We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place that I've been back to three times.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overstay TLV Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Overstay TLV Hostel to your Saves list
Overstay TLV Hostel
47 Derech Ben Tsvi st, Tel Aviv 68103, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place that I've been back to three times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great place to stay in Tel Aviv! I've been to other hostels in central TA but this is the best one I've stayed at. The first time me and my travel buddy came here we were welcomed with open arms by great owners and staff, (always great volunteers here, has been every time we have been back, a great mix of all kind of personalities and backgrounds) The owners are sweet, cool caring guys that have worked hard with this place and are constantly working to improve. The rooftop is awesome all year around, great view and the place to sit and chill with the volunteers and other guest, just grab a beer for 15 nis (cheapest in TA) and have a seat, you will have a great evening.
Overstay is really close to the center of Jaffa (about 5 min walk) which is the oldest part of Tel Aviv. The restaurant, bars and the flee-market are AWESOME with great vibes.
I definitely recommend this place to all of you that enjoy the proper backpacking, want to meet interesting people in a sweet, laid back environment!
Enjoy overstay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
10
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fairly basic and noisy. We didn't stay in any other hostels in Tel Aviv so this is not a comparison to any others. The location is great in that it's a short walk to Jafa, it's bad in that it's in a very industrial area with not much just outside the gate. Bike rental on premises and cheap was very convenient. I think this would be a much better hostel in the warmer weather, they have a decent rooftop deck and patio.

Room Tip: Always get a bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The somewhat outside location from the center of Tel Aviv is fairly compensated by the price per night which saved us the money for occasionally using a cab after going out at night. Also, during the days we took the chance to discover Yafo with its delightful cafes, restaurants, galleries, markets etc. which are all in walking distances of about 10 to 20 minutes, unlike from other hostels in Tel Aviv.
The hostel offers a lot of space with a wide yard after the gate and a huge rooftop terrace as well as a big kitchen and the large "green room" in the basement. All the space is every now and then being filled with life, there are movie nights, parties, speed dating, and a quite inexpensive Shabbat dinner every friday open to everybody with a good choice of food (delicious baba ganoush!) and a swift introduction to the short ceremony.
The wifi sometimes performed weakly and the common areas were sometimes a bit messy, but anything bothered us we could easily turn to the receptionists who always took great care of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel was fine but nothing special. The price was right though, and they had bicycles to rent, which was very convenient. You can easily and safely ride all over Tel Aviv and I would recommend this as a great way to get around.
Breakfast was simply bread, peanut butter and jam but they did organize a fantastic Sabat(?) dinner on the Friday night. That was a lot of fun and very inexpensive.
The hostel is in a weird industrial complex and it is confusing when you are first looking for the way in. It is a metal door far to the right side of the property.
There is a walled in yard and a roof-top where you can relax or even sleep in the nice weather.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a 'good room'. Just hope that it isn't too crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

So we booked our stay a few days in advance. We took a private room as it was the final night of our romantic holiday together. The reason we chose this place was because it was the closest to the airport and we were not willing to spend too much money as we had to get up at 4.30AM to get to catch our plane.

When we got there: overbooked. They had no place for us at the hostel and after we said we expected a room, she reluctantly made a couple of phone calls to other hostels. In the end she said we could sleep in the so-called 'Green Room'. Basically this is in the basement, with a ton of couches and we could 'crash' on yoga mats if we'd like. As it was late and we had to get up early we didn't really have other options so we decided to stay. Then she said that we had to still pay a small amount, which, even though it was so little, seemed inappropriate as the hostel already cheated us out of a romantic last night and made a mistake themselves.

So in the end we made our yogabeds in one corner of the room. More people started pouring in, as their administration is so messed-up. One of the 'volunteers', a short American guy with a beard (whom we called the hippie-devil), tried to put another bed right beside ours, as in.. bordering our 'beds', even though the rest of the room was still empty. He told us this was because this 'green room' was a community space, and as such had to be available until 1 AM to 'chill' and therefore the beds had to be in the back.

Luckily we managed to move the bed to the middle of the room and turned off the lights to sleep. Then, even though several people were there just to sleep, this American dude came in about 5 times, turning on all the lights, and waking everybody up, because it was a 'community space'. As if anybody would feel comfortable chilling and chatting with +/- 10 people sleeping in the same room, let alone that there was plenty of space to 'chill' upstairs. Eventually the guy was kicked out by another guest, but it was very annoying, rude and unfriendly.

When we got up to go to the airport, we tried to exit with our bags through the closest door. This door turned out to be locked. If there had been a fire, we would all have died like rats. My boyfriend got up to the reception to get the key, and there the hippie devil was... refusing to give us the key! Holding us hostage in the hostel. After my boyfriend threatened to wake up the whole hostel he finally gave us the key, but made us late for the airport in the meantime.

As for the other facilities, the beer is expensive at 15 NIS, and the showers are a horror scene, filled with hair and feces.... we didn't dare to shower..

The location only works if you have a car to drive to the center, and its a short ride if you do. if you walk you will feel unsafe (so no-go for girls alone) and tired by the time you get to the beach/strip.

I will never go here again and called the hostel that gave me the flyer of this hostel to throw out all their flyers and never send their guests here again! At least they were nice enough to apologize for the recommendation. A decency the overstay misses completely! DO NOT GO HERE EVER!

Room Tip: Just don't book here! Even if you choose a room, they overbook it and you may end up in the Gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Manager at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
So so sad to hear your story. we interrogated the receptionist and your "hippie devil" (our night shift guy ) , Apparently we had no reservation for you guys. probably our fault in some way. as a rule we never overbook. and for that we are really sorry. regarding the rest of your review, most of it is somewhere between exaggeration and fiction, but this only shows us how unhappy a guest you were.
Mattresses were provided. in no point you were promised to have whole green room to yourselves, as it is a common room. The back door is locked during the night for your safety. the front door is open 24/7. beer is the cheapest in tel aviv. and the showers are cleaned regularly, never were there feces in them. the surrounding area is quiet at night but perfectly safe, and the beach is 10 minutes walk.
again im sorry for that, training new staff takes time, but if it makes you feel better the hippie devil ( which is as red-neck as can be ) is going to lose his position for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good common areas, hot showers/shared bathroom. Average dorm (no towel), kitchen, wifi. Incredibly basic breakfast of slices of toast, most of the bikes were broken and I wasn't able to rent one, and they refused to do my laundry b/c they were too backed up (they air dry everything on the roof) and sent me to a self serve where I was forced to kill one of my mornings doing laundry. Worst of all, however, is the location of this place. It is an annoyingly long walk to basically anywhere!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstay TLV H, Manager at Overstay TLV Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for the kind words you open with, a pity in the end you still gave us such bad rating. i remember clearly informing you that the washing machine broke that morning, if we were a 5star hotel i would have offered to send it to cleaning on my expanse, but come one man, its a backpackers hostel prices here... and im sad to hear your view about the location, WE LOVE IT. we think its close to everything that matters, just not to the tourist traps of hayarkon street. Again, i remember recommending you to check out old jaffa and the flee market and some good hummus places. mayb next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hostel itself was outstanding. There were a dozen different nationalities under one roof, the staff was generally accommodating, and the place bred a very fraternal atmosphere that made it very easy to commiserate with the other guests. I did not mind—actually even enjoyed—the relatively spartan breakfast of bread, peanut butter, and nutella; routinely availed myself of the free coffee and tea; and appreciated the cheap and plentiful beer. You wash your own dishes and clean up your own messes. The place is populated by an interesting and diverse array of global hipsters, which I loved. I didn't have a problem with noise or rowdiness as some others did, but living with nine other people near the reception area might not be for everyone.

However, the hostel's location is horrendous and is probably why the accommodations only cost about $15 per night. The Overstay is isolated on the flank of Tel Aviv and visiting any place of note necessitates a 30-minute walk. Rent one of their $3-a-day bicycles if you can, but you must return the bike by 8 p.m. and thus must find your own way around a mazy city at night or when cycling is impractical. I'd pay a little more money to stay in a place that is at least remotely centrally located, although the Overstay is somewhat near the old city of Jaffa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overstay TLV Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstay TLV Hostel

Address: 47 Derech Ben Tsvi st, Tel Aviv 68103, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overstay is a fun hostel for laid back people. We built it ourselves and keep working on it so no "American standards" here.Age restriction 18<45 its for everyone's happiness. And its a tourist only hostel (=passport+visa is a must). Groups over 10 people should coordinate with management ) Payment in ILS(cash) or credit card ( +3%, no Amex ) Rooftop accommodation available, We are 5-10 minutes from the coolest zones as we see it. Old Jaffa, Flea Market,Jaffa Port and night life area. Hipster Florentine full or bars and clubs. We provide because we like our guests: Free WI-fi.Free Parking. Free toast&spread breakfast. Free computer use. Free coffee/tea. 5Euro/day bike rental. Camping gear rental. Swimming pool(summertime) .Roof top Bar and court yard chillout. Free Shisha night, BBQ on tuesday, shabbat dinner on Friday, movie nights, alternative hebrew lessons, PARTY!. The Overstay is basically a massive concrete ship sailing an industrial island . A former textile factory located just off the border between the founding neighborhoods of Tel Aviv and the Old city of Jaffa, Inside the Overstay is all wooden floors and renovated rooms, dorm and privates. Outside a furnished shaded roof top lounge and yard is street art designed in constant progress with the occasional party taking place . Bathrooms and showers are all new and shared.We have plenty of free parking for cars and bikes.Free walking tour of Jaffa. Basic breakfast is served every morning, we have a furnished kitchen at your disposal and we sell cheap beers and soda. Basically all you need to feel at home and crash after a day or night out in the city.We aim to provide you a home-base from which you can go out and explore the city walking or on our bikes, or just retreat back to upon returning from the countryside,the beach or a night out in the city. Its just 7 minutes walk to the exotic Jaffa Old City and Flea-Market, paved with cafe's and souvenirs at day time, turns into a bustling night life district after sunset. 10 Minutes walk north to Florentin hood, the street art decorated "East Village" of Tel aviv, home for students and artist studios, bustling with clubs and bars at night. The Mediterranean beach is 15 minutes walk to, but renting our 5euro/day bicycles you can make it in less then 5 minutes along the bicycle lane just out our front door. Accommodation Information Notice!We have an age restriction of 18<45.Your children are welcome ( no little ones in the dormitories ).No smoking inside the building.There is always someone at the reception or around. Use of Sleeping bags is forbidden in this hostels, will get you kicked out without refund. Cancellation is free till 24 hours before arrival date, after that it carry a charge of first night. Check out 11:00. You can store luggage till night time, and even stick around till 15:00 but if you intend to wait for you flight here/shower/use internet/kitchen - you will be asked to leave or pay 25nis and you are welcome here till midnight. After that it counts as another night. The Overstay reserves the right to turn away any guest that misbehaves and disrespects other, or just stink. So , if this works for you come overstay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Overstay TLV Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overstay TLV Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.