We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with a few buts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good location with a few buts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel is situated right on the Tel Aviv shore with a direct access to one of the best beaches of the city. When entering the hotel you have to go through the usual security check. The hotel lobby is spotlessly clean but on the spartan side; it is adjacent to a sitting area and a modern bar that overlooks the beach, the bar is attended by smiling multi lingual attendants.
The reception assistants are mostly pleasant, some maybe on the curt side but courteous. The check in was speedy.
All rooms have slanted balconies that face the ocean, the north side of the floors have less obstructed views. The carpeted hallways emanated a strange odor throughout our 7 day stay. The room doors are frayed on the outside and have seen seen better days.
The room was pleasant, airy, with good natural light, average in size and seemed to have been renovated to a certain extent. The mattress was good and firm with fairly good quality linen.
The bathroom was adequate with good quality amenities however equipped with the nagging half door tub/shower that had the perennial tendency to let water spill on the bathroom floor. (Why do hotels keep doing this?)
The housecleaning was sort of erratic, the room carpet had some debris which were not vacuumed properly for a few days.
The breakfasts were excellent, with all kinds of fresh fruits, salads, cheeses, smoked salmon, eggs, smoked white fishes, different types of breads and pastries, expresso coffee machines, fresh juices, etc. Did not eat any other meal at the hotel
The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, pretty good work out room and a spa.
One of the concierges was simply great, he was extremely helpful, pleasant ant funny.
The hotel rates were quite stiff with free internet in the lobby area but with a stiff fee for in room usage. Had to bitterly complain to have the fees reversed.

Room Tip: Choose high floor, with rooms toward north side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    169
    116
    42
    23
See reviews for
92
144
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here on a 3 day business trip and wished I hadn't. Firstly it had a very inflated price because we travelled at a time when there were three major exhibitions so we were paying $400 a night which sets a certain expectation that the hotel completely failed to meet. My room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller and on plugging a UK adapter into the mains electricity socket I got a major electric shock. When I removed it - very carefully - I still managed to get another electric shock. I reported this to reception and they said that I must have a faulty adapter. I've used the same adapter at around 50 hotels in different countries with no problem and indeed when I tried it in other sockets in my room I had no problem. I explained this but they were adamant that the problem could not possibly be the socket. When I plugged my computer into a different socket I found it was $20 for 1 day's internet - in a room I'm being charged $400 a night - and the download speed and connectivity was awful. This was a recurrent theme - a bottle of water was $8, a beer was $10. You expect to pay extra for these things in a hotel but this was gouging the customer on a grandiose scale. I hate being ripped off and that's the way I felt about this hotel - I won't be staying at a Renaissance hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

At $330/night US one has certain expatiations of a hotel, and these were met, and failed as well.
The Hotel had smaller rooms. Plumbing was OLD. We had a split stay of 7 nights total out of 10.

Our first 5 nights we were in a room where the toilet needed constant attention, the second part, the shower was very, very slow to drain. In both cases the enclosure was very cramped and unusual as it only covered the front half of the tub.

Unless you need immediate unrestricted internet access from your room do not take their $20 day in- room internet service. Internet (WIFI) is free in the lobby areas, and if you are on the side of the hotel closest to the beach you can receive free access from the City Of Tel Aviv WiFi.
When I asked about WiFi, I was only told about the $20 / day option, and was not advised that the lobby was free.

Breakfasts were lovely, in the traditional Israeli style. If not taken as part of a B and B program however, they are hideously expensive, dinner more so, but anything on the north end of the Tel Aviv beach is going to be painfull. We hosted 2 guests for breakfast one morning and were charged $33 US (not shekels) each. Buffet Dinner was available for almost $80 PP. We passed.

What did make this hotel worth it was the location, and views offered. At the north end of the beach strip, we were right on the water, overlooking the beach. Each room’s balcony was orientated so as to maximize the view. There is a beautiful indoor and outdoor pool area, spa, gym, and elevator access direct to the beach, so you don’t have to be “uncomfortable” trekking across a hotel lobby in beachwear. The Staff is Marriott trained, warm and friendly per Marriott’s excellent standards.

We had some other issues at the front desk, during check out, that eventually got resolved, but the manager was rude and was yelling at me. NOT to be expected. Would I come back? Probably, especially since 7 nights cost me a total of less than $300 US (but thousands of Marriott Points), as long as it was on Points again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice location, small lounge but good food, rooms are very small and very outdated but if you get a sea view it is worth it. Friday night food choices are limited for religious reasons but hotel is close to many other choices just get a reservation...be careful with taxis as some charge outrageous flat rates.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel Renascense keeps your deposit for long time even after doing check out and paying all the dbills
It is better to pay every thing cash than to wait 15 days for the release.
But if you ask for the release when you realise that they where holding your deposit ($500) they will be glad to release.
An otheter problem is that every time you get inside the hotel you are checked by security .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all I've stayed here several times in the last 2 years all on business. As a business hotel it's average in services (internet access, concierge services) and generally with tourists. The location is great, on the sea with access from the base floor to the walking, running path running thru the city along the sea.
The hotel is needing a refresh for the rooms and common areas. it's dated but clean with older bathroom layout and furnishings.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating; restaurants and bars are fine especially for their view to the sea.

Because of the location I'm likely to stay again but wish they would undergo a refresh soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel staff is top shelf. Room with a view was awesome. Breakfast was great. Something for everyone. Room was clean, quiet, full equipped. I'd stay here again in a second. Loved the location. It is expensive but everything there is pricey. I felt so welcomed. I called down stairs with a few questions and they were helpful even after my third call. I kept forgetting to ask. You know, where is the closest grocery store? Do you have laundry service? Do you have the ability to cater a to go lunch for six? They were amazing.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel

Address: 121 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#36 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#37 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.