We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leonardo basel staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Basel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Basel Hotel to your Saves list
Leonardo Basel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Concord, California
1 review
“leonardo basel staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was exceptionally friendly and professional. Was truly a pleasure meeting them.Made my stay in Israel so much better than I antisapated.Please pass this on to them as they truly seemed to care how my stay was and they showed it.

Thank You; David Bennett

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We hope that you are well and that your friend Mr. Barzelay isfeeling much better and is back to full health again. It was our great pleasure and delight to have you stay with us at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. Your remarks will be relayed to the staff. Our entire staff as a whole strive towards hosting with love and care and we are pleased that you have felt that our staff demonstrate that with success. We hope to have you stay with us again soon during your next visit in Israel.
Best Regards
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    157
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
109
116
57
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my choice based on all the recommendation I have received. Stayed here 6 nights. Average size room not anything like what we see in US ( big and specious). Rooms were clean, stylish overlooking the beach. It's just 30-40 min drive from airport (160 shekel/$45). You are in center of all happening place. Restaurent, bar, club all are in reasonable walking distance. Good ans nice walk to the beach and all. Hotel is in perfect location. From service to linen you will find all in your right way. Friendly service ...oh yes excellent stuff. I must say Shai is amazing. I can see lot folks mentioned about her. And she is outstanding. I had breakfast in the hotel. Boy it was worth every $. I recommend when you book add your breakfast. It will be cheaper compared to outside. They have inside dinning which I had once ..it was ok not outstanding. You should go out and explorearound the place. If you are hungry try "Sabich"..on pita you will love it. I never had anything like this on my life. Something to experience while in Israel. Well here you have all. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit to Israel and especially your stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. While our rooms are not North American standard and are small for some of our guests our service and quality outshines that minor inconvenience. The Leonardo Basel Hotel is indeed centrally located with easy access to the TLV Port, Jaffa, Dizengoff Center, the beach and everything worthwhile seeing. Shai is without a doubt one of our star staff from the overall winning team. Your remarks will be passed on to her. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel and we look forward to have you stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Basel. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived very early (before 9 in the morning) and Tal said that she would call us when our room was ready - this she did within an hour. (Thanks Tal) The rooms are not small and very comfortable. The bathroom is very small (can't imagine why) - but as we spent very little time in the bathroom - who cares ? The food was great, and we had a very happy weekend. We normally stay over the road in one of the expensive 5 stars. The Basel is 2/3 of the cost and the saving is well worth it. We will be back. The location is excellent

Room Tip: If you get there early enough it is worth paying 40 shekels to leave your car for the rest of your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. I am pleased to know that Tal successfully managed to make your weekend a happy one. While our rooms and washrooms might be small for some of our guests we ensure to boost where when can affect the most: our friendly staff, clean hotel and tasty food. Like you have mentioned, we are not directly on the water but our location is still great and more cost-effective. We hope too have you stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was fantastic, location is great, the room was clean and perfect for us. The view to the Mediterranean sea and marina was perfect and the staff was wonderful We have been in many 5 star hotels and the food here was really great.

One caveat: On the hotel website there is a nice red banner: Best Price Guarantee. I tried to order the room on their site but it didn't work so I called their support no. There they took my reservation. The next day I thought to extend our stay and found a better price. I printed out the price and brought it to the hotel when we checked in. The looked into it and came back with different excuses. I wasn't happy with their answers and they said the reservations center would get back to me. It has only been a few days so maybe they will.

Could be that there is fine print somewhere on the website that disqualifies the offer which is why I recommend not to be taken in by their "best price guarantee" banner.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor facing the sea. It had a great view. The business lounge is on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I arrived at about 3 p.m.after a long journey from the Sea of Galilee, and we were glad of the cold drinks and dates in the lounge.

We were upgraded to a larger room which was pleasant with a part sea view, but the bathroom was so small!

After a rest, we went to find a restaurant for supper, and 100 meters away on Kikar Atarim found the Panorama, a family run restaurant overlooking the beach, which we highly recommend.

Breakfast for the next 3 mornings was excellent, with a wide selection available, and specials cooked to order. On the morning of our departure at 4 a.m. to the airport, we were given two breakfasts in boxes, which were very nutritious after checking in.

Special mention for Tal on reception, Vikki and Yakov in the dining room, all of whom made us feel "at home".

Room Tip: Ask to see the bathroom for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacation at The Leonardo Basel Hotel. When we are able we are happy to upgrade our guests with all our gratuities. Our hotel is well located and you always find those special little places around Tel Aviv, like the Panorama restaurant. We try to assemble the most fulfilling and nutritious breakfast in order to keep our guests happy. Your appreciation and thanks were forwarded to Tal, Vikki and Yaakov. We hope to see you next time you're in Tel Aviv. Best Regards
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The basil is well located and a nice friendly hotel .. The rooms now do need a little updating compared to other hotels but it has everything to offer. The food is just as cheap to eat in the hotel but it is close to all amenities and 1 minute to beach. It is worth paying extra to be on the 6th floor and to be able to chill in the business lounge

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Joanne,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Leonardo Basel Hotel. Our location is indeed a good one and within walking distance to anything worthwhile seeing in Tel Aviv. We too hope to have you with us for another 40 years as your second home.
Kind Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Within a month I stayed three times, at this Boutique Hotel. Just one block from the beach...I thought I was home in Redondo with the waves and surfers! Very caring staff at the desk especially Shai and Tal, as well as the Manager of the the Breakfast toom. Talking about the breakfast, I have never seen such a spread anywhere. I was told about the famous Israeli breakfast and that was simply great, however don't have a big stomach to try everything no matter how tempring it was. You will never go hungry. Free WiFi was much appreciated, though spotted at times. Hotel could use some remodelling, I imagine it was built in the 70s? especially that they surrounded by big chain hotels. The room was cozy, the bath small but had everything I needed, except a small tube of hair conditioner. Most if not all hotels offer shampoo and conditioner. Maybe next time I visit Tel Aviv and will return to Leonardo Basel, I will find conditioner!! Hotel has a small Bar around the Reception area and outdoor patio with a nice size pool. If you have a room on a high floor you can see the Mediterranean. It is about 40 minutes from Ben Gurion airport and the Taxi fair is about 160 shekels or $40-45. From the hotel you can walk a couple of blocks to Ben Yehuda and within half an hour in the old city of Neve Tzedek, worth seeing.

Room Tip: Ask a higher floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Stella,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Israel. We enjoyed having you as much as you have enjoyed staying with us. The Leonardo Basel Hotel has its most important moments when our staff is able to create a home-like friendly environment where everyone is in harmony and no one wishes to go back to their real home. Our hotel undergoes constant changes and improvements in order to make the hotel as comfortable as possible for our guests. Regarding the conditioner, our shampoo comes mixed with conditioner and therefore it is already mixed in. Next time you're in town we would do our best to give you a separate conditioner. Our pool is definitely useful during the summer months and it is a major favor point, considering most 4 Star hotels do not have a pool at all. We hope to have you again soon at The Leonardo Basel Hotel.
Best Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Basel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Basel Hotel

Address: 156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Basel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Basel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Basel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.