We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Basel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Basel Hotel to your Saves list
Leonardo Basel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Perth
1 review
“Terrible terrible terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had stayed exclusively at Leonardo hotels for 11 nights, including 3 rooms for 5 nights at the Basel, in Tel Aviv.

The staff (with the exception of one person who was amazing) were terrible, and what made this worse, was it was the management / supervisor level that was the worst. They were rude, unhelpful and arrogant .

Examples:
Standing with my kids, waiting for the (small) lift. When the doors opened, three senior staffmembers pushed in front of us so there was no space for our family in the lift. I gave them a piece of my mind.

But the best example of the worst service has to be my discussion with Naomi - the banquet manager. She rudely stared at us during breakfast, interrupting a happy family discussion. When I asked her what she wanted, she said she wanted to do a survey. I reluctantly agreed and she tried to pressure me into writing a good review on Tripadvisor. I said that first, she could do something for me. We'd paid for 33 room nights with Leonardo (3 rooms, 11 nights) and we needed one more night, for my wife's parents to join us at short notice. I asked her to see what rate she could organise.
She came back 5 minutes later and offered me a rate that was much more than I was already paying per room. When I explained that this was ridiculous, she said:
1. What do you want to pay?
2. If you want I can try and get you a 1% discount
3. Your rate you're currently paying you got off expedia / hotels.com etc. This was factually wrong and insulting!

I explained that I booked my rooms through front reception, not a discount website.

She then pushed me to complete a review on trip advisor, so here it is. She is without doubt the worst suited employee I have ever met for the hospitality industry.

Other notable mentions:
- The chefs and staff at the breakfast were rude and miserable.
- The man who collected used plates from the table STARED at the children to the point where I told him to walk away "NOW".

There was one shining light at this hotel. Shay - who worked at reception. She could land a job at any hotel in the world , no idea why she puts up with the shoddy management at this one. If not for Shay, we would have checked out on day 1.

Room Tip: The best room you can choose is one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Leonardo Basel TLV. We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay. We realize that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the hotel and for that we apologize.

What you are describing does not reflect the level of service we aspire to. Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the hotel staff and the management for not succeeding in creating a fully satisfying experience during your stay.

Your comments have been forwarded to the general managers in order to improve the service and make sure all our guests get the best treatment at the hotel. We apologize for not being able to do so for you.
We will do all that is in our power to learn from your comments in order to improve and avoid such things in the future.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    157
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
109
116
57
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We moved from another hotel in another part of town which was horrible. The Leonardo Basel was just what we needed. Really helpful staff, comfortable room and spotlessly clean bathroom. It had everything we needed:- free wifi, safe, hot drinks in the room, sea view and close to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that we were able to answer all your needs and wants, it is a wonderful feedback. We aspire to cater to all our guests' desires in order to ensure a fulfilling and satisfying vacation experience. Leonardo Basel certainly stands out with our free wifi which is rare in Tel Aviv, let alone in hotels. We hope to see you again amongst our guests.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 5 days,
The hotel at first appearance was a little disappointing but my initial thoughts was that it was clean and would do.
Check in was quick and efficient with the added bonus of free wifi.
Have to say that the hotel grew on me the longer we stayed.
Hotel staff was EXCEPTIONAL and would like to mention Michael who gave us some good suggestions on many questions we gave him.
Food was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am happy to hear that the first impression you had did not stop you from enjoying your stay and seeing our true virtues. Our staff enjoys and spends extra care to ensure all our guests' needs and wants are taken care of and looked after. We will forward your positive thoughts to Michael, thank you. Leonardo Basel is proud of its free unlimited Wi-Fi and large and rich Israeli breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again amongst our guests.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel to Tel Aviv quite often and always choose Leonardo Basel as my place to stay. This hotel has a wonderful location: 2 minutes walk from the beach, 5 minutes walk from the busy streets of Ben-Yehuda and Dizengoff and 15 minutes from Dizengoff Center mall.
But the location is not the main reason I choose this hotel over and over. The reason is the great hospitality of all the hotel staff. They really committed to give the guests the best treatment they can, with care and with a smile, giving you the feeling that this is your second home.
Beside that the hotel has a great Israeli breakfast (also here, you will get the best welcome from the restaurant staff) and a free internet access (something you won’t find in other Tel Aviv hotels).
Just make sure you have a room with the Mediterranean Sea view, and you all set.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for writing such a detailed review about our hotel, we appreciate it. We are pleased we were able to provide you the Second Home Experience that we aspire to achieve with all our guests. Our staff provide such an atmosphere because Leonardo Basel is our second home and we wish to share it with all who stay with us. We certainly take pride and joy that we are able to provide free internet to our guests which is just a minor but significant part of the whole experience. We look forward to host you again at The Leonardo Basel.
Best Regards,
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would have been ok with the bare bones feel of the room, but after spending 3 nights at the Leonardo, we got a much nicer room with a view of the ocean and an even better breakfast across the street at the Crowne Plaza. Since there are so many hotels on Hayarkon Street, you should consider checking out other hotels just by walking up to their check in desks. They all save a certain number of rooms for those who just walk in.

Room Tip: Pick higher floors to avoid sound of 5 a.m. trash pick up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the expected service during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our standards of service are at the top of our values list. We strive to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again at The Leonardo Basel and guarantee that you would be happy.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel, with a pleasant staff. A young lady at reception was particularly helpful (Shai). She went out of her way to assure my comfort and transportation.
The beach is across a rather intimidating highway, but is easily crossed at a nearby crosswalk.
The road behind the hotel is 5 minutes away 9 (a right and a right) and has many lively shops and galleries. Worth a walk "around the block". 2 good money changers on that street.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to know Shay answered all your needs and more. We will inform Shay of your positive comments, thank you. Leonardo Basel is certainly located in a very nice area worth exploring and seeing. We hope to see you again at our hotel.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 10 nights there. The location is just perfect, close to the beach, restaurants, bars supermarkets all that you need. The service was excellent, too. One night we came back late and we smelled cigarets smoke (it's a none smoking hotel!) we called to the reception desk, they apologized and immediately gave us another room. Too bad they don't enforce the non smoking policy more strictly. We ate breakfast once and it was very good too (great coffee, wonderful selection of food items, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, breads, pastries and so much more). The rooms were clean. All in all - great value for the money spent.

Room Tip: We think that choosing a quiet room is a better choice. Although the back rooms don't enjoy a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Basel Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel after your stay. Our location indeed places you close to everywhere that is worthwhile seeing in Tel Aviv. Leonardo Basel Hotel is smoke free by law. Our rooms are non smoke and don’t have an ash tray in order to emphasize that. Nevertheless, we can't follow every guest. If it comes to our attention we send a security representative to request our policy of non smoking be maintained. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our large and diversified Israeli breakfast buffet and overall stay in our hotel. We hope to see you soon back at The Leonardo Basel.
Yaniv Sasportas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Basel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Basel Hotel

Address: 156 Hayarkon street, Tel Aviv 63451, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Basel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Basel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Basel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.