not had better in Vancouver, Hong Kong, Shen Zhen, or anywhere else in China where I've eaten it. And unlike most Chinese places (actually more like "Asian Fusion"), Eng Su's makes awesome creative cocktails too, and stocks lots of great alcohol.

And the music tracks are hip too.

I'll be back, every time I come to Tel Aviv.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“About time that Tel Aviv had some really good fresh light damn tasty Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. As a resident of Tel Aviv for over 6 years and from an Indian family, I am so happy that Eng Su has made this place happen. The food is excellent and the desserts a real treat. Different from anywhere in TA and better than many places in London, let alone Tel Aviv. If you get lucky you'll have the pleasure of sitting over a drink with the man himself. Very tasty and enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian food in the heart of Tel Aviv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to try something new. We found this restaurant while walking down Bugrashov. We never heard of it before, nor have either of us had Singaporean food, which sparked our interest. We decided to give it a shot and were very pleasantly surprised!
We ordered two meals, the rendang curry and the Cantonese fish. The fish was remarkable. It was succulent and tender on the inside and crispy on the outside. The sauce was terrific, especially when complimented by the garnish. This was by far one of the best fish meals we have had. The curry we could hardly finish because both dishes were quite large, but it too was wonderful - great smooth texture with a spicy bite.
The staff was very pleasant and professional. But the head chef and owner, Eng Su, was the highlight of the evening. Aside from making terrific food, he was tremendously nice and welcoming. We spent some time after dinner chatting about Singapore, his menu, his culinary philosophy, and his rather interesting biography. It made our night out very special.
We highly recommend visiting Eng Su. Try the fish! (And don't skip on the deserts.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AN ABSOLUTE MUST TRY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon first impression- it looks phenomenol. Friendly staff, trendy location, exciting atmosphere and packed. My brother and mom were a little skeptical to go here because they aren't really crazy about Asian food but with their first bite, their opinions were completely changed. We started with the papaya salad which totally blew my mind. Every texture and flavor was considered with this dish and we are huge fans of spice- this was a perfect way to awaken our taste buds. We ordered the fish curry special, jumbo shrimp with glass noodles, fried rice, chicken satay, and the thin crispy crepe- hold the pork. To finish, we enjoyed the rich but light coconut ice cream dessert. Hands down the best ive ever had. It was the texture of soft serve and it was very sweet but it was paired with a fresh gooseberry sauce and toasted coconut. It was a perfectly balanced and a flawlessly flavored meal start to finish. Our waitress was extremely helpful and attentive. The Singapore native owner, who is also the head chef was classically trained in NYC and was inspired to open a restaurant with authentic recipes that he ate as a child cooked by his mother, grandmother, ect. He came
To our table and talked to us for a while, he is such a kind and lovable person! We finished with a shot of whiskey and I left over joyed at both his kindness and the true authenticity of his traditional Singaporean dishes. Who knew tel aviv had such mindblowing Asian food. This place is a must try!!! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eng Su also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eng Su, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.