We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel to your Saves list
Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is definitely good value for money and much cheaper than many others in the area with less attractive locations. The Olympia is situated on a quiet one way street and with only a very short walk from the most amazing beach EVER! A five minute walk in the opposite direction brings you to the shops and a bus stop, where you can easily get to the main bus and train stations for 6 ILS (less than 1,5 euro’s). The staff on the front desk were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
22
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

very dirty room which smelled like ashtray. I could not sleep because the elevator makes strange sounds and people next door keep slamming the door. Blankets are very old. TV never worked and no WI Fi in the room. On the last day I was charged twice as much for the room without any warnings from the management. Avoid this place! Had to ask for toilet paper which was not replaced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is to be avoided. On arrival, the receptionist informed me that the charge per night was more than that quoted; the lift had what sounded like a death rattle and was later put out of service; the curtains in the room were broken; the blanket on the bed looked as though it should long since have ben discarded; breakfast was mediocre.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is a Russian like structure, It has a good position really near the beach of the city. Rooms are little. Staff don't change bed sheets everyday, WI-FI is free, reliable and fast but only in the lobby, somewhere in the rooms of the first floor.
Breakfast is absolutely minimal : no croissants or cakes. There is the air conditioning, little noisy but working. The staff behaviour depends from the individuals : one that was wonderful, another was annoyed, others normal. It is good that they recognize you as customers so don't check every day if 'breakfast is included'
Cleaning is minimal, I found some hair in the bathroom,
For business could work if you have no other solutions, as European I consider price high compared the service , but this is typical of the country. Check always because the prices could be very different during the year and with the same price you can go in better hotels.

another was very oworks depending in the mood of the moment, one was butStaff is medimuis in line with thethe Israely, if they are in good mood could be wonderfule

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in first floor for Wi-Fi in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spend in this hotel 5 nights in total - 2 when we arrived and 3 on our return. In spite of this fact, didnt managed to get sea-view as "all rooms are occupied" (ours was booked by the agency providing tour packages 2 months in advance), both times got a view on a building next it (with about 5 metres in between).

Rooms are very outdated with little facilities (fridge, there is kettle but no tea, nothing apart from soap from toiletries, no hair dryer - it's seems there are only 1 or 2 at the reception because when I asked they didnt have any... Also asking twice I got the same one.) Often you notice some funny repairs (on the blanket for example). Upon arrival the room we got had also a hole from cigarette. The second room was somehow much better (bigger at least) but also had a bad stain on a bath. I don't know why but the air in the room seems to have constant moisture - clothes became kind of wet and slippers never dried.

Breakfast is OK, but more or less the same every day (salad, raw mushrooms, green peppers, diary products and cereal, bread, cheese, some pastry, would pay attention to good coffee machine!)

The only reason I'm giving 3 stars is because the reception lady was really helpful when we not picked up by the tour company - she contacted the agency and persuaded them to return. Another receptionist gave teas and sugar when we asked. Also the location near the beach is great.

Overall, it's ok for couple of days of stay, especially if a tour company booked it in a package, booking yourself I'd rather choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel was not great - not by any means. BUT, I LOVED the people who worked there, I loved the food - I felt safe and I would stay here again. I went to Israel as a young single woman to attend a wedding, I travelled alone and I walked everywhere and did so much. If you want to spend your money on shopping and not on a place you just sleep - then this was a great place. I had a bit of fear in getting from the airport to the hotel - they didn't speak English or Spanish - we did a bit of conversing in French. That was probably the only uncomfortable thing on this entire trip - except El Al not sending through my luggage. Do you know how hard it is to find a size 10 shoe in Israel! Those girls have some small feet.

Room Tip: None of it is good :) Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The only thing very good in the hotel is its location, all the rest, in my opinion, is very poor. For example, as I am not used to have vegetables and salads in my breakfast, it was terrible for me, the only bread they served was either the black or the white loaf, which was always a bit frozen, so you did not have the chance to choose, you had to have toasts for breakfast. Only one day they served melon, on the other days they did not give the option of any fruit and every time some thing finished, we had to ask to the employees to replace it, but the employees either did not speak English or did not want to understand, so communication was difficult. I realized that they spoke Russian. The places where the breakfast was served were not very clean. Another thing that called my attention were the towels that were used in the bathroom, they were small and hardly could dry us, despite it they were so old and used that they had stains on them; however we could notice that they had been washed and were clean, but who wants to use a stained towel? I don't. The bedrooms were not cleaned adequately. People at the reception desk was OK, but I can't say that they were friendly. For US$ 30 more my friend and I moved to another hotel (Maxim) that was very, very good and on the same street, but at the promenade, a very good location either. For this reason I think that the price of the hotel was not very attractive after all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel

Address: 164 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olympia Hotel is located on the beach promenade facing the Mediterranean Sea. Close to all business and leisure districts, and next to the city attractions & Tel Aviv Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.