We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out of the sun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Israel Defense Forces History Museum

Israel Defense Forces History Museum
Tel Aviv Promenade | Corner of Yehezkiel Kaufman str. and Ha-Mered str., Tel Aviv, Israel
972-3-5172913
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 103 Attractions in Tel Aviv
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day out of the sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great museum, not big and not small, many hangars with different ammunition, equipment, uniforms.
Separate outdoor display for support vehicles and old tanks. Was surprised to see Russian-made equipment.
Huge amount of guns, handguns, machine guns to look at. Every man't dream.))

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Military history from Israel's beginning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The museum is definitely hands-on as you walk through buildings and past equipment outdoors. What I appreciated the most was learning the early history from the 1930s and 1940s when Israel had little support from other countries and had to develop its own technology. Yes, the main information is available in English and much of the details is only in Hebrew, but you are visiting Israel. Remember to have your passport with you. Without it, you may not be able to get in. And the entrance faces the west and is near the entrance to the train station place next door, Hatachana.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“IDF military museum ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Definitely do not follow the directions that link in to the Trip Advisor site - we got directed far away and we were busing there - a 90 NIS ride in a taxi to get back on track !! And no one spoke English where we were either

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigswinter, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must See for Military Enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Museum ist just next to the old Jaffa railway station the Hatachana. The museum is structured into different numbered stations. Some of them pavillons on a special topic of the Israeli Army others outdoor collections of guns or armoured vehicles. I found very interesting the pavillon on famous Israely Army commanders, as you will find a lot of well known politicians there like Ariel Sharon, Moshe Dayan,... Also great the collection of captured tanks.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“IDF History With Excellent Hands-On Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Located in south Tel-Aviv, just before Jaffa, the IDF History Museum is a very good choice to visit. The museum is an indoor / outdoor complex housing many military vehicle, weapons and artifacts. It is a very hands-on experience as you are able to see and touch just about everything. Younger kids will no doubt enjoy climbing on tanks, artillery and armored personel carriers. Excellent photo opportunities.

The museum is divided by about 13 pavilions, by subject. For example, one Pavillion is dedicated to weapons made and imported during the War of Independence; another for weapons captured from terrorists; tanks, artillery and armored vehicles. There are also pavilions like the one dedicated to the Ministers of Defence during Israel's history; engineering corps; IDF brigades and so on.

The exhibits are well marked, and most of them have English descriptions. The museum is designed to stroll through at your own pace, and you can focus on any pavilion or exhibit in detail or get the general sense of things in others, as you see fit. There were a lot of exhibits to study, pleasing any military history enthusiast. I would budget about 2 hours.

I would definitely recommend this museum to anyone visiting Tel-Aviv.

It is part of a multi military museum circuit, that you can purchase a one price pass that will also include some other military history museums in Tel-Aviv. Since we visited virtually all of the museums on the pass, it was a good value for us. The pass is available at the ticket window of this and the other museums on the circuit.

I feel compelled to mention as a service to readers, to not follow the directions suggested by Google Maps. We wasted some time being directed through the scruffy neighborhoods behind the museum. The entrance is off the parking lot facing the mediterranean coast, accessible via Kauffmann Blvd. You will avoid our time wasting and frustration, and get straight to the museum :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Israel Defense Forces History Museum also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Israel Defense Forces History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Israel Defense Forces History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.