We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience spoilt only by the hotel charging to use the gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herods Tel Aviv

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Herods Tel Aviv to your Saves list
Herods Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience spoilt only by the hotel charging to use the gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in a renovated room on 14th floor. Great decor. Great TV. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but made up for this by its luxury feel.
It would appear that no modern toilets, in Israel or elsewhere, flush properly, but this one really did not want to flush anything away!
The breakfast was exquisite. Far better than any of the other 4/5 star hotels I have stayed at in Israel.
My only complaint relates to them wanting to charge USD 10 per use of a tiny gym with 2 machines and a few free weights. Admittedly, after I kicked up a huge fuss the manager let me in for free, but having to pay to use a gym is not what you expect in a hotel where you are paying USD 250-300 per night!
Over all, a great hotel with a vacation atmosphere. All the staff are very friendly.
I didn't see the unrenovated rooms (floors 1 to 7) so can't comment on them.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the sea are MUCH nicer than those closer to the road that runs very close to the hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    261
    132
    68
    44
See reviews for
250
335
46
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We come to israel quite a lot so we thought it would be nice to stay somewhere diffrent and we heard that Herods had not been open long .The entrance lobby can only be described as a scene from Alfred Hitchcock's Birds, House of Wax and an artificial Orange Grove !!! We stayed in a club room (dont stay in the others ) the design was a total tacky mess. The main restaurant was another orange grove the interior designer must love his freshly squeezed. Good points breakfast very nice food tasty and hotel staff try there best

Room Tip: look at it first on the web
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town, south africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very good position on the beach. The room was great, with a small balcony looking out over Tel Aviv. Breakfast fantastic, only one day we had to eat in a very cramped hall as the main breakfast room was closed. Pool adequate, but in the shade most of the day. Bathroom very small, and our toilet never flushed properly, even though we reported it on the first day. Very helpful staff in the lobby.Other than these few small things, a very good choice in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have spent one week in Herods and for most part our experience in this hotel was very positive. I do not wish to put anyone off this hotel as this is quite minor moan but I do have to mention couple of things we found a little bit annoying whilst staying there. We would be woken up each morning around 8.00am by the cleaners vacuuming the hallways (surely they could start with that a little bit later, after all people are on holiday and would like some rest in the morning), also cleaners would be knocking on the doors asking to clean the room regardless of the sign 'do not disturb' clearly displayed outside the door. The hotel's pool is nice but photos look better than reality, it is for most part of the day in the shade. This however didn't bother us as we loved the beach which is just outside the hotel and amazing, but for those who rely on the pool I would like them to know. Also they had major issue with drains and it was not pleasant spending time in the bathroom area, but this may be the case for the most of hotels in Tel Aviv?! Breakfast choice is really good and plentiful. Business lounge only has 2 pc's and you may not get a chance to use them as it is always busy but you can have a coffee, cakes, soft drinks and fruit all day (until 7pm) should you have this as a part of your deal with your room price. Make sure you ask to go on the roof at 18th floor and take some night photos of the Tel Aviv. Doors are normally open anyway. Location of this hotel is great for the beach and also exploring the city. Old Jaffa is approximately 30/40mins nice walking distance away and it is beautiful part of Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Complete disappointment!
I waited an average of 15 minutes everytime I wanted to call reception to complain about lack of toilet paper, clogged toilet and television set out of order! By the way, nothing seemed bearable when it came to the bathroom ...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Herods Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay at the Herods Tel-Aviv hotel.

I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly at aviuh@fattal.co.il in order for us to further understand what was wrong in the room.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that has occurred during your stay with us.
However it is not likely that the toilet was clogged, the television was out and no toilet paper was available, all at once…

We continue to be committed to providing you and all of our guests with the highest standards of service and facilities and problems like you described are nothing I have heard of before.

We hope that you will choose to give the Herods Tel Aviv Hotel another chance upon your next visit to Tel Aviv, we would be very happy to see you visit us again very soon and to provide you with a rewarding experience

The Guest Relations Department
The Herods Tel Aviv Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night after Expedia had a one day sale on this property. Booked a club room to have access to the lounge and I was not disappointed. I spoke to Rottem in the lounge before arrival and she could not have been more helpful and friendly! She allocated us the room next to the 17th floor lounge which was fantastic, the staff in the lounge were so great, and there is a wide range of drinks and food available, as well as two PCs and a printer. The access to the beach is great, and the beach in this area is amazing. The breakfast was perfect, with a wide selection (and a very nice and helpful mashgiach-kosher supervisor)
Upon checkout, I asked them in the lounge to have the cases picked up from outside my room, and also my car brought round, when I got downstairs, it was all loaded in the car already…great service.

My only complaints are that the pool was closed, although I think that was a one off one day issue, and that to get back to the hotel from the beach, one has to go all the way round. Other then this it was a great stay, and I would definitely try and go back.

Room Tip: Take a club room, they are nicely refurbished and the lounge is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

After having stayed at many other hotels in Tel Aviv, I was first surprised by the tiny room
(and even tinier bathroom) I was getting in an executive room. ( I can not imagine the size of the standard). After complaining, we got upgraded (for a fee) by a very helpful assistant manager who had a great attitude and went out of his way to be helpful. The stay was decent. Service was ok, breakfast included was a bit chaotic for my taste and the elevators are tiny and get terribly long wait times during the weekend.

Room Tip: book a suite with view of Jaiffa side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herods Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Tel Aviv

Address: 155 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#16 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#30 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herods Tel Aviv, ideally located near the Mediterranean Sea. Offers the magnificent elegance of the Herods brand. It combines the wonderful experience of today's luxury with the glamour of the magical Tel Aviv on the 1930's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Herods Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tel Aviv Sheraton
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Moriah Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herods Tel Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.