We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, professional service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Basel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Basel Hotel to your Saves list
Leonardo Basel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, professional service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was really pleased with the professional, but friendly manner present at the Basel Hotel. Greeted every day by my name; wasn't some anonymous guest like at some hotels.

Breakfast buffet was the best I've ever experienced. Loved the shakshuka. Try it! Fresh bread, fruit, cheeses and a good choice of Israeli options for you to try as well as the (boring) cereals & toast you can find back home.

Particular praise please to Or Harash in reception, who always made me feel welcome and helped with any queries or help I needed, like booking taxis, excursions etc.

Excellent location by Tel Aviv marina close to Ben Yehuda and Dizengoff streets and also a short (15-20min) walk to Tel Aviv Port where there are a number of restaurants.

Would definitely stay here the next time I visit Israel.

אני אחזור I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel and taking the time to write your heartwarming review of our hotel. Leonardo Basel Hotel's motto is to host with love and care in a family oriented manner and therefore we create personal and attentive relationships with our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed our various and diversified culinary options at our Israeli breakfast buffet. Your praise was forwarded personally by me to Or and I thank you again for your review. I look forward having you stay with us again during your next visit in Israel.
Best Regards,
Michal Tennenbaum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    157
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
109
116
57
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

i've been in the hotel several times
this is my home hotel
the hospitality is excellent, and the staff are very nice and helpfull.
the rooms are very comfortable and Equipped with everything that you need
the hotel is placed near the beach and in the center of tel aviv

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location is great, right near everything.

Pool is too small and way too cold - Everyone complained to the lifeguard but he didn't seem to care. He was more interested in teaching a rude man (who kept splashing everyone with his bellyflops) how to swim.

Breakfast was really good with tons of choice, Can not fault this one bit!!!

Food by pool is amazing especially the Chicken Teriyaki!

Rooms are ok but booked a double room expecting a double bed...not 2 single beds pushed together. This was very disappointing as we also had 2 single duvets. Not what a DOUBLE room is supposed to be.

Bar staff really friendly, helpful and funny, especially the evening staff...not so much the reception staff who were impatient, rude, sarcastic and couldn't care less.

Pool toilets really need cleaning.

All towels are WAY TOO SMALL for a normal sized human!!!

Why does the air-con turn off ever couple of minutes and need the room door opening and closing to reactivate?

Good value for money overall but needs work.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for a week in april/may. The rooms were a bit small, but no issue for us. Was a bit worried after everything that i read there.
They had some small nice treats that i loved, like free juice when we got up from the beach. The staff was friendly, breakfast tasty, and room was clean, what more can you ask for? They also had a "tourist counter" in the reception. Easy to book excursions.

All in all good experience, and would reccomend the hotel for other travellers as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel and giving us a chance regardless of your misgivings. We make our outmost best to ensure all of our guests get their wishes and wants fulfilled. Our reception is delighted to help our guests with booking trips, restaurant reservations, car rentals and online check-in for flights. I hope to see you again soon at The Leonardo Basel Hotel.
Kind Regards
Michal Tennenbaum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid-March, there was a notice from Management in our room to say that the road outside would be blocked the day after tomorrow due to a marathon race. Unfortunately it was closed the following day when we were trying to leave. When we told reception they got the wrong day there was no apology, just a shrug of the shoulders.
We were surprised and disappointed that we were charged 8 euros a day for parking at the hotel, the first time we have ever been charged as guests in a hotel car park.
The least friendly hotel we encountered in Israel.
Margaret, Wexford.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. What you are describing does not reflect the level of service we aspire to and work towards and it will be looked into. Furthermore, it is unfortunate that you had difficulty exiting the city on your way to the airport; however, I must state that due to a very hot season the marathon was divided into two days with a very short notice that nevertheless affected the whole area. Regarding the payment of parking every hotel in Tel Aviv 4 Stars and upwards charges a daily fee of parking. Our price is quite moderate compared to the other hotels in the area. We apologize for not being able to make sure you felt that you had gotten the best treatment at the hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the hotel staff and myself for not succeeding in creating a fully satisfying experience during your stay. I hope to see you again amongst our guests.
Kind Regards,
Michal Tennenbaum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is conviently situated on the Telaviv beachfront within walking distance of the beach and restuarants.
The staff are very attentive especially at the reception desk. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
An excellent breakfast is served in a spacious dining room.

Room Tip: A sea -facing room is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. Our hotel strives to satisfy our guests not only with advantageous location but also with friendly staff and superb Israeli breakfast buffet. I am delighted to know that our staff was able to exemplify our motto of hosting with love and care and thereby enriching your vacation with us. I hope to see you again amongst our guests.
Kind Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My short stay at The Leonardo Basel was memorable. Even though I found the rooms rather small, the location and the staff made up for it. The front desk was extremely helpful with all our local travel related questions. This one front desk member, Shai was extremely friendly and helpful. Only 2 minutes away from the beach front, was hard to resist the blue waters. The breakfast and service was good.

The restaurant managers were rather rude with the rest of the staff in the restaurant. That's something I noticed right from the first day. The staff was efficient and took care of all our need. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I appreciate it. Like you’ve mentioned that while our rooms are slightly small for some of our guests our location and staff most definitely make up for it. I'm pleased to hear your vacation was memorable and that you have enjoyed the different aspects of location, varied culinary taste and our warm staff. Both your praise and observations will be looked into and I thank you for pointing them out. I look forward towards your next stay in Tel Aviv.
Best Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Basel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Basel Hotel

Address: 156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Basel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Basel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Basel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.