We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing hotel on the waterfront, newly renovated!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Tel Aviv to your Saves list
Carlton Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Eli'ezer Peri Street, Tel Aviv 63573, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Tenafly, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“an amazing hotel on the waterfront, newly renovated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

and the breakfast is served in a dinning hall ON THE WATER!!! the pool is on the roof and the weather is always amazing! definitely recommend! good for families, friends, business trips and any occasion!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear adi K. Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton Tel Aviv and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    165
    72
    25
    14
See reviews for
162
158
38
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week as we were attending a wedding in Israel. We booked a delux sea view room. Rooms were comfortable modern and nicely decorated with lovely views from the balcony. Room was cleaned and tidied regularly during the day with mini bar and tea coffee restocked. Hotel has been redecorated. They reception staff were very friendly and helpful however we did find the bar restaurant staff were not very attentive. The breakfasts were amazing and the staff and service was excellent. We ate in the hotel restaurant several times and agin the food was very good. This hotel is expensive however it was a five star hotel. It does have a small gym and offers a selection of beauty treatments. Lovely roof top pool with fantastic views. Good location on sea front, near beaches, harbour shopping and restaurant areas, easy walk to main shopping areas too. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear CLPWindsor. It was our pleasure having you as our guests at the Carlton Tel Aviv, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again on your future visits to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel on the promenade. Clean rooms. Nice decor. Wonderful breakfasts. Didn't like king bed made up as two separate twin beds. No free Internet. Staff not as friendly as experienced in other Tel Aviv and Jerusalem hotels. Still, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Frankenbarb. Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff to the managers of each department and would be grateful for any further details in order to ensure that this issue does not reoccur in the future. We very much hope that you will stay with us again on your future visits to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at the Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel in October 2012. Here are some factual observations:

1. This hotel feels out of the 80s. I was in a renovated room and it still just felt old, and not up to "luxury" standards. The hotel was perfectly fine, and I would stay there again, but the rooms were underwhelming.

2. The location of the hotel is very good. It is right on the Med, and it is is about 2 minutes' walk to the beach.

3. The gym was very small, and by my estimation, not even worth using.

4. As usual, a traditional large Israeli breakfast was included. I've seen better breakfasts in Israel, but it was perfectly fine. The restaurant is detached from the hotel and right on the water. Very nice location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear tacostuff. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. The feedback that we receive is the best tool that we have enabling us to improve our guest's experience. Our renovation program is ongoing and your comments regarding the renovated rooms has been passed on to those who are responsible for the updating of the hotel. Our new gym and spa facilities, Gym & Relax, opened in April of this year and feature the latest machinery and a state-of-the-art spa area. We hope that you will return to the hotel in the future to enjoy the newly renovated facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Mid October stay, still mid 80's during the day, cooler at night. Great views overlooking the marina and Gordon pool and beach. The room was perfectly situated with a glass door to the balcony to watch the ocean, swimmers in the public beachside pool ( Gordon pool) or jiggers/ strollers along the wide boardwalk. Views of the city and old Jaffa in the distance from the rooftop pool area. Too bad the pool and deck area/ bar service closes so early, because it is a perfect temp to sit in the loungers and enjoy the evening. Bar service after sunset is relegated to the first floor--and no view-- side lobby area. Sumptuous breakfast in a two story/outdoor patio are across the boardwalk from the hotel. Nice giftshop with helpful owner. Prompt and convenient taxi service. Easy walk to oceanfront restaurants. Is a walkers hotel really as the boardwalk beacons. Breakfast area is up a flight of stairs, and on the patio affords close up views of planes leaving the airport. Individual travellers and groups, largely American, mingle with locals and traditional couples courting in the bar/lobby area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear dwebbSimiValleyCa. Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the second time in a year that I have stayed here but with the same complaints. The cost of the gym .ok so it's only 5 dollars a visit but there are only 4 machines!!! Come on it should be free also so should wifi in the lobby . Everything else is great the staff are lovely especially Jeremy

Room Tip: All oksea facing excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear shazb25. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest once again at the Carlton Tel Aviv. When our new gym & spa facilities opened, it was decided that we would make a nominal charge for the use of the facilities to ensure that our guests enjoy the best possible experience without overcrowding the area. With regards to wifi, as mentioned in previous reviews, the charge for this service is significantly lower than most of the other hotels in the area. We very much hope that you will return to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I just completed a 4 night stay at the Carlton. Overall, its a great option if you want to stay in a full facility hotel in Tel Aviv.

First of all, the location is outstanding. It stands right on the beachfront, behind the Tel Aviv Marina and the Gordon Pool. It is literally steps away from the beach and you don't have to cross any roads. I had a sea view room and you can see from the attached photos the unimpeded view of the Mediterranean. Absolutely spectacular at sunset.

Next, the hotel itself. Its not the most attractive building in Tel Aviv - its a drab concrete exterior - but internally it is attractive and modern. The lobby is small but nice. Check in was completely hassle free and the hotel staff are extremely courteous and helpful with any request. The one flaw I would point out is that there are only 3 elevators, so in the morning it can be a bit trying to get down to the lobby. I was on the 6th floor, so I used the stairs a couple of times out of frustration. I should say that this is not a problem unique to the Carlton - I've experienced this problem in many hotels all over the world.

I was in a "deluxe" room facing the sea. The room was recently renovated and was simple but tasteful and very comfortable. I had a small balcony and a good sized desk and work area. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, but adequate. I particularly liked that I could sleep with the air-conditioner off and the balcony door open and hear the sound of the sea. There was absolutely no traffic noise, although I imagine the city facing rooms would not enjoy this advantage. Wifi is disappointingly $10 per night PER DEVICE, but this is unfortunately fairly standard practice in the larger hotels in Israel.

Breakfast was one of the highlights of the hotel. The breakfast room is located a short walk outside the hotel along a pier. Its a spectacular location to eat breakfast. The breakfast itself is an outstanding buffet. The hotel is kosher, and the breakfast is dairy (i.e you won't find sausage, bacon etc.) but you still get an overwhelming selection. There is an omelette station which also provides waffles, pancakes and various other hot foods which they vary daily. There's a huge selection of salads (Israelis eat salad for breakfast), cheeses, jams, cereal, bread, fruit, pastries.... you name it. There is even a self serve frozen yogurt station. You also get great coffee - cappuccino, espresso or filter and freshly squeezed juice. You won't leave the breakfast room hungry, and you won't be complaining about lack f variety. The service is also excellent.

Finally, I just want to mention I have no comment on any of the other facilities in the hotel since I didn't use them. (pool, gym, other restaurants etc.)

Overall, I really enjoyed the Carlton and would recommend it to anyone. The only reason I give it 4 stars and not 5 is because its not a super luxury hotel. Its clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for tourists or business stays. If you are not fussed about the luxury aspect you can add a star.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear jonorose. Thank you for your detailed review. At the Carlton Tel Aviv, we carefully note all of our guest's comments and feedback in order to improve our services to meet and indeed exceed expectations. The hotel is currently in the final stages of our renovation program and we hope that you will return to visit us in the future to enjoy the new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri Street, Tel Aviv 63573, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#10 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#18 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Tel Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.