We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Lilly

Tiger Lilly
32 Habarzel Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 1,054 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we had very nice lunch in Tiger Lilly!
first when you enter; the design of the restaurant gives a feeling of a street in Thailand.
I guess we arrived after the peak of lunchtime so we enjoyed a quiet meal.
We had the papaya salad, which is often met in the Thai restaurants and it was lovely.
for main course we had stir-fried vegetables with rice noodles and tofu.
all was tasty and service was good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“There's a reason...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There's a reason why this very popular and in fashion restaurant is packed and the surrounding ones are not. We went mid week and had to book 10 days in advance and still could only get a table at 19:00 until 21:30.
The service was with a smile and the food was delicious.
I and my friend had the spicier beef curry, my wife a chicken dish and her friend a vegetarian option. The portions are generous and everyone agreed that the food was flavoured just right.
The dessert selection is a bit disappointing, especially if you are not fond of coconut, which seems to be in everything. (We skipped dessert and had a yoghurt in the excellent outlet nearby.
Check that the prices on the English menu are correct as we were charged more and the waitress did not warn us that the English menus had not yet been updated, although the manageress did apologise and assured us that the new ones were at the printers!
Worth a visit for the great food and bustling atmosphere but make sure you make a reservation.
We will go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, service needs improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Design is amazing! A lot was put on it! We were greeted with smiles at the entrance. We came to celebrate a birthday with huge helium balloons. We were seated right at the entrance and in a passage and the person seating there was pushed by the staff all the time. We ordered some entrée dishes and some main courses, and specifically asked to get the children's meal first.
It took a long while for the entrées to arrive and still not children meal. We pointed out to a waitress and she went to check. After finishing (the good) entrées we sat waiting for the main courses. Spareribs and three different kinds of pad thai.
And the children's meal arrived!
Tables around us were seated, eated, and gone... And we were waiting...
When asked the waiter (a guy this time) said that the spareribs takes a little longer to make, so...
When the dishes arrived it didn't feel as if the delay was due to the making process of the dishes. The felt warm, but not as if they just left the frying pan. The chicken pad Thai was dresses with a little too much souce and the beef pad was good. The spareribs were great!
For desert we ordered banana lotty and a warm chocolate cake (all with types of coconut) and it was delicious!
The place is great and will be remembered as such even though the service needs improvement. We will return, I guess.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food, adapted to non-Thais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a family dinner there in September 2013.
The restaurant is very nicely designed, an open space with a few separations.
As we recently came back from Thailand, the food listed in the menu seemed like something you can really order in a restaurant in Thailand.
The portions we ordered came quite fast, and were very tasty. One cannot compare their spiciness to the original Thai portions, but then again - they have to make *some* adaptation to the Israeli (or the non-Thai, to be precise) taste.
The price, considering the food quality and the whole experience, is quite good.
We would also mention the great deserts we had - mango sticky rice and banana loti, which were both very good.

All in all, definitely a place worth visiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Thai food. Lunch deal not good enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We went for a short business lunch. I had beef in carry, coconut and penuts. It was delicious. My friend had fried chicken of some kind. He wasn't that enthusiastic about it. There is no business lunch menu, only 10% off the dinner menu. It makes it reasonably prices for dinner, but on the expensive side for lunch. I will take my wife for dinner here sometime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Lilly also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Tiger Lilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Lilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.