We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again at this Cockroaches Infested Place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental David Tel Aviv to your Saves list
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Never Again at this Cockroaches Infested Place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was there for the Contech 2010 International Computer Trade Show and during the break when desserts were served, I've noticed and photographed at least a few cockroaches nibbling through the various cakes and cookies, after photographing the two of them I noted one of the waiters about it and to my surprise he asked me "Keep It Quite, We Don't Want the People to Find Out", I've asked him "Well Am I Not One Of These People Too?!" and got no answer, I kept photographing those Cockroaches and when the next waiter passed by about 5-7 minutes later I've noted his attention and he went to his supervisor which after looking at the crowed around Did Not Do A Thing At All! I continued photographing the Cockroaches and in a way getting attention from the crowed around me which also noted those Disgusting Cockroaches Walking All Over The Cakes until one waiter just came by and with his hand knocked them on the floor and stepped on them.
I've send lengthy letter to the Hotel asking How Come THE CONTAMINATED FOOD WAS NOT REMOVED RIGHT AWAY AS THE LAW AND COMMON SENSE REGULATE! And got some sort of B.S. Answer which said basically We made sure to bring exterminator after your complaint, and after asking about the Diseases & Allergies that people get and How Come No One Ran and Removed All THE BAD FOOD? I Obviously Didn't Get Any Answer.
Just a note the Executive Pastry Chef of the Hotel is Roni Fredy Mordechai, which is a shame to just think that is in charge of this department and it's behavior!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noraajzen, Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We are truly disappointed to hear of your experience in 2010 and would like to express once again our sincerest apologies. There is no doubt that the incident itself and the way the situation was dealt with is not representing the usual high standards of our award winning hotel. After we were informed of the incident, we initiated an immediate overhaul of our health & safety legislation and reviewed the pest control reports and logbooks. All preventive pest control activities have been found in line with the high Israeli hygienic regulations. Please rest assured that this has been an isolated incident and that our property is contracted with a third party pest control specialist, which services our entire property on a regular basis. Until today, 10 month after your mentioned visit, we had no similar incident reported in our hotel. Further to that, our standards have been further improved and the entire Banqueting team has been trained on how to react in such unlikely situation in future. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. To validate our efforts I offer you to visit our hotel at any convenient time and we will personally show you around in our back of house areas, the kitchens and stewarding areas to highlight that strict hygienic standards are followed through and checked on daily basis. All reports of regular checks performed by the local health authorities feedback the same. Thank you for your time in completing the review and we do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future. Since your last visit we have completed in the meantime a major renovation project in all our Restaurants and Atrium Lobby. I would be glad to be able to welcome you again and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at any time should you require any further information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    381
    166
    69
    40
See reviews for
304
308
69
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We normally stay at the Hilton on our annual trip to Tel Aviv however, we decided this year to try the InterContinental which turned out to be a great decision.

The deciding factor for us was that the InterCon was very child friendly. The area by the pool was large enough for the kids to run around and the baby pool was large enough for the kids to play in.

The lobby and lounge areas are large, spacious and inviting and the rooms were perfectly sized.

I would advise not eating or drinking in the hotel as it is very expensive, even by Tel Aviv standards.

The location of the hotel is fantastic as it is a short walk to the Neve Tsedek area which has great boutique shops and nice restaurants as well as the twice weekly arts and crafts market and the daily Carmel Market.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Not sure if this hotel is always a zoo or it was just because it's August and there were an overabundance of tourists visiting... Check in was chaotic and took wayyy too long, Rooms are quite small and was not comfortable for our needs with our family of 5. They have a huge random office chair in the room that takes up way too much space and then there is the tiniest garbage can in the bathroom. Bizarre. While no doubt housekeeping is a difficult job you could tell the housekeepers were miserable and did not take much pride in their work i am sorry to say despite the tips provided.
Breakfast was another place of chaos with no assigned servers to help you and you literally had to grab someone for their attention for like a cup of coffee let's say.
We were told we had access to the executive lounge on the 24 th floor and upon arriving there they literally were rude and told us there was a mistake and we were not allowed in that lounge but relegated to the main floor lounge. Embarrassing!
There are no ice machines on the floors and room service took 40 minutes one evening... BUT! the worst was the 22$ fee for internet and each additional device 11$!!!! What? that is totally unacceptable and I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the overall dissatisfaction of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is situated towards the Jaffa end of the Tel Aviv beach and behind its imposing structure lies an elegant, well maintained, relaxing and efficiently run hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts outstanding with a lobby and lounge from a film set; the pool area is clean and well served. This is not our first stay and to be recognised and warmly welcomed back by staff who are long standing is a real bonus. A small extra is the very fast elevator service - you rarely wait more than a few seconds.

Room Tip: Try to book with Executive Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Excellent rooms, very well furnished, excellent service, outstanding breakfast and great location. No complains.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having stayed here previously we were already prepared for the sumptuous all-you-can-eat breakfast, beautify atrium/bar and excellent room. The pool area is also excellent although given the time of year they had managed to cram every available inch with sun beds.

The main issue this time was with the price of food and drink. At $10 for a red bull from the mini bar or $5 for a can of coke/litre of water this was premium+ prices. A simple snack of a wrap and a couple of drinks could set you back $50 or more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My family & I stayed at the Intercontinental. We all had the best holiday ever. Cannot fault the hotel at all. Front desk staff & concierge were very approachable on our arrival. Breakfasts were delicious.. Rooms were more than adequate!. We all enjoyed lying at the pool & even ordered "cholent" from the pool menu for lunch.. It was delicious :)
Hope to return soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental David Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Address: 12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#27 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#28 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#28 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental David Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Israeli welcome awaits you at your home in the 'SoHo' of Tel Aviv. Ideally located between the city's main cultural centers, Neve Tzedek, the beach, and Old Jaffa, the David InterContinental offers the perfect starting point to exploring the city. Spend the day experiencing Tel Aviv like a local and return to the serenity of the David InterContinental boasting the best of Israeli hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental David Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental David Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Intercontinental Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental David Tel Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.