We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, private rooms not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Overstay TLV Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Overstay TLV Hostel to your Saves list
Overstay TLV Hostel
47 Derech Ben Tsvi st, Tel Aviv 68103, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average, private rooms not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Heavy suitcases not recommended. Quite a long walk from the Central bus station.

Private rooms were not worth the money. I stayed at a double room (without air conditioning) - the room was very small... After placing our 2 luggages inside the room, we had no where to stand we had to jump straight onto the bed if we want to enter the room...(We also had to put the standing fan on top of the table in order to have space to fit our luggages)

The showers were very clean though!

Perhaps more suitable for travellers who are looking for a community or to mingle with other travellers. The hostel is in a rundown industrial area so it is quiet. Not too close to any beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Owner at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
All true, the only private room without ac is also the cheapest in town. less than a dormitory in the city center, we have many spacious AC rooms for 10euros more. Thanks for taking the time to write a very accurate and respectful review. True, this hostel is about chilling out and hanging out in the common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
10
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

During our study trip, we stayed at Overstay TLV for 3 nights. The location was convenient, Omar was very helpful and even arranged a super nice barbecue on the amazing rooftop on our last night. And the price was just as good (especially in comparison with other hostels). We stayed in the green room, on 40 mattresses on the floor. It seemed like one big sleepover and was a lot of fun. The rooftop really makes the hostel, as it is a unique place to meet new people or just to chill out for a bit. The showers were surprisingly good and the toilets were clean too. I would highly recommend this place for groups. I haven't seen the dormitories so can't really say anything about them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Owner at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
jjjj... yah, we have fun hosting you guys, had you come in summer time we'd put you in our big roof top tent. that would have been one massive pajamas party. come again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had a nice time staying here, it's really nice to chill on the rooftop but the overall service is a bit lacking. There's a LOT (/mostly) of volunteers working there and quite often they'd be quite unfriendly or unhelpful. Stayed in a few different rooms and some of 'em don't get quiet until after 2 - 3 am because of the distance to reception (where the volunteers will happily play music all night long) or rooftop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Owner at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Sorry to hear about that, true we take a big crew of young lively volunteers and sometimes they feel too much at home. we will take your commend and find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Funky and fun. Loved the good vibes-- as a California native, I felt right at home. Really rad and unique space. Lots of great options for backpackers and penny pinchers like getting your bed for free for the night if you do some heavy lifting. However, it is definitely out of the way from Tel Aviv center attractions. It's a short walk from Old Jaffa. Definitely recommend renting a bike. The six bed dorm was unbearably hot, to the point that two fans wasn't enough. I don't know what the qualifications are for working reception, but no one at the desk was very professional, and some didn't even know Hebrew and only broken English. I would recommend it, but I don't think I would stay here again compared to some of the other youth hostels I've stayed at near TLV center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Owner at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Sorry to hear about that, true we take a big crew of young lively volunteers and sometimes they feel too much at home. we will take your commend and find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hostel is an absolute gem! Super funky, its located inside of a renovated textile mill! The space has tons of character, just like the people who run it! Covered in street art and murals, and filled with cheep bears and comfortable couches, Overstay is the PERFECT place to make your home while exploring Old Jaffa (Hands down the COOLEST, most artistic, alternative, and lively neighborhood in all of Tel Aviv; complete with famous flea market, beautiful historical Old Jaffa Port, and the legendary beach front just a few minutes walk away!). Although a bit hard to find at first, this hidden treasure is worth seeking out, be you a lone female traveler, or a group of fellas out on the town. It provides a safe home base for all sorts, with a staff that looks out for you like you are one of them, and facilities that you can make your own. Its a haven for free spirits, and a wonderful new addition to the hostel community!

Room Tip: Go for one of the privates! The beds are super comfortable, and you can spread out like a tired star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Owner at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
shame on you, you were not just a guest, but also volunteer here. you cant write a review ! but, i must admit it all rings true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Although Overstay is still kinda new, I've already stayed here twice and both times it has been absolutely amazing. I've tried other hostels in the same area but this has been the best without a doubt. It's easy to meet people here and the gigantic but cozy roof top is a great place to hang out and drink the cheap beer the hostel has to offer (only 15 shekels). Staff have the inside scoop on everything from partying to the best cafés in the area. The hostel is close to old jaffa, the flea market and florentine. If you want to go somewhere that's a bit further they have bike rentals for a small amount per day and it makes everything so much easier. Met so many amazing people here, really one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I found that overstay is a really unique hostel that I have been to. I stayed here for one month and in fashion with the name I truly “Overstayed”. I would recommend anyone coming to Tel Aviv to stay here, there is always loads of things going on in the hostel from dinners n bbq nights to heading out for the night with people in the hostel. The staff are very helpful in guiding you around town to helping you with whatever you need. The hostel is newly re done and the facilities I found were great. Probably the best part for me is the rooftop, a big space to chill out on and meet everyone in the hostel. I met wonderful people here and had such a fantastic experience. Go an experience a nice overstay ☺

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overstay TLV Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstay TLV Hostel

Address: 47 Derech Ben Tsvi st, Tel Aviv 68103, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overstay is a fun hostel for laid back people. We built it ourselves and keep working on it so no "American standards" here.Age restriction 18<45 its for everyone's happiness. And its a tourist only hostel (=passport+visa is a must). Groups over 10 people should coordinate with management ) Payment in ILS(cash) or credit card ( +3%, no Amex ) Rooftop accommodation available, We are 5-10 minutes from the coolest zones as we see it. Old Jaffa, Flea Market,Jaffa Port and night life area. Hipster Florentine full or bars and clubs. We provide because we like our guests: Free WI-fi.Free Parking. Free toast&spread breakfast. Free computer use. Free coffee/tea. 5Euro/day bike rental. Camping gear rental. Swimming pool(summertime) .Roof top Bar and court yard chillout. Free Shisha night, BBQ on tuesday, shabbat dinner on Friday, movie nights, alternative hebrew lessons, PARTY!. The Overstay is basically a massive concrete ship sailing an industrial island . A former textile factory located just off the border between the founding neighborhoods of Tel Aviv and the Old city of Jaffa, Inside the Overstay is all wooden floors and renovated rooms, dorm and privates. Outside a furnished shaded roof top lounge and yard is street art designed in constant progress with the occasional party taking place . Bathrooms and showers are all new and shared.We have plenty of free parking for cars and bikes.Free walking tour of Jaffa. Basic breakfast is served every morning, we have a furnished kitchen at your disposal and we sell cheap beers and soda. Basically all you need to feel at home and crash after a day or night out in the city.We aim to provide you a home-base from which you can go out and explore the city walking or on our bikes, or just retreat back to upon returning from the countryside,the beach or a night out in the city. Its just 7 minutes walk to the exotic Jaffa Old City and Flea-Market, paved with cafe's and souvenirs at day time, turns into a bustling night life district after sunset. 10 Minutes walk north to Florentin hood, the street art decorated "East Village" of Tel aviv, home for students and artist studios, bustling with clubs and bars at night. The Mediterranean beach is 15 minutes walk to, but renting our 5euro/day bicycles you can make it in less then 5 minutes along the bicycle lane just out our front door. Accommodation Information Notice!We have an age restriction of 18<45.Your children are welcome ( no little ones in the dormitories ).No smoking inside the building.There is always someone at the reception or around. Use of Sleeping bags is forbidden in this hostels, will get you kicked out without refund. Cancellation is free till 24 hours before arrival date, after that it carry a charge of first night. Check out 11:00. You can store luggage till night time, and even stick around till 15:00 but if you intend to wait for you flight here/shower/use internet/kitchen - you will be asked to leave or pay 25nis and you are welcome here till midnight. After that it counts as another night. The Overstay reserves the right to turn away any guest that misbehaves and disrespects other, or just stink. So , if this works for you come overstay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Overstay TLV Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overstay TLV Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.