We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renewed restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haim Nello

Haim Nello
11 Eilat St., Tel Aviv 68118, Israel
03-5101919
Improve this listing
Ranked #786 of 1,024 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“renewed restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is hard to be dissappointed in this type of restaurant. The roumanian food is based on basic ingredients and grilled meet.
The garlic is one of the basic ingredients and should be considered.
One of the best dishes are the "roumanian Kabab".
However, they have some good cooked dishes such as filled cabage, roumanian polenta, soup with meet ball and others, which should be tried.
Fair prices for relatively big dishes.
Service = average level
during the week ends evening they have a band for entertaining and dancing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre traditional dishes, meat ok and yummy dessert.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Most of the traditional dishes were mediocre, even though the meat was good.
Yummy doughnut-like dessert.
The restaurant has two large rooms. We were not seated at the nice half...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Romanian restaurant, it's all about the meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a saturday lunch at Haim Nelo, birthday for one of our family elders. Lunch on saturday is very much like dinner. We're a family of Romanian origins, so, no surprises regarding the menu. We had some traditional romanian starters (eggplant salad, Ikra which is fish eggs dipp and more. But you come to a romanian restaurant for the meat. And we sure enjoyed it. Antrecourt staeks, veal fillets, and of course the romanian Kebab, called "Mitiei" (which means "small ones") that were'nt small at all. the meat was excellent, fried to the right extend to our varios requests. Soft but juicy, one you can bite. We loved it, enjoyed and will go back. why only 4? we were a big party of 17 people (booked in advance, of course), they made some mess with the courses.But still, a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rude and impolite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we were a party of 5, made reservation for 15:00 on Saturday, but were kept waiting with various excuses until 15:45, when we realized that the owner is not giving a damn. We gave up eating there, (lost our appetite) and ate elsewhere. There are lots of better options . We cannot commnet on the food, as I said, we never got the chance to eat there, but the hall was noisy, crowded and unfitting for enjoying the eating experinece. I never had that experience of making a reservation, being kept waiting so long without even an apology.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Need to know about this restaurant:”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Unfortunately, the Romanian restaurant is poor. Romanian food is delicious and you should eat in Romania to Understand what I mean . If you still insist to eat, do so on Friday night only :then the restaurant is investing its energies to take out fine-quality dishes. On weekdays just don't that to your self.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haim Nello also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Haim Nello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haim Nello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.