We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is really terrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel to your Saves list
Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Moscow City, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The hotel is really terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The smell in the room was disgusting.
We was shocked by blankets in the room - they was look like blankets in old russian trains. Believe me - russian trains is nasty much more, so hotel blankets is looks like train blankets too. No teapot in the room, no free coffee.
Service is impolite at all. Receptionists are really rude.
They always keep the door to the hotel closed so u have to ring the bell all the time. Its annoying.
And we had tasteless free breakfast. No fresh juice, no fresh fruits. Coffee was the worst of all I've ever tasted.
Yes, price is low, but u will be right if u choose more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
22
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Being a three star hotel in Israel, one can't expect much. However, it was a real disapointment in many instances. The window in the room was held in place with duck tape, as was the door to the closet. The toilet stopped working without explanation. There was no coffee or tea in the room. The breakfast was poor, we were served cold cooked mushrooms. We needed to leave early to catch transport, but they refused to open the dining room a bit earlier for us, resulting in us needing to wolf down our food. The first receptionist who dealt with us was pleasant when we arrived, but the one I dealt with when I checked out was appalling, with a surly attitude who refused to apologise after I explained my disappointment, then refused to give me his name when I asked for it to report him to his manager. Granted, when I spoke to the General manager she was most apologetic, but really, I won't be coming back to this establishment. I also think it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Pros: convenient location in the city center near the promenade and the beach, helpful staff, moderately priced.
Cons: as every other hotel in Israel, our room was not very clean; terrible breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hotel is simple, but enough for tourists who want to see Israel and not spend much time in the room. Room is quite spacious, individual a/c, free Wi-fi. I expected more from breakfast: it could be more varied. Location is very good: close to the beach and central streets. Staff is very good. I will recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Only spend a few hours in my hotel room, as I only arrived @ 3am. the service was friendly, the place clean, the room more than sufficient for what I needed. However, the quality of bed was exceptionally poor, and it felt like I was falling through the matress. A good value for money hotel, if they replace their beds!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011 via mobile

Nice little hotel located right on the beach. Really friendly helpful staff especially Patrick the Reception Manager who was so helpful when we booked a trip to Jerusalem and also after check out looking after our luggage. Breakfast was always good - didn't miss it once which is unusual for holiday. Missed having a swimming pool but it is a small hotel and the beach is really close and very nice. The only way the hotel could improve is to put a small fridge in the room. I'd return to the hotel but unlikely to go back to Israel due to the power mad airport security. A little common sense would make them realise that Israel is not the only country facing terrorists threats and that not everyone is a terrorist - some people might actually have just wanted a holiday. I wonder how many innocent tourists never go back because of the treatment at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Had booked a non smoking room for 3 and when we got there, they only had a smoking room available which we did not know til we went up. One of us has asthma and was triggered the minute we went into the room. Ended up with no problem solving on their end or responsibility. We were given a double room non smoking and the third person(our adult son) called a friend in Tel Aviv and slept on their couch. We were told we would have to talk with the manager in the morning to straighten out the issues. It was a nightmare process the next day and took a lot of time to get the billing issues resolved and when we gave a key to our son to get his luggage from our room, they had cancelled out the keys before we had even checked out. The manager got into a shouting match with our son accusing him of trying to stay illegally in the hotel and refused to update the keys so he/we could get back into our room and get our stuff. It was awful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel

Address: 164 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olympia Hotel is located on the beach promenade facing the Mediterranean Sea. Close to all business and leisure districts, and next to the city attractions & Tel Aviv Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Tel Aviv Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.