We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a very centrally located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Basel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Basel Hotel to your Saves list
Leonardo Basel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a very centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is dated but is very clean and offers a truly wonderful and friendly welcome upon arrival. The staff know a lot about the area and had advised me on places to visit and how to get there with ease.
My room was very comfortable and clean. I had read that the rooms were small but travelling alone I found it ok. The bathroom was filled with useful gels and soaps but the dryer was an old 1990's one. Saying that, I asked at the hotel desk for a more up to date dryer and was presented with a 2000 watt dryer that was terrific.
One flaw: The walls and floors are NOT soundproof so bring earplugs.
The selling point of this hotel are two things:the breakfast which was DELICIOUS with the most amazing coffee to be found in Israel, and the location. You are just one block from the main street in one direction, for all your shopping needs, and one block in the other direction for the beach.
I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that faces front and not another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    158
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
109
116
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms in the hotel are quite small with small bathrooms, but well furnished and new bathroom equipment.
In rooms facing South you will hear at about 6 am a very noisy collection of dust bins, sounds like building work.

Room Tip: Ask a renovated room on high floor. Eg. Rooms on 4th floor 400-414.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us.

We will be happy to see you again in the near future

Regards,
Yelena.
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reserved 23 rooms for our group of 46. We only needed a place to stay for one night before we began our tour of Israel. We arrived at the hotel prior to 6 p.m. from the TLV airport. Upon arrival, our rooms were ready with individual envelopes for all 46 people containing our room keys and luggage tags. Once the luggage sticker was placed on our luggage, the porters took all bags to the rooms.

The hotel was small and on a very busy street. The street noise was noticeable, especially when a vehicle blew its horn. The room was exceptionally small and since we were a couple, we had two beds pushed together. It was hard to overcome the gap and the different height level between the two beds. The room had two towels and the tiniest of bathrooms. However, we only had to have a night of rest so the room was functional.

The lobby was tiny in that it was very difficult for our group of 46 to stand. Their was a pool but no one in our group utilized. The elevators were functional but obviously a challenge with 46 people trying to go to their rooms. The stairs were wide and worked well for most of us.

The very good of this hotel was the food. The presentation was excellent and tasty. The servers were efficient in clearing dirty dishes.

The proximity to the beach is good and the beach was very enjoyable.

The free WIFI was a bonus and actually worked.

For just one night, we would stay again; however, if on an extended vacation I would stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Sshift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us.
I can assure you your comments have been taken on board for further attention by our GM and managemen.
We were happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed our food in the Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Regard,
Yelena
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Martino di Lupari, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location, seafront almost...........old building.......rooms are small, windows cheapest.......bathroom awful......and dirty......service so so.....
Breakfast excellent!!!
I cannot suggest and back it...........

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us.
we wish you had a better experience.
we were happy to hear that you enjoyed the Breakfast.

Regards,
Yelena
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and I are back a week from this hotel and want to say how amazing this hotel was. the staff took a really person focused approach with us, the room was amazing and everything it said it would be. We had a bad start to our holiday as the previous hotel we booked was not as we had been lead to believe: the manger Avada (I think that's her name) was very accommodating and made sure that our initial experience did not impact on the rest of our stay. The staff were able to give me directions to the money exchanges, the local shops and recommend trips whit a great company which we thoroughly enjoyed (Bein harim tour services) there's a guy at the front desk who has done the trips and able to give sound advice. Every interaction I had with them was a pleasant experience and they were very accommodating. The place is spotless, the rooms spacious, the wifi reliable, their information sound and varied and the beds extremely comfortable after the long excursions. The location is great, right across from the harbour and the beach: bliss! We will be returning next year and cannot wait :) thanks again for your welcome and help throughout our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a comfort room: massive windows, great views and really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We will be happy to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Yelena
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wrote the slogan "the art to feel at home" because the staff knew how to give the right service for me. Shay the manager was very friendly and very helpful. He called me and the other friends from my group every day to verify that we enjoy and if we need something.
The room is nice but not so big - that was enough to my business in Tel Aviv for a few days.
The food is good and so the lobby bar was efficient.
i think the hotel need to be more modern and young in his atmosphere at the lobby but it's just my opinion - i defiantly will come back again because its art to know how to give a service.
by the way - great location!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We will be happy to see you again in the near future

Regards,
Yelena
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The hotel is old, the room are very small, noisy and dirty and we found more then once cockroaches... the staff is always very nervous and you never feel comfortable to ask for something. The parking is a disaster, you pay for it and sometimes they make you to wait up to 20 minutes to take the car. The price is exaggerated. Completely different is the food court where the staff is very friendly, the food is very tasty and abundtant (but even there we found cockroaches). The position is very good, next to the best beaches of Tel Aviv. Israel is beautiful and Tel Aviv too but Leonardo Basel hotel is a bad

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelenafr, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us.
we are very hapy to hear that you enjoyed the food and location.
while we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. if you will give us a chance to earn back you'r trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guestes have grown so fond of.
We look forward to hosting you again soon

Regards,
Yelena
yelenafr@fattal.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Basel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Basel Hotel

Address: 156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Basel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Basel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Basel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.