We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing food, but lovely place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rothschild Hotel Restaurant

The Rothschild Hotel Restaurant
Rothschild Boulevard 96 | Rothschild Hotel, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 3-957-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,054 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Rothschild Hotel restaurant is an intimate, modern and meticulously set venue that specializes in fish, sea-food and vegetarian dishes of the highest quality. The restaurant uses daily delivered, fresh, local bio ingredients, some native to this land and others adopted and cultivated with the founding of Israel. We call it "a Zionist cuisine with a French accent". Our "Good Morning" breakfasts are a great way to start your day. Our lunch, business lunch and dinner menu feature unforgettable dishes, all about top gastronomic experience. All this is conjured up by our outstanding Chef. The wine menu, as a homage to the known philanthropist, Baron Edmond de Rothschild, focuses on local and not necessarily usual wines. The restaurant's chef, Tzvi Avisar, studied at Hofmann cooking school in Barcelona where he graduated with honors. He later worked at Michelin star restaurants in Barcelona such as Lasarte and Drolma and was also a sue-chef in Nectari, which also has a Michelin star.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, but lovely place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The decor is stunning, the ambience great, the waitress was incredibly friendly and helpful - sadly the food let us down. The yogurt, croissant and coffee were excellent but when we tried the more substantial dishes they were poor. We had to return the Octopus Flambe - we both enjoy spicy food and eat it regularly - even we could not eat this dish - it seemed as if the chef had simply drowned the octopus and potatoes in chilli. The Nicoise salad had overcooked chunks of Tuna in it and fried potatoes, not appetising (all it needed was some slightly seared tuna and boiled potatoes and it would have been great), the onion quiche was mainly pastry - we left half of it. Overall disappointing, although if we had just gone for a coffee and croissant it would have been great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    13
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kibbutz Tzuba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ate at the Rothschild restaurant with our daughter and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
The atmosphere was relaxed, the waiter was attentive, the food was beautifully presented and delicious.
I honestly feel that we have come upon a true gem and can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast we had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Rothschild's restaurant is a wonderful chef restaurant with amazing food and attentive service. Without a doubt the best breakfast we ate!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Abysmal Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I cannot for the life of me understand the good reviews this restaurant is getting. Four of us ate there in the last week of March, 2014. We ordered a variety of dishes. ALL WERE AWFUL. I have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the world; including my home town of NYC. This restaurants makes an attempt to be a gourmet fish restaurant but is sorely misses. The service was polite, but the staff and/or chef were very unaccomodating in fulfilling simple requests such as serving gnocchi plain for a child who did not wish to have the broth or sauce the gnocchi normally comes with.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reason to leave home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

So often when we eat at a restaurant I finish the meal with a feeling that we should have eaten at home. The menus tend to repeat themselves as does the food.
Last night we ate at the Rothschild restaurant and I discovered a good reason to leave home and eat out!
We were seated in a friendly and quietly elegant setting, the menu was original and varied, the waiter was generous with his knowledge and the food was both beautifully plated and delicious.
We had the opportunity to share our opinion with the chef, Tzvika who greeted us.
This establishment is one where I will return and bring my friends - it was a wonderful night out.
p.s. Even the w.c. was beautifully designed and reflects the attention to every detail.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rothschild Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to The Rothschild Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rothschild Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.