We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comprehensive museum in the centre of Tel Aviv” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum)

Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum)
2, Haim Levanon Street | Ramat Aviv, Tel Aviv 69975, Israel
(972) 3 641 5244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 274 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is comprised of several exhibition pavilions where each is dedicated to a different cultural field and subject including Archaeology, Judaica, Ethnography, Material Culture and Applied Arts of the Land of Israel.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Comprehensive museum in the centre of Tel Aviv”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On our first day in Tel Aviv we had some time in the afternoon and decided to visit the Eretz Israel Museum. The museum is centrally located and is easily reached by tax.

The museum has a number of very interesting pavilions including ceramics, postal history and the numismatic pavilion. There is also an archaeological excavation which one can visit charm of folklore pavilion and manage work centre which is extremely interesting showing metalwork, carpentry and a variety of other activities that the people are participating in the 2000 years ago.

We had only given ourselves about three hours to the museum and I would suggest that visitors allow themselves a full afternoon at the Museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    49
    19
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elderslie, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting with varied and well presented exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We really went here as it was a rainy day and I am glad we didn't miss it. All of the exhibits were interesting and well presented. And we were lucky to catch two interesting photo exhibitions. The cafe and shop are also worth a look

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This museum is often forgotten but holds wonderful collections of ancient glass and ancient ceramics along with a marvelous collection of ancient coins which bring history to life along with a pavillion devoted to beautiful silver ritual pieces along with other items from around the Jewish world. In addition there are archeological items and an informative area in which one can see how ancient Hebrews lived and worked. There's a planetarium on the grounds and often changing exhibitions of photography or contemporary jewellery or ceramics or glass.It is sort of a Pandora's box of surprising delights so it's worth the visit but be sure to check the schedule as the hours are somewhat limited. The museum shop is considered by many to be the best in Israel and has a great selection of items for sale. There's also a nice cafe on the grounds with a pleasant balcony on which to have a break.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“History and ethnography in an archeological setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

An eclectic collection that includes glass, jewellery, ceramics, stamps, and even a planetarium all on a partly dug archeological site. The permanent collection of holy-land Judaica is excellent. The complex is beautifully landscaped. The museum shop is the best museum shop in Israel and a perfect place to buy upscale, original gifts for friends and family back home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“If you have time - check it out!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This museum was not close for walking but once I was there I am glad I went. The staff was helpful and interesting to speak with about the exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum) also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.