We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum & Genealogy Research Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth)

Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth)
Klausner Street, Matiyahu Gate #2 | Tel Aviv University Campus, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 3646 2020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 117 attractions in Tel Aviv
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on the campus of Tel Aviv University, this museum chronicles the story of the Jewish people of Israel over the last 2,500 years.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum & Genealogy Research Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been to Israel more than 6 times but never visited this museum. Don't miss it! Beautiful, clear and interesting exhibits detailing Jewish communities worldwide. I loved the global models of synagogues from India to Poland and other exhibits. We spent at least an hour on the computers researching family names and villages in Europe that we'd heard about from our grandparents. Small, but nice museum gift shop on the first floor. We ate lunch nearby in one of the university cafeterias and were all pleased with our food and coffee. Very nice way to spend an afternoon for 3 adult siblings and our 92 year old father.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    71
    18
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Little has changed since I visited 25 years ago. The interactive displays don't work. Needs a facelift.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved the maquettes of mosks of the whole world, works of art. In addition, for those who like history, I recommend a visit to the Museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
367 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
922 helpful votes 922 helpful votes
“Plan on spending at least 3 hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent 3 hours at this comprehensive museum of the story of Jews all over the world, arriving at opening time, and I could have spent even more time, but my legs and back had reached my limit. The fact that this museum is located on the campus of Tel Aviv University is an added plus, since a stroll around the lively campus can be a fun way to spend an hour or so on a sunny day, either before or after visiting the museum. The museum itself has all kinds of displays, all with English interpretations, including old photos, maps and films, all of which I really love. By all means go. I took a taxi here from my hotel at the southerly end of the beach area and then leisurely walked back, all of which took nearly the entire day, with a stop along the way for a quick lunch. This way you walk downhill nearly the whole way back. Doing it in reverse (walking uphill) could be a killer for anyone over about 60. An excellent way to spend a day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum on Tel Aviv University Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent several hours exploring the myriad elements of their collection. Especially enjoyed the synagogue models. The only problem -- finding the museum! We were driving from central Tel Aviv and, even though we had a good map atlas and knew we were close by, it took an hour to get to the right security gate and parking lot. Signage to attractions in Israel leave a lot to be desired. Moral of the story: we probably should have taken a taxi. One added note: we ate lunch just down the hill at the Anina Italian Kitchen restaurant next to the Eretz Israel Museum. It was excellent and in a lovely setting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth) also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of the Jewish People (Bet Hatefutsoth) to your Saves list