We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deborah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Deborah Hotel to your Saves list
Deborah Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Ben Yehuda Street, Tel Aviv 63437, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful, especially when booking tours for myself and my wife. Not the greatest hotel in the world but great value for money, excellent location (10 minutes to dizengoff mall, 40 mins to Jaffa by foot) and surrounded by a variety of very good restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    30
    15
    20
See reviews for
26
31
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We did not make any reservation in Tel Aviv and this hotel was the only one in vicinity that had vacancies. As compared to other places in Tel Aviv (see my other reviews), this hotel was the best choice.
As for the pros, the hotel is located close to the beach and to pubs and shopping areas in Tel Aviv (which does not help you if you plan to visit Tel Aviv during Shabbat; also you get the noise from very busy Ben Yehuda street). It seems to be the budget option as compared to the hotels in vicinity (we paid USD 200/ 3 persons with breakfast; although at the checkout they were trying to get additional USD 80 from us). Breakfast offered a good selection and was quite tasty. There was a free wi – fi in the room. The room also had a fridge and a large wardrobe. Hotel lobby looks very nice.
As for the cons: rooms are dirty, walls look like they have been painted years ago, furniture is old and stained. Our room had a terrace (which was advertised by the reception staff as a big advantage) but it was so dirty that we could not make any use of it. The bathroom had an ugly sewer smell and when we requested a staff member to do something about it or to give us another room she did not react at all (we dealt with the smell by ourselves). The staff seems not to care much about the guests; also we had to request them several times to fix the A/C.
Although, as mentioned above it was the best choice out of any other choices in the city, next time, I would not book a room there and would rather look for some other option in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHELsales, Manager at Deborah Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Margeta, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel. All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests. That being said, we are sorry that you did not receive the reception that you should have. I will forward your review to the staff as they are trained to provide helpful and friendly service. Additionally, your experience with the front desk and the housekeeping is abnormal and will be checked on as well. We hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Tel-Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Rooms are old and feel dirty. The food was horrible! I would never stay here again. The bathroom was old. There is no bars of soap, only liquid soap dispensers. Mthe hair dryer is ancient. The only good thing is the location and the free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Absolutely awful hotel in every sense! The bathroom and bedroom was filthy as if it needed to be disinfected and deep cleaned. There was mould between the tiles in the bathroom and a pathetic shower curtain that did not touch the lip of the bath so all the water went onto the floor anyway. Not to mention the toilet that did not flush - it was then fixed only to overfill with water and flood our bathroom floor. Disaster after disaster and not terribly friendly staff either. They serve breakfast until 10am and if you are caught in there from 945 you'll end up having breakfast with the entire contingent of staff - not very professional! Only good thing is the location but not even at the price!

Room Tip: Dont stay in 507 - noisy next to the fire escape and filthy dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The last time I visited Israel with my mother, we looked up for a hotel just located in the heart of the city. It was a rainy day and we found this hotel. From outside it does not look like a Hotel. I mean it looks like they builded this place for another reason but changed it to Hotel.
The lobby area is well enough to have your visitors to sit and talk. We had a room at the moment. It was located nearly on one of the top floors. That night we really had a terrible sound outisde like a loudly engine is working. We asked them to change our room immediately. On the other floor we had another room next to the elevator. We also had a trouble with that room as the shabat elevator makes noise (ding ding ding) all the time till the next day. It stops on evey floor automaticall for religious people. We were not plased with that room as well. All rooms ver noisy. I wanted to make a phone call from room but it was not possible. I went down to the lobby to ask why I can not make phone call. ! THe lobby attendant ladie directly asked my credit card. I asked why ? I will stay 3-4 days more and why give the credit card info just to make a simple phone call. She treated us like we are going to make the phone call and live the hotel without paying for it ! Unexpectable and very rude behavior ! I directly asked the manager of the hotel. She arrived immediately and said sorry for the rude behavior of the hotel attendant lady. Breakfast was poor. The only postive thing about this hotel was the location. It was just located in the middle of Tel-Aviv. The rest was terrible at all. Our trip date was January 2007.

Room Tip: Before you choose a room ask them to give you a room far away from the elevator and the loudly machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

As with other reviews of the hotel, some good and some bad aspects. A great location, free wifi, and a great breakfast are the good features. The room was small and the bathroom needs much work. The room was clean, but sparse. Just a tired hotel!! The staff was pleasant and having wifi in the lobby was a plus. The breakfast was great with many choices and was very tasty. The location was a real advantage, walking distance to the beach, Old Jaffa, and many of the attractions of Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The room, particualry the bathroom, was not clean, there was no toilet paper and the shower curtain was nasty. When I went to talk to the manager he apologized and admitted that the hotel is not being kept up they way it should. They are having a hard time getting the help they need.

On the good side - the location was great, the breakfast good and the Wifi the best of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deborah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deborah Hotel

Address: 87 Ben Yehuda Street, Tel Aviv 63437, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deborah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1-block to beach, 30 min from airport. Offering guests the appealing combination of a prime location in the center of Tel Aviv and walking distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Deborah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deborah Hotel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deborah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.