We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Tel Aviv” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Lawrence, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Short trip to Tel Aviv”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very nice hotel on the Tel Aviv beach, the restaurant staff were very friendly and very accommodating. I ennded up being stuck during Hurraciane Sandy and with a sold out hotel the front desk manager was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    168
    116
    42
    23
See reviews for
92
143
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is well located but facilities are a bit dated. While attempting to avoid busy elevators at check-in, especially on Shabbat, don't attempt to carry luggage up the stairs as the stairwell is tiny and spiral. but the biggest complaint is the hotel's policy on WiFi. No free WiFi anywhere in the hotel-not the guest rooms or lobby. And, the paid service is extremely expensive. In this day and age, especially is a high tech city such as Tel Aviv, this makes o sense.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was very pleased with my third stay at the Tel Aviv Renaissance or Marriott. As a platinum Marriott member, I was automatically upgraded to a premium room on a high floor. The room was clean and had excellent air conditioning as it was very hot outside. The rooms however were very small, so it is ideal for a group of four and over to rent multiple rooms. Rooms on lower floors have somewhat dated furniture but renovated bathrooms and flatscreen TV's. One GREAT plus about this hotel is that most rooms either have a breathtaking beach view or an addictive city view which is beautiful to see during the night.
As a platinum member, I was received access to the club lounge which provide a very, very limited selection of snacks during the day, but is nice to have for drinks and water on the go, as it is usually hot outside. Breakfast and evening snacks are standard Marriott lounge quality with an Israeli twist. The breakfast in the main restaurant has a nice view of the ocean and has a MASSIVE buffet. Anyone can find something to eat here. It consists of a huge variety of fruits, vegtables, eggs, omelets, waffles, cheeses, juices, coffee's, salads, olives, etc. It takes up about half of the restaurant. I would not recommend this restaurant however, for meals other than breakfast. When going out to eat, be sure not to eat beef as it can contain lots bacteria and other bad substances. Other meats are fine.
The most convenient thing about this hotel is its location just a 5 minute cab ride from Tel Aviv's main trains station, 10-15 minute cab ride to Dizengoff mall, 2 minute cab ride to the port of Tel Aviv, 45 minutes from the airport, and a mile from the old city of Yafo. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area. The hotel is on the beach on a good spot near the marina and activity.
The hotel lobby is very nice and welcoming with excellent air condition, great for a hot day. The lobby is also a relaxing place to enjoy drinks and coffee while enjoying the lovely view of the Mediterranean. At around cocktail hour, live music is played from the lobby's white piano. The hotel also has a Marriott standard fitness room, indoor pool, direct beach access.

Room Tip: Higher floors are renovated, but require additional payment unless you are Marriott Gold or Platinum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First, the good things. The location is great: right on the beach and walking distance to lots of shopping in Tel Aviv. Now the middle of the road things. My room was pretty dated, but acceptable. The bed was not the standard Marriott bed and was rather lumpy. The only reason I slept as well as I did was sheer exhaustion. The room service food was OK, with some (like the lamb kebabs) being excellent and others (like the burger) being bland. The lounge was nice, but they were not very timely with their breakfast service. They said breakfast started at 7:00 but it was never put out until around 7:30. Since I needed to leave around that time to get to work, it was always a rushed meal.
Now the bad thing. Their internet service is awful. I couldn't get Facetime to work on my iPad anywhere and the only way that I could make a Skype call was in the lobby. This is obviously not the most private place. The first person I spoke with about this offered to refund my money and end my access, but I don't pay for WiFi since I am a Gold member and I needed to have some access to communicate with my office back home. I next spoke with the manager who recommended that I try another room and claimed that he had never had a complaint about the WiFi service. I referenced him to this site.
If they would like to attract business travelers, this service needs to be improved. As a modern and high tech city, their service was unacceptable and their responses were incredibly naive.
I cannot recommend this hotel for a business traveler, nor for anyone who relies on a steady and reliable internet signal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We finished our 3 week trip to Istanbul, Israel, Eilat & Petra with two nights at Marriott's Renaissance Hotel. Wish it had been more.This was the icing on the cake! Directly on the promenade and the beach with Tel Aviv life, young and old, running, exercising, dancing, and playing Kadima right outside. Beautiful, calm waters, sunny skies, and a hotel staff that was ready to please. Our balcony faced the beach and Jaffa. We walked to the new port easily.
We were able to check out the third day, stay on the beach, use their spa to shower and have a full last day in this hopping city. A small bar and terrace overlooking the beach was the perfect spot to spend time before dinner. Will definitely return. Best location in Tel Aviv!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very nice for service with the exception of Wi-Fi. There was Wi-Fi available however there was a fee. The lobby also charged the same rate. Even the business center charged to access the Internet. I was surprised by this considering that Tel Aviv is such a modern city. The beach access was very convenient and the bar was nive(but a bit pricey,and the baristas did not have many drink options available). The surrounding area is great with many restaraunts along with an active social experience.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I gave it a very good rating because it is not a "luxury" hotel by any means (yet they advertise that way). This is a typical basic and reliable, but slightly expensive hotel. As far as my experiences in Europe (always take away a star in the rating for reality) - this is a good choice.

Service has been consistently very nice (5th stay here).

Although the rooms are dated, they are clean and well maintained. The AC works very well - it does not get cold, but it certainly maintains a steady cool and dry room - very important for a beach front hotel (and better than most Marriott properties in the US). There is not a bad view here at the hotel (although I prefer facing Jaffa)...you either overlook the marina (facing Crowne Plaza - we know people staying there and do not recommend) or beach/Jaffa (facing Sheraton). Each room has a nice balcony.

I am Gold with Marriott - so I have access to their Club level and wifi is free (otherwise you pay per day - just like any other Renaissance/Marriott in the world). Their club has very nice people working and they do whatever they can to help you. We had to print a few items and both of their public club computers were occupied, they used theirs at the desk for us. VERY important: I have had to set up a few tours and they were extremely helpful in translation of details and making sure everything was what I had asked for - to the extent of using their personal cell phones and having these companies call back on them! Downside to the club: For four days now, the espresso machine has been broken and it does not appear to be a thought to get it fixed. (as an added bonus - it is now broken in the breakfast buffet now too)

We have breakfast in our room rate (king, ns), which is a "double" rate at $345 USD per night. I think this is a little high for October..but keep in mind - it is still very warm here and the beach is in full swing. Breakfast is a nice and varied buffet with an omelet station. I have traveled Europe a great deal - this ranks as one of the better buffets. Everything looks very fresh - vegetables, fruit, etc. They rotate their hot items (even with a pasta/italian offering?) You will not have pork products - get over it now...you are in Israel. Instead you will have beautiful breads to select from, fresh fish/smoked salmon, health yogurt selection, etc.

This hotel is right on the beach. The beach is quite lively day and night. You will constantly hear the paddle ball IF your balcony door is open or you are outside (this is not a negative - just think Don't Mess With The Zohan). The volleyball gets very active at night. The beach has a very nice paver walkway that is all along the water - safe and very active with many "exercise stations" along the way.

Tour companies do pick up here. You will have security checking your bags and wanding you going in/out of hotel (this is a good thing). They are very nice and professional (don't think TSA in the US).

Gordo is a restaurant right below the Renaissance - the servers are very nice and efficient and the food is decent. It is outside and has a loungy atmosphere. A consistently good experience (6th visit to Israel this year and each time a meal here). This place is actually perfect for the first evening you are here, if you are from the States and jet lagging.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel

Address: 121 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63453, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#36 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#37 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.