We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ben Yehuda 38, Tel Aviv 63807, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The central hotel lacks curb appeal but don't let that put you off! My single room was small but perfectly formed, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was incredible, less than 5min walk from the beach. The room was very nicely furnished with quality bedding and some quirky touches that made it feel like home. The only downside was the road noise, but I found it easy enough to sleep. I would recommend this hotel to young people who want to experience tel aviv in comfort but on a bit of a budget. I would certainly come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
4
31
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really like the design aesthetic of the Central Hotel. The room we had was a bit on the smaller side but it had a mini-fridge and a hot-water heater. We LOVED the bed. It was huge and it felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. So comfortable. All of the staff we interacted with was super friendly and helpful. They helped us figure out bus routes to all the attractions we wanted to see and helped us arrange a taxi to the airport. The location is near the beach and lots of restaurants, but you'll have to take a bus to see many of the major attractions Tel Aviv offers. We were glad to have free breakfast, but the selection was a bit inconsistent (like one day there will be fruit yogurt and the next, it'll seem to have run out) and no one really comes in to clean up the plates until breakfast is over, so the plates tend to pile up at tables or in the sink. Perhaps it was because we came during low season. Also, the bathroom is not attached to the room, it's a PART of the room separated with one frosted glass wall, with no vent that I could tell or lock on the door. So, whenever my husband and I spent a little too long in it (if you catch my drift), the smell would drift over into the rest of the room. If you're cool about bodily functions, it's totally fine. Otherwise, it can be a bit on the embarrassing side. We generally enjoyed our stay here and would definitely consider staying here again if we're in Tel Aviv in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The room was way too small and claustrophobic. It was noisy and the man at the reception was rather unfriendly. The good points were that they had managed to fit a lot into this cubbywhole, it was clean and the wi-fi was fast and for free.
I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I recently stayed at Central Hotel for 1 night. I am a 21 year old American who has stayed in hotels in Tiberias, Ein Gedi, Haifa and Jerusalem and I can definitely say that this hotel is good quality. The pictures online make the hotel look appealing, but in person, the hotel is much much more. I was surprise and delighted by the firmness of the bed, the size of the bathtub and the variety of food served at breakfast. I have honestly never had the option of deciding between bath and shower at hotels or bed and breakfasts in Israel. Honestly, a bath can make all the difference sometimes. At breakfast, guests have the option of sitting by the buffet or on the outside patio. I paid something between 60-75 USD (around 270 NIS) and I definitely got more than what I paid for. Then, in terms of location, it is right by the beach, near various restaurants and malls and only 3 kilometers from Old Jaffa. Lastly, the owner always made sure to provide advice, directions or suggestions and he was therefore very helpful. I would return to Central Hotel and I urge others to consider coming here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Cheap but not worth it's money. The bathroom was smelly and connected to the room so also the room was infected by the smell. There are much greater places to stay for the same price! We travelled around all Israel and this was by far our worst experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanelcom, Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing us again and for sharing your experience of your stay with us.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a hotel that takes pride in providing a great guest experience, we do not take your comments lightly. we take our guests and strive to surprise and pamper them each stay with us. Unfortunately, this time we did not succeed and apologize for this.

Please note that there is nothing more important to us than our hotel guests and and due to our guests feedback, as well as yours,.

We truly hope to welcome you back in order to offer you an amazing stay as we know we can provide and to change the impression left in your last stay.

Thank you and kind regards,
Netanel Cohen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel was lovely.the location no doubt is amazing,it is close to everything 5-20 minute walk right in the center of Tel Aviv which can be a little be noisy from the street.
The room was a little small (comparison to many hotel's in USA) but cozy,clean and comfortable,all you need for a very good sleep.
Huge thank's for the staff for all the information.
Very affordable hotel for everyone.
Will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Reading the comments about this hotel prior to my trip, I was slightly worried but decided to book due to the lower price compared to other hotels. To my surprise, the hotel was really super nice, very clean, with a beautiful garden! The room was quite small, but to be honest, you dont need anything bigger. The staff is really nice and very helpful -reception opened 24/7. they arranged for our tours and called a taxi to the airport. All in all, totally worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanelcom, Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Chakica

Thank you for your kind and your lovely review :) love to assist you and talk with you.
you was more than a friend for us,really wish for you all the best in your life.
From all the staff you are welcome any time to stay with us

Thank you again
Central Hotel
Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Ben Yehuda 38, Tel Aviv 63807, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique choice where the natural context and our traditional hospitality form a magical, regenerating blend for body, mind and spirit. The strength of the sea and the virtues of the thermal waters, the sunny friendliness we show our guests, the impeccable service, which the Central Hotel has earned its undoubted prestige.Sleep well in our comfortable spacious rooms and suits designed Unique style down to the smallest details.Discover the TLV vibe by Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.