We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uno,one time,no need to go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Uno

Uno
Weizman 2, Tel Aviv 64239, Israel
03-6932005
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 1,000 restaurants in Tel Aviv
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Uno,one time,no need to go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We looked for a kosher restaurant close to the operahouse,we ordered a table by phone for 6.30 pm,asked about the special price for kosher food week and were informed that for a couple we will get this fixed price.
We arrived on time at an empty restaurant and to our surprise were informed that the special offer was not possible because of Valentines day ,they offered us a free cocktail instead. I explained that we didn't want alcohol and were not offered anything else.We got a table at the closed balcony (chilly) asked for other table but no other table was available -the restaurant stayed nearly empty till we left .We ordered a first (bruchetas) tasty but a little burned.At that stage we got a phonecall from the restaurant if we intended to come ???? We explained that we had already arrived 20 minutes earlier.
At the table next to us a soldier asked his waiter if he could get the special price, and he got the deal ,we asked what about us? no real answer.The main course was a very fishy fish . I love fish but I hate tasting fish the whole evening ,The raviola was very nice. We skipped the desserts. Got a very hefty bill for a very mediocre meal (we spent double the amount (ISH 257)-without desserts- of what we would have spent on a 3 course special that we were promised (ISH 158 for 2) The service was friendly but not professional there was a lack of coordination between the waiters ( 4 different waiters attended our table all with good intentions).This was Uno and for us no Secundo

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    9
    10
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,173 reviews 1,173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
“A very nice Kosher Italian in Tel Aviv.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

While I'm certainly not a fan of Kosher restaurants, this one was rather an exception.
The menu offers various Italian dishes (no meats at all), including pastas, pizzas etc. .
Basically, all our dishes were great and generous in size.
The only thing that wasn't that great was the slow service.
A 3-course dinner with a glass of house wine is apx. 40US$ per person, which is totally adequate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good italian menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

very central location, very nice atmosphere, good service. tasty food. toilet is not acessible for wheelchair.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian even without meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wonderful non-meat Italian restaurant. Great service, bar and wine list. The pizza is fabulous as are the pastas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Regular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are still searching for that Italian resteraunt in Israel whose food is better than a regular Israeli cafe. The food at some Israeli cafes is rather good - even at some of the chains. They often have excellent salads and sandwhiches and good pasta.
So, when we go to an Italian resturaunt with prices 3x a cafe's, we expect excellent food. Here at Uno's I can only say that the food was as good as at a cafe's.
On the plus side, the service was very good the atmosphere pleasant.
Still searching for great pasta in Israel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uno also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.