We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down hill and very fast...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental David Tel Aviv to your Saves list
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Down hill and very fast...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel probably over a hundred times since it opened. I'm an IHG Ambassador Platinum and tend to stay at IHG properties worldwide.

Originally, as an alternative to the existing hotels in Tel-Aviv, it was a different class altogether. for business travelers, the 24th floor lounge and the lounge staff, were the things that made the stay memorable, as they enhanced the quality of service and provided personal attention well beyond what one would get as a regular guest.

Unfortunately, as the years went by, the service has gotten worse and the prices have continued to climb. The dedicated staff in the lounge does whatever they can to make up for it and abstract the disaster this hotel has been turning into. Unfortunately, it seems that management is not with them and does not understand the importance of repeat business guests and does not seem to appreciate their business anymore.They are basing their business on large and loud crowds of French holiday makers.

I would suggest checking out the new boutique hotels opening up in Tel-Aviv around Rothschild Avenue, such as The Rothschild. Better accommodations, excellent staff at a comparable price - no brainer...

Room Tip: best room are at the tip,facing the sea, from floor 13 to 25. They are also remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear YaromB,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Ambassador Member and for writing us a review. We strive to be the best hotel that provides great hospitality and comfortable accommodations. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    348
    152
    66
    38
See reviews for
278
292
67
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have just returned from another stay at the David Intercontinental in Tel Aviv. This hotel just keeps on getting better.It achieves the perfect balance of a city hotel that caters for both holiday and business guests.The standard of service makes you think you are staying in Asia.Nothing seems too much trouble and in the majoroty of cases the staff seem almost telepathic to your needs.The breakfast defies even the hungriest guest and if that was not enough the poolside lunch makes you start planning your return home diet.The spacious rooms with floor to cieling windows give you a panoramic view across the city. ( ask for a high floor...the higher the better.) Having said that a balcony room on the 9th floor is great for that early morning stretch. This is starting to sound to good.....but its almost worth going to Tel Aviv just to stay at the Intercontinental.
As Arnold S' says.....we'll be back!

Room Tip: 9th floor balcony or high floor. The ececutive floors and lounge worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi MichaelandHelenA, thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We make it a priority of ours to ensure that our guests enjoy the best possible experience. We are very proud of the amazing selection that is available for breakfast in our hotel and we are glad that you got to make the most of delicious spread! Our location is also a source of great pride to us so we are happy to hear you enjoyed it too!

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I must admit, this is a nice hotel - a very nice hotel, and I don't mean to imply otherwise. However, everyone told me that this was the nicest hotel in Tel Aviv. I just don't see why. It was spacious, and a cool location. Some of our party had GIANT bathrooms with a beautiful tub and rain shower, but others didn't. Not sure what the difference was, since we all paid the same. It was very clean and pretty. The lobby was beautiful.

The location was fabulous -- across the street from the beach and very close to Jaffa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Every hotel chain, no matter how prestigious, has a variation in the quality of its various properties. The Intercontinental chain is no exception. We stayed here at this ICH twice during a 10 day vacation in Israel, once at the beginning of our stay and once at the conclusion.
Their performance is a tour de force in every respect that I can measure. Particular kudos go to the Concierge team.......which is like a Delta Force unit........we had number of events that we wanted to arrange and we needed to ask only once for each event and it was done and done well. But then, everything about the staff of this hotel seemed flawless to us. And the facility itself is extremely fine. I would look no further here in Tel Aviv if i were looking in this price range. A really fine hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the Med is of course desirable. The sunsets are like Hawaii.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

As many others have written here: rooms at the IC David TelAviv are in desperate need of renovation. And while we had requested upfront via eMail a refurbished room, this request was ignored altogether with many other requests. (Such as one for coffee at breakfast)

Other "highlights" included Capucchino not being available in the mornings (only on evenings) in the Club Lounge (I am not referring to Shabatt, where I understand that it is not available for good reasons) and the Royal Ambasador Fruit basket consisting of 3 (!) pieces of fruit - one of which was rotten. Also it arrived a full day after check in.

Staff is generally in a "don't care" attitude - seldomly somebody smiles. Some positive exceptions to this one, though.

Overall: totally overpriced, in desperate need of renovation and with massive shortcomings on the service side.

Not my place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear ATLdud,

Thank you for being a Royal Ambassador member and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

Again, thank you for your loyalty and I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The new feature is the concierge desk now has a little office type room. Rather than standing in reception area and asking you can now sit down and discuss. Now to me this is one of the more professional parts of the hotel and those that need help can get it. It of course has pros and cons. A quick chit chat is more difficult but a more detailed discussion is now easier. Having said that these are consummate professionals having done the job for years. When the young trainee at the Rection desk looks at you bewildered these are the go to merchants.  I had a minor tripped electrical fault and fearful it may happen during the night I spoke to them. They got guest services to e mail me and changed room no problem sweet as a nut.  This is my second stay this year and will be returning.  

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Intercontinental is, like all of this international chain of hotels, very luxurious...huge, elegant public areas, beautifully maintained rooms and excellent pool area....at a premium price.
Some things let it down though...getting through to anybody by phone takes an age and a lot of patience. I was put on hold for the Reception Desk and then the person answering the phone heard my enquiry and promptly put the phone down...annoying to say the least as I had been holding on for some time.
Getting W-Fi connection in the room took a while as you have to wait until your name is in the computer system. $22 is far too expensive for W-Fi these days...a lot of the hotels in Europe, USA and Japan are free and you get a much faster experience. I don't want to do all my business in the Business Facility or sit in the lobby using one of the two ipads available...that is archaic, especially if you have a lot of work to do and online business conferences to attend.
I stayed on the 'Shabbat' when food in the hotel is extremely limited by choice and time. You can't have anything warm and when I ordered from the special menu the Room Service person said this wasn't available because of the 'Shabbat'! I had to draw his attention to the special menu and the time and after going away and calling me back he admitted it was available. Not very professional.
But most of the staff were very friendly...if slow (especially on Reception) and if you like queuing then this will not bother you and you'll have a lovely stay I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the see but is not opposite the 'Dan Panorama Hotel' as the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hi John P, thank you for your comments. We take our guests comments very seriously as we are always looking to improve the service that we offer our guests. We will pass on your comments to the respective departments of the hotel.

Regarding the WiFi issue,we have recently acquired 2 new iPads for our Atrium Lobby which are available to all of our guests. Alternatively, our Executive Lounge and Club Lounge offer computers with internet access as well. Our Inca Cigar bar also offers complimentary WiFi and our Atrium Lobby offers Happy Hour between 17:00-19:00 where you will be able to enjoy our beautiful sunset while surfing the net.

We often have special packages available for extended use of WiFi and all information is available at the Front Desk.

We work with an internet provider that specializes in providing WiFi for a large area such as our hotel. We are constantly looking into providing better service to our guests in this regard. We have found that our prices are consistent with those charged in other similar.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental David Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Address: 12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#24 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#26 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental David Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Israeli welcome awaits you at your home in the 'SoHo' of Tel Aviv. Ideally located between the city's main cultural centers, Neve Tzedek, the beach, and Old Jaffa, the David InterContinental offers the perfect starting point to exploring the city. Spend the day experiencing Tel Aviv like a local and return to the serenity of the David InterContinental boasting the best of Israeli hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental David Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental David Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Intercontinental Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental David Tel Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.