We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different this time...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaffo Tel Aviv

Yaffo Tel Aviv
98 Yigal Alon St. | Electra Tower, Tel Aviv, Israel
03-624-9249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,053 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.mevashlim.com/Article/25409001.asp
Israel
Level Contributor
166 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Different this time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Didn't enjoy Yaffo Tel Aviv, the last time I was there.
This time it was a completely different experience.
Everything was good about it - the service, the food, the ambiance... A good advice from the somalia gave a really nice start to the whole meal. Great first course - Tortellini (unfortunately only 3) of Jerusalem artichoke. Continuing with the main course of tasty Ragu with home made Gnocchi. Finishing with 4 different desserts (unique and sweet)... Superb!
Hence the different rating...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
panzano-in-chianti
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chef Haim Cohen's restaurant Yaffo-Tel Aviv, never fails to delight with the very best of seasonal, local produce, cooked to perfection in the enormous Taboon, which is the signature of this stylish, sophisticated restaurant.
My husband's all time favorites are the oven-roasted vegetables (Haim buys them from a small organic producer and you really can tell the difference) with the most amazing tehina, and the oven-roasted octopus over gnocchi and white beans, the bouillabaisse and the veal ragu. Mine is the fillet mignon with cauliflower cream and black lentils and the grouper fillet with jerusalem artichoke and mushrooms.
The breads, hot from the taboon are sinfully good and on Thursday and Fridays there are fresh challot and cakes - our favorites are the poppyseed yeast cake and the maple& pecan sponge .... on sale for taking home for the weekend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Israeli ingredients simply prepared to very high standards. Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Modern smart space a little off the beaten track. High quality service. Take pride in their sourcing and let the quality of the ingredients do the talking. Wonderful crab on light pastry succulently sauced but delicate. Light gnocchi. Flavourful lamb with sweet young vegetable. Great middle eastern desserts. Good wine selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beersheva
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I must say this is the Best Tel Aviv has to offer..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been to Yaffo a hundred times and still cant get enough. Its such an amazing place great Art presents. Good food and a old time feel that you just dont get in Tel Aviv.. Its a great mix of Arab culture and western connivence.. If you go to Tel Aviv and dont go to Yaffo your really missing out..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
449 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“One of my best ever meals, anywhere, anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Don't walk, RUN to Yaffo - Tel Aviv restaurant. First, it is very accessible (compared to many other Tel Aviv restaurants), located just off the Ayalon highway. It is exceptional in almost every way. Very contemporary, hip, cool with wonderful service and of course, top tier creative food dishes. I went to dinner with a colleague. Although I didn't love the table for two we were given, I also understood that we made a reservation same day, and this place often books out 30 days in advance. It's that good ! But everything else was wonderful. I ordered a grouper main dish -- it was so tasty, light and beautifully presented. And the tiramisu desert is probably the lightest and most delicious preparation I've ever enjoyed.

The sommelier was very helpful in identifying just that special wine (limited release) that was also a good value for us....and it was exceptional.

I loved the open kitchen concept even though we didn't sit at the counter area. I would love to do that sometime, and just watch the chefs do their thing. It looked like so much fun.

Yaffo-Tel Aviv goes on my limited list of restaurants I'll go back to over and over again whenever I visit the Tel Aviv area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaffo Tel Aviv also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
 

Been to Yaffo Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaffo Tel Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.